We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B in a truly central CT location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Carcassonne, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B in a truly central CT location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Phil and Liz could not have been more welcoming, and helpful. I got an upgrade room, which was extremely comfortable. The breakfast, particularly the daily "special" was fantastic, and the company at breakfast congenial. For me it was an ideal location, as I needed to be near the central Cape Town art museums and libraries. Phil recommended a taxi service, and I was able to get in and out of town very quickly indeed. Tamboerskloof is a delightful suburb of Cape Town, that I had not known well until this visit. There was a small restaurant a short walk away from Parker Cottage, on the evening I needed a simple meal. There was also parking on the street, with good security, for my hire car the one night I needed this. So Parker Cottage is absolutely recommended for anyone wanting a central Cape Town location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
134
621
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had 2 short stays here during our holiday and it was wonderful. Phil was a fabulous host, entertaining and knowledgeable, I wish we had planned our stay a little less and left it to him to sort things for us. Nothing too much trouble, excellent breakfasts, lovely staff and making for a memorable stay. To think, we only stayed here by chance too. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Where to begin? Firstly, Phil was an excellent host. So efficient and helpful! You comfort and enjoyment is his priority.
The room was comfortable and warm. The breakfasts were insane! 5 courses if you're up for it! PC is also in a very convienient location in Cape Town, pretty close to everything whether walking or driving.
One thing I missed out on was the complimentary wine evening to interact with other guests which I love the idea of as I often travel alone as I did on this stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeecydeLaFontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a wonderful, fun experience, everyone very helpful for suggestions and directions, very safe, great food and wine, excellent hosts - they really spoiled us, very personable staff, knowledgeable

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacey2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
We make it a habit to spoil our guests, royal or otherwise :-) Thanks for a lovely review, guys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Thanks to other travellers' advice on TripAdvisor. we found this gem of a B&B to stay for 2 nights in Cape Town. My wife loved the personal "welcome note" on the blackboard in the foyer, and we felt right at home in the cosy lounge chatting with Lexi about things to do in our stay.

We truly appreciate how personalized Parker Cottage is - the thoughtfully researched and well-written guidebooks to Cape Town attractions and restaurants, the little notes stuck on the door to confirm travel arrangements, the lovely introduction of the staff - are lovely touches that set it apart from any other hotel and B&B we have stayed in.

The breakfasts served at Parker Cottage are a truly unique experience - the menu and quality of breakfast served, personalised service and the conversations with other guests at the breakfast table make buffet spreads at 5-star hotels look ordinary.

We had the great pleasure to meet the owner, Phil, who was very hospitable and charming. Thank you for making our 2 nights so memorable, we will never forget the experience! Wish we could give this 6 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EugeneTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Most kind of you to spend the time to write such a detailed review, Eugene! Our guests really enjoy the guidebooks we write here and we normally send out soft copies of them attached to emails so that people can book activities and tables before they even get here. Every year, we take our own tours and revisit all the restaurants we recommend and make changes as necessary, so we're delighted to know that you found all of that hard work useful.

Liz, my partner (this is Phil writing) will most upset to hear you describing me as 'hospitable and charming' :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Right from our first communication with Parker to the minute we left, the service was excellent. Phil and Liz are extremely friendly, helpful and efficient hosts and enabled our first visit to South Africa to start without a hitch. The quality of everything on offer is of the highest order and was easily the best of the five B and B's that we stayed in along the " Garden Route". Mention must also be made of Chris, the driver who collected us from the airport and took us to the wine lands for the day..What a nice chap!. Helpful, informative, unintrusive,,,,,he is worth at least 2 0f the stars I would give Parker Cottage. When we return to South Africa, and we will, we will definitely stay at Parker Cottage( if only to see Jasper again!),

Room Tip: The Von Veh room is spacious and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Wow Charles! Better than any B&B on the whole Garden Route? Compliments indeed, as the bar is set very high.

Chris will be delighted with that compliment on his service. He's without a doubt the best guide we've ever found of the Cape and as we live here and spend a lot of time exploring it, that is no small achievement.

Jasper awaits your return with baiting breath. In case you don't know who that is, it's the Parker Daschund!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Of all the accommodations available in Cape Town, I was fortunate to find Parker Cottage. Phil immediately made me feel welcome and inquired about my interests and goals, then made very helpful suggestions. Whenever requested, the staff arranged taxis, made restaurant reservations, provided maps, etc., to suit my needs. The location provided easy access to everything I wanted. The day tour of the Cape Peninsula with Chris and climbing Table Mountain were the highlights of my stay.
Parker Cottage itself has an interesting history, the rooms are nicely appointed, and the sitting areas are very comfortable. The variety and quality of the breakfast menu was the best I experienced among four B&Bs and two hotels in the Western Cape Province.
I would recommend Parker Cottage to friends without qualification.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing