We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Only Echo Other Reviews!”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

As a South African living abroad, going "home" is always special but our last trip to Cape Town was especially good because of our experience at Parker Cottage.
Prior to booking we were very impressed with their website and the views expressed there and found that the reality far exceeded expectations.
Phil and his staff - we unfortunately didn't get to meet Liz - certainly go the extra mile, and the ethos behind the venture shines through.
They are truly an example of what can be achieved in that magnificent country.
Other reviewers have mentioned the style of the accommodation, the fantastic breakfasts and all the little touches that make Parker Cottage exceptional - and we can only but agree whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
There are newer reviews for Parker Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

We need not add to the glowing comments heaped on Phil, Liz and the team. They truly earn the feedback given. Much has been mentioned about how helpful they are, above and beyond what is required to make a simple accommodation booking - from restaurant tips and sightseeing suggestions before you arrive, to a welcome beer while registration formalities are carried out sitting in the front garden - it was all most thoughtful and considered.

Sadly, our stay was marred by an unpleasant incident completely unconnected with Parker, but the lengths Phil went to in ensuring that we had a relatively uninterrupted final day's holiday are reason enough for us to make Parker our base in Cape Town whenever we find ourselves lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, even the smaller ones
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0ffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

"Outshine a Sheraton?" Well, that's wonderful to hear, truly! (We also, having three MAs here in English literature and language working at Parker Cottage, particularly enjoyed the alliteration of that expression :-)). Yes, it was a bit of an unfortunate incident with your car, but at Parker Cottage, the point is that guests do not administrate their holiday or their trip once they have booked with us: we do it all, from fighting with car hire companies (how we love that part of our job!) to rebooking flights, getting you tables at restaurants and tickets to pretty much anything that is happening in Cape Town. We like to think that just because you're not paying five star prices, that's no reason not to offer five star service. One in the eye for Mr. Sheraton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a very memorable time staying at Parker Cottage- not so very different then the other wonderful reviews. Our high ceiling room with it's large window, comfortable queen bed and grand furnishings, besides the thoughtful detail put into making the room beautiful was enjoyed easily by us. Our breakfast was amazing each morning-fresh fruit, lattes, fresh juice, home made specials that were really wonderfully prepared , and the warm croissant ( our choice was almond ) to top off the meal , was just amazing . !! I think the extremely significant part of our eventual stay was the correspondence that took place prior to arriving. For this we are most grateful for. Much of what could have taken up our time was sorted out before we arrived ( tour bookings, restaurant considerations, ideas and answered questions...) Thank you to Phil and Liz for all that you shared and provided for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanpac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thanks J&P and in response, you're welcome, anytime, to the 'pre-arrival' conversation. South Africa isn't the easiest destination to book or find out about before you get here and, it's a very long way away from almost everywhere. We find that helping our guests with the big decisions (how long to stay in each place, how to get around, what's safe, what isn't, etc.) puts guests at their ease and lets them really enjoy the country properly, without having to worry about whether they made the right choices!

We're still getting through all your presents: going to try the cookbook tonight. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Before we even arrived, we were in love with this place and the staff! We found Parker Cottage on Trip Adviser and it seemed fantastic, too good to be true. From the first emails that we exchanged, we just knew that this was a special find, and our experience surpassed our very high expectations. Even though they couldn't accommodate us for all of our 6 nights in Cape Town, we accepted their offer to 'manage' our stay. They arranged for us to stay in a couple of local alternative guest houses on the nights when we couldn't stay at 'Parker' - excellent alternatives, both. But we loved 'coming home' to Parker Cottage! The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated, and are spotlessly clean. Breakfast is a wonderful indulgence, not to be rushed. Savour it, enjoy the peaceful surroundings...while your hosts help you to plan your day. Phil sorted out our itinerary for our entire stay, and was a fantastic host, and friend! The rest of the staff were all so helpful and friendly too. Honestly, I can't find fault in this place - the best guest house we have ever stayed in - period! You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We sampled three rooms (our fault for not booking early enough!), one from each of their 'grades...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thanks so much for this wonderful review! The best guesthouse you've ever stayed in? You can't fault the place? We're truly honoured!

Yes, you did get a tour of the rooms whilst you stayed with us, which was quite fun! At least you got to see all the types of room we offer. We deliberately opted out of star grading about three or four years ago because we wanted the guesthouse to have a bigger variety of rooms, meaning that a bigger variety of guests would stay with us. This is one of the reasons why our wine evenings are so fun because you'll meet people from all walks of life with very varied incomes and that that keeps things interesting!

Thanks for mentioning that we also sourced the rest of your accommodation whilst you were here: we have a rule at Parker Cottage that if a guest takes the trouble to contact us, regardless of whether we're full or out of budget, we make it our problem to find them the room that they are looking for. We never turn anyone away empty handed.

It sounds like we'll see you very soon. Thanks so much for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We arrived at Parker Cottage unexpectedly after the place we were staying could not accommodate us for all the days on our return. Believe me we were not disappointed that we had to move. Phil was a wonderful, personable host and the rest of his team welcoming and professional. Parker Cottage is decorated beautifully and set in a superb garden where a most sumptuous breakfast can be enjoyed each morning. I have never tasted strawberry juice as delicious as that served at Parker Cottage! The internet worked fine for us and there were no problems with noise from other guests as our room was cosy and quiet and an oasis to return to after a hard day's walking in Cape Town. Thanks Phil for your and your team's wonderful hospitality. It is establishments like yours that make us choose B&Bs over hotels every time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Parker Cottage has it all! The location is great, the breakfast is amazing, the staff is wonderful and the accommodations are incredibly comfortable. From the moment I booked our stay at Parker Cottage, they assisted us in every aspect of planning our trip to Cape Town and the rest of South Africa. For months I emailed with PC on a very regular basis and they happily answered every question and gave me the most wonderful suggestions. Every restaurant and activity recommendation was spot on for what we were looking for. From the moment we arrived at Parker Cottage I felt like we were being welcomed into a friend's home. The entire staff is incredibly warm and friendly. Be sure to wake-up hungry and plan to take time for breakfast! Our days in Cape Town were busy and sadly we had to miss breakfast a few days and breakfast shouldn't be missed! We were lucky enough to spend two days touring wine country with Parker Cottage's driver, Chris. The term driver doesn't do Chris justice! His knowledge about wine and Cape Town was fantastic. Chris is another wonderful gem of the Parker Cottage team. Our trip to Cape Town was superb and choosing to stay at Parker Cottage made it even better. I can't recommend Parker Cottage enough. Thank you Parker Cottage. And thanks again Lexi for that hard to get reservation!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Yes – Parker cottage really is that good. Rarely does one find a place to stay that transcends the simply concepts of hospitality and customer service. The reputation of Parker Cottage is richly deserved and the experience of staying here is if anything, even better than any preconceptions formed by reviews such as this.
From the moment we arrived until the time we departed we were treated like family by a TEAM of very warm, genuine and caring people for which nothing was too much trouble. I have travelled extensively both for business & pleasure and the welcome extended by Phil on our arrival is without question the best that I have ever experienced.
The accommodations are luxuriously appointed throughout and the breakfasts are simply exquisite – all cooked to order and very filling.
Phil and the team are also very helpful in planning excursions, booking restaurants, etc. and this was even before we arrived in South Africa. The amount of pre-stay care and customer service was exemplary.
In relation to planning excursions I would suggest that anyone staying at Parker Cottage and not wishing to drive, should without question consider booking Parker’s resident driver – Chris Hannival – to chauffer you around in his luxury BMW. Chris treated us to 2 very special & memorable days providing context and in-depth local knowledge throughout – plus he’s a top guy and great fun!
All in all our stay at Parker Cottage greatly exceeded ALL possible expectations. It is plainly obvious how much drive, passion and commitment Phil and the team have and the almost obsessive level of detail assigned to your care as they continue to improve and refine the service they provide.
Personally we have fallen in love with South Africa and are already planning to return next year. We had little enough time in Cape Town this time around and as such will most definitely have to visit again. Whilst our itinerary is far from planned the one cast iron certainty is that we will once again, be staying at Parker Cottage and very much look forward to doing so. In a word – perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_Stone_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,279 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
636 reviews
La Grenadine
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £90 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing