We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome home!”
Review of The PortsWood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The PortsWood
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Portswood again this year for two nights and had another comfortable stay.
The Portswood, unlike it's far busier and more impersonal sister hotel The Commodore, has maintained a more personal feel with friendly and helpful staff in every area.
There was no jostling for tips as we had experienced at the Commodore so felt that we could reward when and if we wanted to.
Its worth going just to be "welcomed home " by the legendary Joseph in his livery!
Our corner room was well equipped and comfortable with a fab big bed. The bathroom in comparison feels a bit small but everything worked and was clean.
Wifi was fine and free for both our devices. There was also free internet and printer in the business centre downstairs.
Breakfast was a full buffet and cooked breakfast was offered too. Dinner was a bit bland and my fish was rather overcooked but the lovely Peter at the bar soon had us chuckling over our liqueurs!
The hotel is excellently situated on the waterfront and although perhaps some of the bedrooms could do with a facelift, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious and lighter though may be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

While being an older hotel from another era, it had charm and position that made us glad we'd made the choice to stay there. Location is superb right across road from waterfront area. The staff were fabulous -friendly and always ready with a welcome when we returned home. We had some on-line business to attend to while there and so we found sunny positions in the foyer where we could sit and work, which was rather pleasant.

Room Tip: Even though our room looked out over the street it wasn't noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed at The Portswood for 4 nights in Sept 2013. While the rooms were adequate, the food and the service in the hotel were excellent. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs. Ate in the Restaurant one night and the food was outstanding. On top of this the location is great being a stones throw from the Waterfront. also close enough to be able to walk into town. Have already recommended the hotel to friends who subsequently stayed and equally enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

always enjoy staying at the Portswood when visiting Cape Town

service is always great as soon as you walk in the door your welcomed with a smile, rooms are quite big and very clean

The location is great, a 5 minute walk to the waterfront with all it's restaurants and bars

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Portswood is perfectly situated in the V&A waterfront, few steps away is the food market, crafts market, Long street, and the office for "hop on hop off bus". The area is vibrant and fun, you wont be disappointed. During our stay the hotel made sure our every needs were met down to providing complimentary wine upon our arrival as we recently got engaged. The interior is very modern and comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone who wishes to spend a few days in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie_meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This wasn't our original booking but we are so glad our booking was changed to the Portswood. We arrived early morning from UK and were met at the airport by an excellent driver, at additional cost, but well worth it. Arriving at hotel around 9 am we were able to check in offered coffee and before long called to make our way to our room. Our stay end of August 2013 for 5 nights was excellent through out. All the staff were a credit to the company in their welcome, friendly attitude and excellent service with a polite and courteous response to everything. The hotel is but a few minutes walk to the V & A mall and waterfront including city sightseeing hop on and off bus which will take you to all the best sights and more. Thoroughly recommend this hotel we stayed room 410, roomy very comfortable bed very clean and also a view of Table Mountain.

Room Tip: We liked our room 410 view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at the Portswood during the off-season in August. My husband and I love Autumn, so the weather was perfect for us (despite some rainy days). Rainy days on vacation don't bother me!

In terms of the room, we stayed in one of the suites. The furniture was dated and rickety, but we weren't in the room that much, so it didn't really bother us. The shower door in the bathroom is strange in that it doesn't cover the entire span of the space. The glass door stops about halfway. I had a problem with water dripping between the crease in the glass doors, and piling on the floor. Ended up having to hang a towel on the glass door in order to absorb the water so it didn't fall on the floor. Irritating.

The maid also ended up throwing out one of my pill containers, which was quite irritating, as I bought it specifically for the vacation in order to bring my pills with me.

The staff in the restaurant was wonderful! The staff at the front desk (with the exception of the lovely woman who was very pregnant - how on earth does she stand at reception all day?!) were not as welcoming as they could be, and one was downright rude. The doormen were lovely as well.

Overall, there were some aspects that could certainly improve, but we would have stayed longer. The location to V & A was great.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cloudbusting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PortsWood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PortsWood

Address: PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £155 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The PortsWood 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The PortsWood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town Central
Portswood Hotel Cape Town
Portswood Cape Town
The PortsWood Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing