We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My significant other and I just spent 11 nights at Parker Cottage while on holiday in Cape Town. This is the first time that we have stayed at a B&B instead of a hotel and now we are wondering what took us so long to make the switch.

Parker Cottage was the ideal home away from home. The location was absolutely perfect; well within walking distance to pretty much everything in the city bowl. The breakfast was superb and filled us up enough so that we could save some money and go without lunch or just have a small mid-day snack. Our room was well appointed and the bed was amazingly comfortable.

The best part about Parker Cottage though was the staff. Phil and Liz were on vacation so we did not get to meet them, but Lexi and Di were terrific. They made all of our bookings for us, bought tour tickets, offered advice on restaurants and local sights, and, most importantly, they were always available to have a friendly chat. They made us feel like we were just another part of the family. After getting to know everyone at Parker it was sad to say goodbye and head back home. Luckily though, we hope to go back. Our experience was so memorable that we can't wait to return in the future.

One of our top recommendations would be to take a day trip with Chris. We booked a Peninsula tour with him and we both agreed that it was the highlight of our trip. He was knowledgeable, friendly, and super accommodating. When he learned how interested in wildlife we were he started tailoring the trip toward those types of activities. He even took us off the beaten path so we could experience a snake rehabilitation center that the locals visit (thank you so much Chris!).

Room Tip: The Koi Pond room is a large room, but it is right next to the front door. If you are easily woken u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
632
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here for a segment of our honeymoon. Phil went well above and beyond to make our stay great. He did things that other B&B places did, like a 'stuff to do' meeting when we arrived and serving us a pretty darn good breakfast in the morning. But he went above that:
- following up with us to see what we did and it went
- hosting a wine night
- setting up a fire in the fire place at 8pm for us
- giving us an understanding about the South African culture and politics
- didn't make me feel bad when I didn't know how to work the antique toilet they have in one of the bathrooms... xD
- surprised us with a bottle of champaign one morning for our honeymoon celebration
- much more that I'm sure I'm forgetting

We also met quite a lot of really nice people at this place during wine night and a few times during breakfast. We really enjoyed the option to be secluded if we wanted, or be social at times as well.

Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. Would highly recommend this place to anyone considering visiting cape town or the surrounding area!

Room Tip: Room 7 was really spacious and had a nice, large bathroom. The bed was actually 2 twins tied togeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alva, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed for 5 nights recently and felt like we were family. We were greeted by owners Phil and Liz who were more than willing to help us plan daily activities, dining suggestions, and tours. The room was very comfortable. Multi-course breakfasts in the main dining room or porch included outstanding daily specials. Although Phil and Liz left on vacation, Lexy and Diana filled in quite capably. The location was within walking distance to many top restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The quality of your accommodation usually determines the success of a trip, so staying at Parker Cottage ensured that our trip to Cape Town was a huge success!

We loved our visit, found everything meeting and exceeding our expectations and were impressed with how quickly Phil, and the rest of the staff, would respond to any request.

It is a warm and cosy place to stay, but the staff are all extremely professional. The breakfasts are the best we've ever had at a B&B, love the way guests can, at any time, go and make their own coffee or tea in the kitchen (gives a homely feel), the daily newspapers, the fire in the lounge when the weather turned, the folders with recommended trips and restaurants, and so much more!

The part we probably appreciated most, was the wine tasting evening. It brought a group of strangers from different parts of the world together and they felt like friends after that evening. It is an excellent idea, and we felt as if we were leaving family behind when we left two days later.

Phil, wishing you and your staff all the best going forward, keep up the high standards and we hope to meet again in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellers61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We returned recently to stay again at Parker Cottage.
We were not disappointed as the high standards of accommodation, friendly service, attention to detail, helpful & thoughtful advice, were all still firmly in place without being intrusive.
Breakfasts continue to excel where others only imitate (Phil is currently on a grape peeling master class just to push presentation into the 100%).
As returning guests we had to deal with preconceived expectations and try as we may we really cannot suggest any areas for improvement.
Transfers to/from airport readily arranged.
Location for walking in and around C T is excellent. Many good eating establishments within easy reach. Blue bus tour highly recommended (willingly booked by Phil).
A great place to celebrate a 40th wedding anniversary so we did.
We worry about giving good reviews as such secrets should be kept close!

Room Tip: Book early to ensure you can stay here. All rooms have different charms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Staying for four nights at Parker Cottage was a dleight. The house itself is beautifully restored - a real flavour of colonial living, but with modern comforts. Our room was spacious, comfortable and packed with character. Breakfasts were the best we had in four months travelling in the southern hemisphere, with variety – not often experienced elsewhere - added through a delicious daily ‘special’.

It was our first visit to Cape Town and our enjoyment of the Mother City was considerably enhanced by Phil’s informed and enthusiastic advice (supplementing what's already in the walking and restauarant info available on the website) and by his working relationship with Chris, who drove us around the Cape Peninsula on a wonderful day of exploring and walking, culminating in a cable car up to Table Mountain at sunset. Phil, Liz, Lexi and the team were keen to ensure that our time in Cape Town was well spent but, sensibly, not as hectic as we’d originally planned. We met a few lovely guests too, some at the Cottage's wine tasting evening.

Cape Town is not without its issues but Parker Cottage provided a safe, friendly, knowledgeable, luxurious and supportive base for our first experience of a vibrant city. We’re keen to return to both. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenksBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This place is a real gem. Everyone was so helpful from the start of the booking process until check out. We needed a pick up from the airport around midnight for one of our party and this was carried out seamlessly and even a welcome tray was provided on arrival. Apart from the rooms and breakfasts (with a special addition every day) which were superb, Phil and Lexi gave us all sorts of helpful information of places to visit during our stay. There are excellent restaurants close by and we spent a half day walking from the B&B to the V&A Waterfront, seeing so much amazing architecture on the way. We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintonian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
625 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing