We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The PortsWood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The PortsWood
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Close to VA Waterfront and Table Mountain. Clean hotel with great breakfast. Safe area to walk to waterfront with many great restaurants, entertainment and shopping. Staff is helpful and can arrange guides to give advice on the many attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the Portswood for 3 nights during our Honeymoon in June 2011 and we really had a great time there. The Hotel is 5 walking minutes away from the Capetown Waterfront where it is safe to walk around in the evenings and grab something to eat. You might walk a little faster back to the Hotel at night as the Hotel is slightly off the waterfront but you should be fine. We did go to the waterfront every evening and never had any trouble...

The rooms were clean and fine as well. Breakfast was great and the service was really perfect ! We'll probably never forget the gentleman who served us coffee every morning with a huge smile on his face and the doorman who was always in a good mood and had a joke ready for us when we arrived or left the facilities!

Very friendly personal and a really really a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shakur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have visited the PortsWood again! A very personal and charming hotel. Friendly, helpful staff. A well located hotel, walking distance from the V&A. and other attractions in the area. Room was clean and well equipped as always. Upon arriving the second day, after staying there on the 18th September, we were welcomed with our surnames by all in the foyer! Have recommended this hotel to our family from Australia has they wanted to make recommendations to friends when visiting South Africa. Breakfast was a full buffet with cooked breakfast on offer. When visiting Cape Town would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HentieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Portswood again this year for two nights and had another comfortable stay.
The Portswood, unlike it's far busier and more impersonal sister hotel The Commodore, has maintained a more personal feel with friendly and helpful staff in every area.
There was no jostling for tips as we had experienced at the Commodore so felt that we could reward when and if we wanted to.
Its worth going just to be "welcomed home " by the legendary Joseph in his livery!
Our corner room was well equipped and comfortable with a fab big bed. The bathroom in comparison feels a bit small but everything worked and was clean.
Wifi was fine and free for both our devices. There was also free internet and printer in the business centre downstairs.
Breakfast was a full buffet and cooked breakfast was offered too. Dinner was a bit bland and my fish was rather overcooked but the lovely Peter at the bar soon had us chuckling over our liqueurs!
The hotel is excellently situated on the waterfront and although perhaps some of the bedrooms could do with a facelift, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious and lighter though may be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

While being an older hotel from another era, it had charm and position that made us glad we'd made the choice to stay there. Location is superb right across road from waterfront area. The staff were fabulous -friendly and always ready with a welcome when we returned home. We had some on-line business to attend to while there and so we found sunny positions in the foyer where we could sit and work, which was rather pleasant.

Room Tip: Even though our room looked out over the street it wasn't noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed at The Portswood for 4 nights in Sept 2013. While the rooms were adequate, the food and the service in the hotel were excellent. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs. Ate in the Restaurant one night and the food was outstanding. On top of this the location is great being a stones throw from the Waterfront. also close enough to be able to walk into town. Have already recommended the hotel to friends who subsequently stayed and equally enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

always enjoy staying at the Portswood when visiting Cape Town

service is always great as soon as you walk in the door your welcomed with a smile, rooms are quite big and very clean

The location is great, a 5 minute walk to the waterfront with all it's restaurants and bars

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
The Commodore
The Commodore
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The PortsWood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The PortsWood

Address: PortsWood Road, PortsWood Square | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £160 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The PortsWood 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The PortsWood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portswood Hotel Cape Town Central
Portswood Hotel Cape Town
Portswood Cape Town
The PortsWood Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing