We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
East Moline, Illinois
1 review
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The home was just that a lovely home away from home. I.e. honor system for use of the kitchen when staff was not there. The staff was so very helpful to us as to places to visit and went the extra mile to help us have a wonderful stay. The food was excellent also. We were there with a group of 12 and stayed 4 nights and we all were very pleased with our accommodations. We would give it 5 stars!

Room Tip: There was not a swimming pool or fitness center. So those two should be marked not applicable. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
142
633
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore,
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We are glad to have stayed 4 nights at Parker Cottage. Fortunately, we have booked well in advance as this place is a hot property and the rooms are quickly sold out. So, I would advise travelers to book ahead to avoid disappointment.

The Managers, Lexi and Tomas are the best that I have come across. I am very impressed by their supreme service in making sure we had a comfortable stay. They helped me with my dinner reservation and transport arrangements. On my day of arrival, Tomas guided us with maps and places to go in Cape Town. Lexi dropped us a little note in our room to remind us about our dinner and even draw a map to help us with the location. They are simply amazing! Not to forget Phil, the friendly owner of Parker Cottage. He would personally go around to talk to the guest in the morning and served them with breakfast. The breakfast they provide is of a five star hotel quality standard. We are extremely delighted!

Parker Cottage would be my one and only choice if I visit Cape Town again. I also highly recommend this accommodation to my friends and other travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked Parker Cottage for a recharge after 3 weeks travelling overland down the West Coast from Victoria Falls. The staff were all attentive, the accommodation is first class and the whole experience is relaxing. I can can only endorse the positive comments of others. By the way they have a great great local guide called Chis who gave us a very informative tour of the local wine lands on the morning before we headed off the the airport. Do your self a favour and learnt first hand about both the wines and the local history as he was born locally.

Room Tip: Book Chris for a Wine Tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMF1886390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thanks so very much for acknowledging Chris! He really is a total master of his trade. Liz and I, the owners at Parker Cottage, were the ones who convinced him to stop slaving for other people and start his own business. That was four years ago and now, he has so much work from so many delighted visitors to Cape Town that we struggle to get hold of him! However, he always puts Parker Cottage first and that is why the quality of the trips that our guests get with him is so good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Phil here comes the review of all reviews, that you have been waiting for with abated breath, so here it comes and keep your fingers crossed, no Phil, your fingers not your legs silly man. There is only one person that we will stay with while in Cape Town and that is with master Phil, the proud owner and "host with the most" of Parker Cottage in Tamboerskloof Cape Town. Thank you very much Phil and the gang for making our stay with you so unforgettable, relaxed and divinely divine. Your establishment is breathtakingly beautiful, just like you, it was a home away from home. We take this opportunity to wish you all a Merry Christmas and a prosperous New Year ... and now, after all of this, you can bring us some ice coffees and the breakfast special of the day, a delectable delight. Oh, and how can we forget your little wise cracks that you prattle off throughout the day ... so see you soon. Cheers and good luck the Falken and Beslic families.

Room Tip: Any room is the prefect room it all has olde world charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrediFalken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Freddie, it was as much of a pleasure to host you as it was to read this very amusing review! I only wish that we had managed to get your iced coffees just the way you like them: all we can say is that you'll simply have to come back so that we can try again.

It's not often that my swarthy looks are compared to the beauty of Parker Cottage (which was designed by Cape Town's most famous and prolific architect), but I thank you nonetheless.

Very much looking forward to more of our chats when you come back! Love to Ivana and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Staying at Parker Cottage is a unique experience. From the moment you make an inquiry on line you are treated like a favorite relative planning to come to stay, with a mass of advice about your forthcoming trip, and, if required, booking for trips, car hire etc.When you arrive your car, or taxi, or their airport transfer, is emptied of your luggage whilst you are sat down on their terrace with a drink and an effusive welcome by Phil or one of his assistants, They want to know what your plans are and how they can help you, and indeed throughout your stay one or other of them is at your beck and call for restaurant advice and booking, taxis etc.
The house has an interesting history, is nicely situated in a good part of Cape Town, has a lovely terrace and little garden and itself is full of character, with several public rooms, and a big kitchen (where you can make tea or coffee for yourself at any time). Our guest suite was large, comfortable, and, to our taste, beautiful, with Victorian style furniture and decor.. Indeed the general theme of the house is quality Victorian with quirky personal decorative touches.
Breakfast , on the terrace when the weather is fine, is substantial with interesting special dishes of the day, as well as the usual cereal, juices, fruit salad, toast etc.etc. The serving and kitchen staff are all as friendly and helpful as the management. Parker Cottage is run as a team
We actually used Parker Cottage as a "base camp" during or three-week stay. They looked after our main luggage, and did some laundry for us when we went on a trip to Namibia and later on spent 5 days touring the Garden Route and Karoo. Each time the chalk board in the hall had a "welcome home" message for us.
Post hoc we are still receiving nice messages from them. Who could ask for anything more?

Room Tip: Book a year early to get the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hershl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
The best B&B ever? Wow! Praise indeed! We do, as you point out, try to create something a little unusual at Parker Cottage: our aim is, exactly as you say, to create the feeling of staying with old friends but with all the services and grandeur of a Victorian country house. Of course, we add a few things that you wouldn't have found in this house when it was built, like free and fast WiFi, but otherwise, we have tried to keep this heritage building, as John Parker, the first mayor of greater Cape Town, built it.

And you're right: once people have come to stay with us, they tend to become part of the Parker Cottage family. This December alone the house has been fully booked and interestingly, over 60% of those guests are returning to us, in some cases twice in one year. We feel most honoured indeed to be able to welcome them home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

A cottage in the very central location of Tamboerskloof, 10 mins walking distance from Kloof street, Long Street and easy walking distance to most parts of the town centre. My wife and I stayed in the Patterson room for 4 nights. Superbly spacious with great bed and bathroom . We arrived quite late at night, were picked up at the airport by Chris who let us into the cottage and showed us to our room. The staff had left a bottle of wine and fruit for us in case we had missed dinner. Breakfast was awesome - at least a 3 course feast of fresh local produce on the stoop. Phil and the staff were really attentive, efficient and always ready to give advice on trips we were planning. Parking area out the front of the cottage was secure and it's very easy to navigate to the various main roads to go to Table Mountain, Cape of Good Hope, Camps bay etc. We walked to local restaurants in the evening and felt very secure. Cannot recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FozzySYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thanks so much for a lovely review! Whenever our guests arrive late at night, we always get our driver, Chris, to collect them from the airport and have a snack waiting in the room when they arrive. The idea is to start your trip the right way, with some fresh fruit from the Cape Town Fruit market, some good local cheeses with fresh bread and of course, a bottle of the Cape's wine. Glad you enjoyed, guys. Sydney's a long way away but we'd love to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Parker Cottage three nights in October, on the tail end of our three week South Africa visit. We found it to be absolutely perfect: great location, knowledgeable, helpful and caring staff and owners, parking right in front that was safe, fresh-pressed and GOOD coffee every morning, along with fabulous fruit plates and cooked-to-order specials, clean rooms with unique and tasteful furnishings and comfy beds, quiet or laughter depending upon the time of day. We loved our too - brief stay and would love to be back sooner, rather than later.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very quiet. It was a bit small with our luggage but we loved the large walk-in shower an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaylene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
So glad you loved the coffee! Along with most of the food we offer at Parker Cottage, our coffee is Fair Trade certified and produced in Africa by Africans: up until a few years ago, the quality wasn't up to global standards but these days, we think it's at or even above the standard of most imported coffees. I think the week you were here we had the Tanzanian blend: it is good, isn't it? We're so glad you liked the room (I think it was actually the Hamra Room you stayed in) which is in our Cosy (economy) class. These rooms are as you say on the small side, the idea being to offer better value for money for the traveler who doesn't anticipate spending a lot of time in the room. I think next time you should take a Beautiful (mid range) room: lots more space, promise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,263 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
629 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing