We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parker Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$366
US$309
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$239
US$155
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$777
US$611
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$787
US$703
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$464
US$408
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
1,003
54
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,003
54
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bother guestsspecial of the daycape peninsulamiller's thumbtable mountainhonesty barhome away from homefamily suitesouth africabed and breakfastcar hirerestaurant recommendationsthe entire staffwine countryguest housefresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We chose Parker Cottage as a base to explore Cape Town prior to embarking on a 62 Grand Cruise Adventure on a "slow boat to China". The Cottage is quaint and reminiscent of days gone by-but do not be mistaken, the bathroom was unique and charming and totally functional yet so different in a great way-not unlike my Grandparents home in Belgium where I stayed as a child 55+ years ago. The bed was large and comfortable. The room although a little small for a long stay was perfect for our needs. The staff were superb, even kind enough to stock up on necessities for us to take on the ship. The other like minded guests were a pleasure to chat to and get acquainted with, there was much camaraderie. The hyped up breakfast quite frankly was not hyped up enough, it's simply outstanding. The great reviews Parker Cottage receive are well justified. We had no hesitation in singing it's praises to the folk that joined us on the ship all having stayed at various higher priced establishments in Cape Town.
Parker cottage is a gem, relaxing, inviting, and they deliver what they promise.
P.S. Their coffee is in a class of it's own. Go see for yourself you will not be disappointed. Joanne and Stewart

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunner909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Our coffee is in a class of its own? Thanks for letting everyone know! We made the decision a while back at Parker Cottage to set out to find high-quality, fair trade, African coffee. No coffee is actually grown within our borders, (surprising, when you think about it as South Africa grows pretty much everything else...) so we had to look further afield to Ruwanda, Tanzania and Kenya. Now, all of our coffee here is African and fair trade produced and we're very proud of that fact, we must say.

Thank you for passing us on to everyone on the ship! We do like to think that you don't need to pay five star prices to get five star service at Parker Cottage. Granted, we don't have the facilities and room sizes of some of the larger hotels in Cape Town but we hope that we make up for that with a genuine and personalised experience.

Hope you made it back from the slow boat and we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

After nearly 12 hours overnight on a full 747, arriving at 10am at Parker Cottage's tranquility and breakfast was sooo welcome, as was the early access to a quirky glazed shower room!

Although I only stopped two nights, because I was booked elsewhere into a faded four star hotel by the V & A to start a two week package trip, I truly wished I had just stayed with my own arrangement and stayed on at the Parker Cottage. It is located in a buzzing inner suburb, with good local restaurantys and easy access both to Cape Town and Table Mountain.

The management and staff were genuinely caring and helpful. The real Victorian bedrooms are delightful. The outdoor areas are traquil and reminiscent of an Italian Villa, complete with fountain and carp pond.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbraithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A really wonderful place to stay, friendly helpful staff who always had a smile on their faces. The rooms were large and very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. Phil and his team help with advice right from your first correspondence with them right up to leaving them. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. Thank you Phil and everyone at Parker Cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummyspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

As a South African living abroad, going "home" is always special but our last trip to Cape Town was especially good because of our experience at Parker Cottage.
Prior to booking we were very impressed with their website and the views expressed there and found that the reality far exceeded expectations.
Phil and his staff - we unfortunately didn't get to meet Liz - certainly go the extra mile, and the ethos behind the venture shines through.
They are truly an example of what can be achieved in that magnificent country.
Other reviewers have mentioned the style of the accommodation, the fantastic breakfasts and all the little touches that make Parker Cottage exceptional - and we can only but agree whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We need not add to the glowing comments heaped on Phil, Liz and the team. They truly earn the feedback given. Much has been mentioned about how helpful they are, above and beyond what is required to make a simple accommodation booking - from restaurant tips and sightseeing suggestions before you arrive, to a welcome beer while registration formalities are carried out sitting in the front garden - it was all most thoughtful and considered.

Sadly, our stay was marred by an unpleasant incident completely unconnected with Parker, but the lengths Phil went to in ensuring that we had a relatively uninterrupted final day's holiday are reason enough for us to make Parker our base in Cape Town whenever we find ourselves lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, even the smaller ones
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0ffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

"Outshine a Sheraton?" Well, that's wonderful to hear, truly! (We also, having three MAs here in English literature and language working at Parker Cottage, particularly enjoyed the alliteration of that expression :-)). Yes, it was a bit of an unfortunate incident with your car, but at Parker Cottage, the point is that guests do not administrate their holiday or their trip once they have booked with us: we do it all, from fighting with car hire companies (how we love that part of our job!) to rebooking flights, getting you tables at restaurants and tickets to pretty much anything that is happening in Cape Town. We like to think that just because you're not paying five star prices, that's no reason not to offer five star service. One in the eye for Mr. Sheraton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews