We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Brewood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

The service from Phil and his staff was simply superb and made our stay in Cape Town even more enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble in offering advice or booking tickets or anything else for that matter. Very very highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank diysteve345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
134
621
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Nice rooms, very yummy and unique breakfasts, good service and a beautiful garden, ideal for early morning breakfast! This is a place where they don't mind going the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable! The rates are very reasonable. We would warmly recommend Parker Cottage.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
So glad that you found our rates reasonable! It's always a challenge to offer a five course breakfast and five star service at B&B rates, but we manage :-). Thanks so much for letting us and other travelers know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

When I arrived at Parker cottage, I had already been away from home three weeks, aftermy first international flight and my first holiday travelling alone. My son is working on St Helena and ,aged 82, I travelled 1500 miles to see my grandchildren. After five days on the mailboat cruising from CapeTown, eight days on the Island with the family, and six days coming back to CapeTown with a force six gale all the way......I was exhausted. Phil and Lexi took good care of me, and helped me to make the most of my short stay at Parker Cottage. The highlight of the whole trip was a wonderful day out in the Cape area, with Phil's friend Chris and his comfortable car. It ,was an outing planned just for me, to enjoy the wonderful scenery and the wild life, and Chris is was a thoughtful and interesting companion. The next day , with a lot of help from Phil, I visited Table Mountain and the Waterfront, and some other places.....but I needed a lot of encouragement as I was too nervous to venture far alone. Parker cottage proved perfect for me because besides being a beautiful old house, well run and welcoming, I received the care which enabled me to really enjoy my short stay in CapeTown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Audrey, we're so pleased that we managed to turn your initial apprehension about your stay in Cape Town into a marvellous experience. You were very brave to come all the way here on your own, and by boat to boot! We also think Chris is the consumate gentleman: nothing is too much trouble for him and he's been our guide and driver since we opened five years ago.

We're also delighted that you did manage to get out and see so much of Cape Town and it was a pleasure to assist you. We work very closely with a superb taxi company called Royale Cabs who take such good care of our guests, it's as good as driving them around ourselves.

It would be an honour to see you here again: really hope you can make it your safari in Port Elizabeth next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at Parker Cottage for 6 days, and could not have enjoyed it more! The house was lovely, the staff friendly and accommodating, and Phil is the host extraordinaire! It was hard to pull ourselves away to return home. If there was a 10-star rating, Parker Cottage would get it from us!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deidre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our first trip to S/Africa and we could not have been luckier than to pick Parker Cottage for the holiday part of our journey. We would definitely stay at Parker again and will/have recommended it to our friends. The experience was really terrific - Phil and all his staff provide excellent personalised service and their contracted driver and tour guide, Chris, is just great. The location is excellent in a quieter neighbourhood - close to Table Mountain and easy walks to all the Capetown points of interest. Breakfasts top notch - don't need lunch!! - and the weekly wine tasting on the verandah a delight and very conducive to making new international friends. Rooms are very well presented - we even had the original Parker bath in our en suite. When asked on leaving if there was any suggestion re improvements, we had nothing to say. One of our best ever holiday experiences. Keep doing what you do.

Adrian & Judith, Brisbane, Australia

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I spent a lovely vacation weekend at Parker Cottage in the fall of 2010. Prior to arriving in Cape Town, my colleagues and I had spent a week in Johannesburg running conference. This was our first trip to South Africa, and were excited to have a few days off to decompress before heading back to NYC. We were exhausted when we arrived, and spent the next few days relaxing and recuperating,

Parker Cottage itself is beautiful. The rooms are charming and impeccably clean, and the common areas are the same. The food is delicious and plentiful, and the small touches made the stay very special. Our flight arrived very late, so Phil called me on my cell when I landed and offered to have food waiting for us when we arrived. They helped arrange a walking tour with a private guide on a Sunday (usually the guide's day off), recommended great restaurants, and allowed me to curl up for hours on their sunny front porch. Just what I needed after a crazy week of work.

Upon my recommendation, one of my work colleagues spent time at Parker Cottage last year, and loved it just as much as I did. And I just recommended it to another friend, who is heading to Cape Town in December. I hope to return again some day myself!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrezziNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thanks Betty for such a warm review: and from 2010 too! It's particularly pleasant to know that you found us suited to a business (or rather post business) trip. We have tried to make Parker Cottage into an 'unplugged' kind of environment so although we have free and fast wifi, we try to avoid the trappings of the business hotel to keep the house as 'home' like as possible. It was lovely to know that you curled up on the couch: that's exactly the point!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were travelling in a noisy party of 10. From the minute we were welcomed onto the beautiful white verandah till the moment we left in busy excitement in our newly rented 4x4s heading for Namibia we were shown nothing but kindness, professionalism, generosity and patience! Breakfasts were fabulous and far more than we could eat (although we did try!), my morning cup of tea was brought to the room on a beautiful white tray and we were served home made peanut butter cookies which have gone down in our household as the best cookies ever!! The decor and soft furnishings were homely yet clever and the staff felt like friends by the end of our stay. Well done.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front and overlooked the water feature in the front yard. Loved the orange curta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeCWilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Ha! We love your description of 'a noisy party of ten'! You guys were far from noisy, that we can assure you. Thanks for complimenting us on our patience: it's nice to know that when we're fully booked and super busy (as we nearly always are these days!) that it doesn't affect the service you receive from us and the time we're able to give you.

Lexi was particularly delighted to know that you enjoyed her cookies! She's a superb baker and each and every biscuit at Parker Cottage is home made. This would of course be a simple standard to maintain if they weren't so nice to eat: the biscuit barrel never seems to be quite full... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing