We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how you run a B&B!!”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

As many have stated before me, the property is centrally located and gorgeous, which is a great start.

There are in descending order: fantastic rooms, beautiful rooms and cozy rooms - all offered at different price points. Although we were booked into a cosy room (this was all that was available, even with 2 months advance booking - which tells you something about how popular this place is!), it was great.

As you would hope, the rooms are comfortable, and come with everything that you need.

It's in the morning when you realise just how well this team work together to provide you with the best stay possible.

Firstly - The breakfasts are to die for!! So much so, that my wife and I skipped lunch most days and didn't even feel hungry when dinner came around.

Whether it be Phil (the co-owner), or Tomas, or Lexi - nothing is too much trouble; they simply want you to have the best time that you can have whilst in their back yard. For us, this meant booking dinner at Aubergine (a great restaurant, just around the corner) as well as lunch in the wine district, a couple of days later, plus a private 'by appointment only' wine farm visit.

As the title says - this is how you run a B&B - well done on a magnificent team effort!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Don, thanks so much for extolling the virtues of our management of a B&B! Perhaps we should start a consultancy? :-)

We do, as you say, take each guest's priorities for their stay in Cape Town and surrounding area pretty seriously: there is no 'one size fits all' here. To this end, we sit every guest down for a good 30 minute conversation when they walk through the door to see what it is that they want to get out of the stay and then, most importantly, what kind of people they are. We then plan the whole of their stay with us, without making it into a fixed itinerary, of course, and keeping the emphasis on fun and easy!

We also have our very own driver and guide, Chris Hannnival, who takes the same attitude to his tours as we do to our itineraries: he never does the same tour twice and always makes sure it fits the interests and expectations of every guest he takes with him.

It was great to know that you enjoyed that one-on-one with a winemaker: judging by your comments at the wine evening, it was pretty clear that you're serious about your wine, so it seemed much the best to get you a really unique wine experience.

We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Believe everything (good) you read about Parker Cottage! We enjoyed a two night stay at the beginning of March 2014 when my husband was taking part in the Cape Argus cycle ride. Rooms are attractive, clean & comfortable. The staff are all so friendly & Phil helped us plan our 3 days in Cape Town prior to our arrival which was great & the breakfasts... wow the breakfasts!! You wont need lunch! Thoroughly recommend the 'Cape Peninsula Tour' with driver Chris - a great guy full of information & top tips on how to 'enjoy' the busy tourist attractions. We also had an idyllic picnic at Hartenburg Wine estate on the way back to the airport & drive through Stellenbosch area - again with Chris - it was the perfect end to a perfect holiday. Thank you so much to Phil & all the Parker Cottage Team, we hope to visit again one day!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellie-j-1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

That was fun, wasn't it? We realised that you were short of time on that last day so rather than sit in traffic trying to leave town to get to the airport, it made more sense to send you to the other side of the airport to Hartenberg Wine Estate for lunch and then get you to the plane in a nice leisurely way afterwards.

Thanks for the compliments about Chris: we encouraged him to start his own business a few years ago and he's never looked back! Although he's now so successful that he's also working for the bigger hotels and as a whole team of drivers who work for him, as Chris always says: 'Parker Cottage comes first!'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We chose Parker Cottage as a base to explore Cape Town prior to embarking on a 62 Grand Cruise Adventure on a "slow boat to China". The Cottage is quaint and reminiscent of days gone by-but do not be mistaken, the bathroom was unique and charming and totally functional yet so different in a great way-not unlike my Grandparents home in Belgium where I stayed as a child 55+ years ago. The bed was large and comfortable. The room although a little small for a long stay was perfect for our needs. The staff were superb, even kind enough to stock up on necessities for us to take on the ship. The other like minded guests were a pleasure to chat to and get acquainted with, there was much camaraderie. The hyped up breakfast quite frankly was not hyped up enough, it's simply outstanding. The great reviews Parker Cottage receive are well justified. We had no hesitation in singing it's praises to the folk that joined us on the ship all having stayed at various higher priced establishments in Cape Town.
Parker cottage is a gem, relaxing, inviting, and they deliver what they promise.
P.S. Their coffee is in a class of it's own. Go see for yourself you will not be disappointed. Joanne and Stewart

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gunner909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Our coffee is in a class of its own? Thanks for letting everyone know! We made the decision a while back at Parker Cottage to set out to find high-quality, fair trade, African coffee. No coffee is actually grown within our borders, (surprising, when you think about it as South Africa grows pretty much everything else...) so we had to look further afield to Ruwanda, Tanzania and Kenya. Now, all of our coffee here is African and fair trade produced and we're very proud of that fact, we must say.

Thank you for passing us on to everyone on the ship! We do like to think that you don't need to pay five star prices to get five star service at Parker Cottage. Granted, we don't have the facilities and room sizes of some of the larger hotels in Cape Town but we hope that we make up for that with a genuine and personalised experience.

Hope you made it back from the slow boat and we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

After nearly 12 hours overnight on a full 747, arriving at 10am at Parker Cottage's tranquility and breakfast was sooo welcome, as was the early access to a quirky glazed shower room!

Although I only stopped two nights, because I was booked elsewhere into a faded four star hotel by the V & A to start a two week package trip, I truly wished I had just stayed with my own arrangement and stayed on at the Parker Cottage. It is located in a buzzing inner suburb, with good local restaurantys and easy access both to Cape Town and Table Mountain.

The management and staff were genuinely caring and helpful. The real Victorian bedrooms are delightful. The outdoor areas are traquil and reminiscent of an Italian Villa, complete with fountain and carp pond.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbraithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A really wonderful place to stay, friendly helpful staff who always had a smile on their faces. The rooms were large and very comfortable and the breakfasts were excellent. Phil and his team help with advice right from your first correspondence with them right up to leaving them. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. Thank you Phil and everyone at Parker Cottage.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mummyspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

As a South African living abroad, going "home" is always special but our last trip to Cape Town was especially good because of our experience at Parker Cottage.
Prior to booking we were very impressed with their website and the views expressed there and found that the reality far exceeded expectations.
Phil and his staff - we unfortunately didn't get to meet Liz - certainly go the extra mile, and the ethos behind the venture shines through.
They are truly an example of what can be achieved in that magnificent country.
Other reviewers have mentioned the style of the accommodation, the fantastic breakfasts and all the little touches that make Parker Cottage exceptional - and we can only but agree whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We need not add to the glowing comments heaped on Phil, Liz and the team. They truly earn the feedback given. Much has been mentioned about how helpful they are, above and beyond what is required to make a simple accommodation booking - from restaurant tips and sightseeing suggestions before you arrive, to a welcome beer while registration formalities are carried out sitting in the front garden - it was all most thoughtful and considered.

Sadly, our stay was marred by an unpleasant incident completely unconnected with Parker, but the lengths Phil went to in ensuring that we had a relatively uninterrupted final day's holiday are reason enough for us to make Parker our base in Cape Town whenever we find ourselves lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, even the smaller ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0ffan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

"Outshine a Sheraton?" Well, that's wonderful to hear, truly! (We also, having three MAs here in English literature and language working at Parker Cottage, particularly enjoyed the alliteration of that expression :-)). Yes, it was a bit of an unfortunate incident with your car, but at Parker Cottage, the point is that guests do not administrate their holiday or their trip once they have booked with us: we do it all, from fighting with car hire companies (how we love that part of our job!) to rebooking flights, getting you tables at restaurants and tickets to pretty much anything that is happening in Cape Town. We like to think that just because you're not paying five star prices, that's no reason not to offer five star service. One in the eye for Mr. Sheraton!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,352 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
293 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £93 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing