We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further, if you are staying in Cape Town”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This place is fantastic. Great location, terrific advice from the owners and staff on everything Cape Town, excellent breakfasts, and superb rooms and service generally.

I stayed for four nights at Parker Cottage with my husband in early October. It is located in a quiet residential area, within walking distance to several good restaurants and sights and an inexpensive taxi ride to many other sights in Cape Town.

Breakfasts are great. Lots of choice, and more food available than one could ever eat. Food is very tasty, and the hot selections are prepared to order. You can really tell that they care about the food and its presentation. Breakfast is available starting at 8:00 a.m., but I understand that you can eat as late as you like. My husband would typically have coffee, some fruit, yogurt and muesli or granola, scrambled eggs and bacon (sausage, mushrooms, beans and other items were also available), toast and juice, while I usually enjoyed some of the above and the chocolate croissants.

Room was very clean and spacious. We stayed in the Von Veh room. Plenty of storage and there was a safe available in room, although we didn't use it. We thought that the rooms and the common areas at Parker Cottage looked even nicer in person than they did in the pictures, which was a nice surprise.

Phil, Lexi, and Tomas were all very helpful and provided great advice regarding restaurant recommendations, things to do in Cape Town and other practical tips. They never stop working to give you a wonderful opportunity to enjoy Cape Town.

Parker Cottage helped us arrange two separate day-long private driving tours during our stay, one in the winelands and the other a trip to Cape Point. On the first day, Chris picked us up (from the place at which we had been staying near Stellenbosch for a few days) and we spent a bit of time in Stellenbosch and in Franschhoek, had a nice lunch, and visited three wine estates before Chris dropped us off at Parker Cottage to begin our stay in Cape Town. Chris was great and very informative. He was great at making sure that the day was tailored to what we wanted to do. On our third day in Cape Town, one of Chris's colleagues, Raymond, drove us to Cape Point. We stopped at a beach and saw the colourful change rooms in Muizenberg that I wanted to see, saw the penguins at Boulder's Beach, had a nice lunch, walked around the area at the Cape Point park, and visited a wine estate. One of the highlights (of our entire trip to South Africa) was driving around Hout's Bay at Chapman's Peak. Truly stunning. We learned a lot from Raymond, and very much enjoyed our day. Winelands area tour was 1800 Rand and the trip to Cape Point was 1600 Rand (this was the total price (other than admission fees at Boulder's Beach and at the park at Cape Point, and other than amounts we paid at the wine estates for tastings, which were very reasonable), and my husband and I were the only ones in the car). Picked up around 9:30 a.m. and dropped off around 5:30 p.m. Chris also took us to the airport from Parker Cottage for 260 Rand at the end of our stay. Chris/Raymond can also arrange to drive you to other areas--as an example, other guests at Parker Cottage went with Chris to Hermanus to whale watch one day.

As one example of the fantastic assistance that Parker Cottage provides to its guests, I had purchased a framed map that I couldn't fit in my suitcase. Phil called several places to inquire about packing and/or shipping costs. At the end of the day, shipping was going to be prohibitively expensive, and so Phil bubble-wrapped the map and packed it in cardboard. We checked the package at the airport (in the fragile/large items area), and it arrived at our destination with absolutely no damage. Hats off to Phil!

Phil and his colleagues had great advice for us throughout our time spent in Cape Town regarding restaurants in Cape Town and other things to do. We ended up eating at Aubergine, Bizerca, Rumbullion, The Codfather, Test Kitchen, Miller's Thumb, Societi Bistro and Savoy Cabbage, most of which were recommended to us by Phil and all of which we enjoyed. Parker Cottage has put together very helpful booklets with restaurant recommendations and descriptions, as well as a description of a nice walking tour that we followed, and other helpful advice.

It was our first trip to South Africa and to Cape Town, and we were not sure what to expect. We were very comfortable walking around Cape Town during the day and in the evenings, and never felt unsafe. We walked to and from restaurants for dinner on a couple of evenings and took short taxi rides on the others. Phil made many restaurant reservations for us and also arranged for taxis to pick us up at Parker Cottage. If you want a taxi back to where you are staying from a restaurant, waiters are willing, and seem to be accustomed, to calling taxis for guests at the end of a meal and you just need to ask. We found the food and wine to be excellent in Cape Town, and relatively inexpensive compared to other cities.

We enjoyed going to Table Mountain. Had breakfast at Parker Cottage and the weather looked great so we took a taxi from Parker Cottage to the cable car. Cost of the taxi to Table Mountain from Parker Cottage was about 60 Rand. Taking cable car up and back took about 30 minutes total and we spent about an additional hour on top of the mountain. We had a great day and it was warm at the top, although I understand that it can often be quite windy and much cooler on the top than it is at the bottom. Take some sunscreen or put some on before you go. Phil purchased our tickets for Table Mountain and for the hop-on/hop-off bus online for us. The tickets I think could be used on one day, but were good for one week (could select any day during the week to use them at your preference).

Also enjoyed the hop-on/hop-off bus. We took the shorter red route. There was a stop that was about a 5 to 10 minute walk from Parker Cottage where we boarded the bus. Travelling the entire route on the bus would take about 2 hours in total. Many buses run continually along the route and you would never need to wait at a stop for more than 15 minutes. We got off at Camps Bay and went for lunch at The Codfather, which we very much enjoyed. Commentary on the bus is interesting and informative. They hand out headphones, but could also use your own with standard jack. Sunscreen a good idea if you are sitting on the top/open level.

Went to the V&A Waterfront and spent about an hour there. Probably would be hard to go to Cape Town for the first time and not go there, but for us, was not really a place we wanted to spend a lot of time. Take a taxi from Parker Cottage, or get off the hop-on/hop-off bus at the waterfront stop, if you are going.

One evening, Phil and Tomas hosted a 'wine-evening' where we tried several different wines and had some cheese and other light snacks. Started at 6:30 p.m. and wrapped up around 8:00 p.m. when several of us headed out for dinner. Had a great time and it was nice to get to know some of the other guests and Phil and Tomas, who were very gracious hosts.

Drinks (several bottles of white and red wine, beer, water, and juice) were always available in the kitchen. Just mark down what you consume on a sheet of paper in the kitchen and the price will be added to your bill. Very reasonable prices (I expect that this is not a moneymaker and is provided solely for the convenience of guests) and is super convenient.

Dropped in at a place very near Parker Cottage called Peter's House on several occasions. Nice place to get a coffee or a drink on the way back to Parker Cottage in the afternoon or after dinner.

As mentioned, we were there in early October (spring in Cape Town). Was quite warm during the day (didn't need a sweater or jacket), but in the early mornings and in the evenings after the sun went down, it was nice to have a light sweater or jacket. Perfect weather actually.

If I'm ever in Cape Town again, I will definitely look to stay again at Parker Cottage. Can't recommend it highly enough. On our trip to South Africa, we stayed for four nights at a lodge in the Madikwe game seserve, then four nights in the winelands near Stellenbosch, and ended our trip with four nights at Parker Cottage. It was a great end to our vacation and we thoroughly enjoyed Cape Town and Parker Cottage. We hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LucyMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Wow! That has to be the longest review we've ever had! Thanks so much for taking the time, really. Chris and Raymond will be delighted with this (we've already forwarded it to them).

It was particularly nice to know that you thought we exceeded expectations in terms of what you see on the website and what we have done in reality. Time for some better photos, perhaps!

We did enjoy wrapping that map and we must say, knowing how airlines 'treat' (more like destroy) baggage, it was amazing to know that it arrived in one piece! A beautiful thing, that map. We offer a shipping service (for items that are too big to go in the hold) and also a wrapping service for items that you can take in the hold. Glad this worked out for you!

It would be lovely to see you again, guys. Thanks so much for taking time out of your very pressured lives to write this for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights here and PC was just perfect! When planning our trip we were concerned about not being smack on the V&A waterfront (PC is about 3km away or 30-40min walk) , but honestly you would only go to the waterfront once, as there are lots of more interesting places to explore. PC is actually in a much more central location, within 10-15 min walk or 2 min drive to all the tourist parts of town (e.g. company gardens, museums, long street, green market sq etc). Lots of cafes/restaurants/shops just on the main road. It's also at the foot of Signal Hill / Table Mountain if you like morning jogs like my husband does (you really have to work off those breakfasts somehow....)

The house is over 100 years old and beautifully restored/maintained. Wayyyyy better than a boring hotel. We stayed 3 nights in a Cosy room i.e. their most affordable class of rooms (we chose the Nguni room as i adore bathtubs). Nguni is nearest to the dining room / kitchen (which are busy in the mornings) so if you are a light sleeper, you might want another room. I sleep very soundly so it's fine for me. Free wifi is available throughout the house. Street parking is available just outside the house and this is free.

As many reviewers have commented, breakfast is very impressive ! I especially loved the strawberry juice (fresh! not the cordial nonsense) and also the choice of a daily special as I was quite tired of the usual English breakfast.

In the lounge you will find super thoughtful and useful self-written guides/itineraries (e.g. dining, city walking tour, cape point driving route). I loved how Black Marlin (a good lunch stop en route to Cape Point) was described as "pleasant but not epicurean" - It was EXACTLY that and we had a lovely simple lunch there accompanied by whales and penguins.

By far the best thing about PC is the wonderful team that run it. They really go the extra mile to provide a home away from home, not just a place to store your luggage and sleep at night. Every question you have will be very knowledgeably addressed, with useful tips and suggestions to customize it to your situation (e.g. if you have time constraints) and offers to help you book tickets/tables. Then you can go out and play while they work their magic behind the scenes. When you come back you will find little handwritten notes on your door to tell you what has been reserved/confirmed so you don't have to wonder about it. A very seamless and efficient operation, yet they manage to do it with loads of personal touches!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeyondBanalityBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for four nights at Parker Cottage and we found it to be a real home from home. To our surprise we really could walk safely all over downtown Cape Town from the inn and our car remained safe and untouched on the sidewalk outside during our stay.

Our room was relatively small with an attached bathroom, which worked well for us. Breakfast was served at a large table, prompting plenty of conversation among guests, which was great. At night there was an honesty bar which worked well too.

Phil and his staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable, even eventually giving up on me ever accepting an offer of a cooked breakfast in addition to muesli, fruit and yoghurt! I also appreciated his protective wrapping of a folk-art painting I'd bought during our stay.

But most of all I was taken by his last question as we were leaving: if we could change anything about Parker Cottage, what would it be? The honest answer: not much. Parker Cottage is a wonderful place to stay in Cape Town. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We loved the charming 100 year old Victorian Mansion! Our room was large and comfortable. Our first 2 days there was uncharacteristic rain and hail, but a toasty fire in the parlor was nice to sit around. Phil and the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. We are only sorry we didn't get to thank Phil in person, because we left very early on our last day there. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We we by the front door. The only drawback being noisy people entering the B & B after we had go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRSRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at Parker Cottage for 3 nights at the start of our 2 week holiday. It is an amazing place with an excellent welcome, delicious breakfasts, helpful staff and great hospitality provided by Phil, Lexi and Tomas.We were really sad to leave and when we return to Cape Town we will be back to stay at Parker Cottage. We cannot recommend Parker Cottage highly enough. Ann and Rob Stephenson

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A group of five couples stayed for four nights in early September 2013 at Parker Cottage. Everyone of us found the experience a pure delight, starting with the communications prior to arrival, the prices, convenient location, personal and thoughtful attention of the hosts and staff, food, sumptuous rooms, interesting and beautifully decorated lounges and dining areas and service that went beyond the best we've ever had, to include sensible and well-researched advice and bookings for things to do in Cape Town, all of which gave us more time and enjoyment of this great city. It is no wonder Parker Cottage has received such accolades from travelers. It is a paragon of how B&Bs should be set up and run and a credit to the efforts by tourism authorities in Cape Town and South Africa to give overseas travelers a totally positive experience of the city and country. I hope they take note!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabbybellGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was not the B&B-type but Parker Cottage changed my mind. Had a very nice welcome by their driver Chris at the airport. He took me to the Vodaphone-shop, showed me a little bit of Cape Town by night and brought me to my lovely decorated - preheated - room with a nice snack and drink. I was so lucky to have 4 mornings breakfast outside on the stoep in the sunshine. The other 2 days in front of the fire in the breakfast room. Breakfast is so nice that you simply have to eat, not only a coffee like at home. Fresh strawberry juice, fruitsalad and every day another special. Loved the croissant with mozzarella, pesto, tomatoes and basil. The beds are very comfy with a lot of soft pillows and very soft linens. :-) Maybe too comfy because I always fell asleep before I even could read all my books! It is just a short walk to Millers Thumb or High Tea at Mount Nelson and a nice stroll through the Company Gardens to the city. You can see and feel that this is not just a business but a passion of Phil and Liz. Loved the flowers everywhere in the house. All the staff did their job with great pleasure. Ha, ha, even Phil was helping and tried to dry my soaked shoes but I didn’t quite trust his methods… had a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paiperlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,440 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#58 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £77 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing