We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I spent five days at Parker Cottage in May 2014 ... and it was the very best possible way to start our 3-week visit to Africa! We were warmly greeted, and Phil stepped us through our itinerary (which he had arranged) over a lovely glass of wine. Lexi followed up with the details; and we were all set. Parker Cottage is quaint but has modern amenities (including wi-fi!). It is comfortable, convenient, and chockfull of the NICEST people, both guests and staff. Tomas made sure we were all set for our departure at 4:30 AM; and our pickup was right on time, with a smooth delivery to the airport. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!
- Mark and Elisa

Room Tip: We were in the Pomegranate Room (upstairs) and like that one very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
134
619
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Parker Cottage is one of the best places I've ever stayed! Located in a central location for easy access to everything in Cape Town is only one aspect that makes this the perfect place to stay. The staff and their attention to personal details for each guest is superb! They also act as travel agents and help you truly enjoy every aspect of Cape Town. I highly recommend them and I am going back later this year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks Paka for this lovely review; we like that you think we qualify as travel agents! Most kind of you to say so but not quite true! What we do here is all based on the fact that South Africa and in particular the Western Cape and Cape Town simply has too many things to do. This leaves our guests in a huge quandry because very few of our guests have infinite time or infinite funds. Our travel planning and advice service starts before you even stay with us to make sure you get the most out of the available time you have and continues even after you leave us with ideas of how to extend your exploration of South Africa. So pleased that this worked for you and thanks for telling the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This terrific b & b in Tamboerskloof is made what it is by the fantastic staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.

Even before we arrived they were helping us arrange our itinerary for our trip along the Garden Route with some excellent recommendations for places to stay and places to visit.

Breakfast on the verandah (stoep?) was everything we could ask, with choice of cereals, full english (or continental!), fresh fruit, coffee/tea, toast & preserves and so on. More than enough to set us up for the day.

We hadn't booked a restaurant for Valentine's day evening and there were few vacancies, so Phil went out of his way to set up a special table for us with candles etc. so that we could have a romantic evening picnic. Another example of going that extra mile!

This is certainly somewhere we will revisit if we're in Cape Town again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daddyspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi daddyspider! So glad you enjoyed that Garden Route Tour. We actually write guides to almost every part of South Africa that's driving distance from Parker Cottage: the idea is to put something together that isn't what one can easily find on the internet or from a travel agent but hand-picked places we've stayed in, eaten at or visited ourselves. We do all our tours at least once a year to check that everything is as it should be and if not, we take it out!

That dinner was a lot of fun, wasn't it? We really do like to do the rather special things that most places don't (or won't :-( ) do for their guests. So pleased you enjoyed...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

From the pick up at the airport, to the car hire that was arranged for us! Everything was beyond perfect! The bottle of beer and welcome on the patio with Tomas, who told us everything we needed to know about our stay in Cape Town (& more!).The breakfasts, wow! Phil, the perfect host, the wine evening, we could go on...... the b&b is in a great spot too, with restaurants and bars close! No need to go to the waterfront! An absolute pleasure to visit! Thankyou!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelturkey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thanks TravelTurkey for mentioning Tomas and our beer selection! We only stock local, handmade beers at Parker Cottage which are in another league of taste the flavour from 'normal', commerical beers. We even have beer tastings to compliment our weekly wine tastings in the summer (guests aren't so keen on beer tasting in the winter!). So far, all very popular.

Oh and yes, you're right: no need to go the Waterfront at all, thank you. Can't even remember the last time we went there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This will be my first review that I have ever posted, and I only do so because of my extraordinary experience at Parker Cottage.

My stay at Parker Cottage was a balm to my soul. It wasn’t just the beautiful house and rooms (so clean and comfortable!), or the delicious breakfast, or the seriously amazing service and all the back and forth emails to help me plan my drive around the cape and to Franschoek and finding restaurants and all that. It was the special kindness shown when my wallet was lost (and then found!). It was Tomas and the sensitive and persistent way he forced me to accept kindness and hospitality. It was Phil pushing cheese and wine and just bounding with energy and cheer. It was taking the trunk full of things to my room, and the detailed walking directions to the bus stop, and the carefully made breakfasts-to-go. The list goes on and on.

Most of all, it was the simple kindness shown to me by ALL of the staff. It is a blessing and knowledge that there are good and kind people who work hard and give of themselves to build others up and give them rest and cheer. The folks are Parker Cottage do amazing work, and I’m so grateful to have been able to experience it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

You enter the garden door of Parker Cottage and you feel immediately - you found a secret paradise - beautiful greenery, blossoming flowers and hidden sparkling waters are welcoming you , you enter the house and you are fascinated by every detail of the charming interior design so well chosen, refined and tasteful, and you enjoy! It was wonderful at Parker Cottage; Phil and Liz and the whole staff show an amazing hospitality! Simply the BEST!

Room Tip: Hamra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabiCesar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you Gabi and Cesar! Donny, our caretaker, will be particularly delighted to know how much you enjoyed the garden. He spends around an hour a day on it to make sure it's always looking as good as possible. Liz does all the interior design here and of course, she's never happy, which means the house is never finished! So you'll just have to come back soon to see what else she's come up with...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We don’t know where to start off in saying this is definitely the Number 1 place in Cape Town. The communication and information started a couple of weeks before we arrived. Whenever we had a question someone answered immediately with lots of information. We had a huge warm welcome by Phil when we arrived. We had a 2 nights stay at the beginning of our holiday.

Parker Cottage is a beautiful Edwardian villa with wonderful period features. Their slogan is “where opulent, heritage hospitality doesn’t cost the earth.” Looking at it from street view you don’t realise that there is such a large gem of a property hidden behind the walls with a haven of a garden that provides peace and tranquillity. Here you can sit reading and listening to the water feature and being surround by the fragrance of the exotic plants.

Phil and his staff are very attentive and will go out of their way to help. The room and bathroom were spacious and tastefully decorated with period features.

Breakfast is a feast with lots of courses. All freshly prepared. We loved the daily specials.

We definitely will be coming back to Parker Cottage on our next visit to Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing