We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Possibly the Best B&B on the African Continent”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite Possibly the Best B&B on the African Continent”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Yes – Parker cottage really is that good. Rarely does one find a place to stay that transcends the simply concepts of hospitality and customer service. The reputation of Parker Cottage is richly deserved and the experience of staying here is if anything, even better than any preconceptions formed by reviews such as this.
From the moment we arrived until the time we departed we were treated like family by a TEAM of very warm, genuine and caring people for which nothing was too much trouble. I have travelled extensively both for business & pleasure and the welcome extended by Phil on our arrival is without question the best that I have ever experienced.
The accommodations are luxuriously appointed throughout and the breakfasts are simply exquisite – all cooked to order and very filling.
Phil and the team are also very helpful in planning excursions, booking restaurants, etc. and this was even before we arrived in South Africa. The amount of pre-stay care and customer service was exemplary.
In relation to planning excursions I would suggest that anyone staying at Parker Cottage and not wishing to drive, should without question consider booking Parker’s resident driver – Chris Hannival – to chauffer you around in his luxury BMW. Chris treated us to 2 very special & memorable days providing context and in-depth local knowledge throughout – plus he’s a top guy and great fun!
All in all our stay at Parker Cottage greatly exceeded ALL possible expectations. It is plainly obvious how much drive, passion and commitment Phil and the team have and the almost obsessive level of detail assigned to your care as they continue to improve and refine the service they provide.
Personally we have fallen in love with South Africa and are already planning to return next year. We had little enough time in Cape Town this time around and as such will most definitely have to visit again. Whilst our itinerary is far from planned the one cast iron certainty is that we will once again, be staying at Parker Cottage and very much look forward to doing so. In a word – perfect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_Stone_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
632
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Parker cottage is a Dutch style house about 2 K from attractions such as Company Gardens and the museums. The breakfast is the best we have had on our South Africa visit and the staff are very informal and friendly. They cannot do enough to help you and are full of advice on how to spend your time in Cape Town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laren, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great welcome, beautifull house and the rooms are very tastefull decorated. First class breakfast is served on the terrace or in the garden. Phil and his team are extremely helpful when planning restaurants and tours (we can recommend the Parker Cottage Walking Tour). Safe area (also in the evening) with restaurants on walking distance.
Simply the best in Cape town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnr0epers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks so much! The best in Cape Town? High compliments from such seasoned travellers....

And thanks for sending your friends too: there can't be a greater compliment than that for a hotelier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
king's lynn
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Choosing to have 4 nights here on arrival in Cape Town was the best decision. We really like this part of the city, and our rooms and breakfasts were first class. The daily specials at breakfasts just had to be photographed as well as eaten. All the staff were so friendly, and the information print-outs on town walking and on potential restaurants to visit were very clear and helpful. An ideal place to stay after a long flight.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Oh, we love the comment about 'photographed as well as eaten'! Perhaps it's the five courses, perhaps it's the love and care that Thandeka, Nompilo and Nombulelo put into the food or just the location (the veranda or the garden), but people do seem to like our breakfasts!

Hope Kings Lynn isn't too badly flooded and thanks for a lovely review. Super to have met you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel last year, but I was just reminiscing about it with my wife. Even though I never write reviews, I still have such fond memories of our time at Parker Cottage that I am actually coming back even now to review it.

Service:
We stayed 3/4 days, and the service was nothing short of extraordinary. Besides the fact that the place is well-designed and in a great location, the service is the whole reason you want to stay here. Phil immediately greeted us and gave us two cold local microbrews (complimentary!), as he discussed optimal hiking routes for Table mountain, gave us a map to borrow and just generally had a great conversation. I do not think you will ever beat service like this.

Rooms:
The rooms were clean, cozy and comfortable. The design is like an old Victorian house, but the bathroom had been modernized, so really, it was just wonderful. I say that even though our room was small... I think we ended up in the smallest room as we booked very late and it was the last room available).

Food:
The breakfasts were outstanding. I would just sit in the garden for an hour with a magazine and enjoy. One of the nights they hosted a wine and cheese cocktail hour with all the hotel guests so that we could get to know each other. Each night they gave us recommendations of where to eat, which were spot on.

Overall:
Again, I never write reviews (as you can see this is my first on tripadvisor), but I just felt compelled to come back and support these great folks at Parker Cottage. I feel like if I walked in there tomorrow, they would still somehow remember my name. This little review is just my way of saying thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fznbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
It isn't often that we get a review a whole year after a guest has stayed with us! Gosh, we must have made quite an impression. Thanks so very much.

There's been quite a few changes at Parker Cottage since last year (in fact, never a day goes by without some kind of upgrade or improvement), so we think a return visit might be long overdue....

Thanks again for such a warm and lengthy review, FZNBF.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I am always a little suspect when I see guest houses with these type of glowing reviews. Are they really that good, or are the guests just "drinking the Kool-Aid"?

My thoughts:

Pre arrival service was great. Good planning tips and could handle frequent date and number of guest changes. Having to scan and return the receipt for the deposit is an inconvenience but may be a requirement for their bank.

On arrival having Parker Cottage arrange a driver and allowing for an early (8am) check in, in the middle of breakfast service, was greatly appreciated.

Parker Cottage really is in a good location. Maybe not the most scenic area of the city as it is a residential neighbourhood but it is quiet and well within walking distance to most tourist destinations.

The breakfast really is as good as they say. Between choice and quality, timeliness, service, accommodations for substitutions and special orders, every morning was a success.

The employees are great. While we didn't see a lot of Thomas (just due to scheduling), Lexi and Diana were excellent. Knowledgeable, helpful and went out of their way to make sure everything was running smoothly.

The building is what it is. If you live in a city where this type of architecture is rare it would probably be an appeal. However, as can be the case in old conversions noise did travel down the halls and between rooms. For most of the nights we could hear the people snoring and talking in the neighbouring room. The room size and furniture layout does vary slightly between rooms even in the same class so choose carefully.

One of the big problems we did run into was a lack of internet. Most days we stayed there the internet was not working. If you are completely on vacation this may not matter, however, if you have obligations, even when you are away, the poor connectivity may be a problem. This may have been a provider issue, and not a Parker Cottage issue, regardless it was a problem for me.

Overall a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doggles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thanks Doggles10 for a frank and honest review: we're pleased that you enjoyed our service and breakfast!

Yes, you're right that you can't, in a house that is over 150 years old and that was built as a family home expect a hermetically-sealed, noise-proof, air-tight concrete box. If you want that, you have to stay in a modern, purpose-built hotel.

As Parker Cottage is an old building, the walls between the rooms are, with only one exception, solid brick and over 30cm thick. The room you stayed in is in a modern extension and there can sometimes be an issue in hearing somethings through the thinner wall that separates them. We have already ordered a top-of-the-range sound insulation boarding to fix this problem for good which we will be installing in between those rooms as soon as we get a gap.

Wi-fi internet, like cellphone reception, is a fickle thing: the myriad of modern devices that guests arrive with means that sometimes we need a tweak to operate efficiently on our wi-fi. But in response to your review, the room you stayed in now has a dedicated wireless AP and on testing it on a Mac, Acer laptop and a Samsung phone, we get five bars on all devices.

We guarantee a 512K upload and 4mbps download speed even at peak periods and our wifi is state-of-the-art (if you'd like the stats, let us know). We've actually received compliments from guests in the IT industry about the speed and connectivity we offer. Granted, in wealthier countries internet is at least five times faster than even the best connection you can buy in South Africa, but we like to think (in fact we know for a fact) that our speeds are actually better than most five star hotels in Cape Town.

We're sorry that your stay was less than perfect: perhaps you'd like to give us another try in another room? We'd love to have another go at impressing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindau, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Rooms of grandeur, history, old world charme. Immaculately clean and well appointed.
Super-comfortable beds. The breakfast is world-class: served in courses like in days long gone by.
The guest is always the center of attention. The welcome prior to the stay is an absolute rarety in todays hospitality business the personal welcome when arriving blew us away.
The anticipation of all guests needs and wishes is outstanding.
The way guests are treated in Parkers Cottage is from an area when the guest was king - thank you for keeping this tradition alive, please keep it up !
We will be back in this fine place in the lovely town called "Slaapstadt".
Warm greetings
Michael and Susanne Bode

Room Tip: All wonderful. If you feel like spoiling yourself request Room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thanks Michael! Yes, here at Parker Cottage, we do have this thing about treating our guests like royalty. Perhaps it's because the owners are called Phil and Liz? :-)

Thanks for noticing that we like to do things to old way here: we do things slowly, deliberately and carefully, trying to avoid as much of the noise, pace and fuss of the modern world as possible (that's one of the reasons why we don't have televisions in our rooms, except on request).

It's a particular compliment to know that you enjoyed the breakfasts, this coming from a sommelier and cheese expert! And thank you for acknowledging the lengths our very hard working staff go to to keep the house as clean as it is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
625 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing