We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Parker is amazing. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and the staff, the breakfasts are a scrumptious 4 course affair, the room was comfortable, the location is great. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairMoodaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
134
621
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Phil, Lexi and team are the best! I travel a lot and have stayed at some amazing places but, the services that Phil, Lexi and team provided were the best I have ever experienced. I would highly recommend a stay at Parker Cottage, for as long as you can.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having stayed in ten guest houses during our five week driving tour of The Garden Route, PARKER COTTAGE in Cape Town was by far the best. From booking our room to car hire, airport transfers, wineland tour, cable car tickets and afternoon teas at the Mount Nelson Hotel, Phil took care of it all.
Everything about Parker a Cottage is a joy. The rooms (we stayed in the Kleinmonde and Pomegranate rooms) were beautiful. The staff who will take care of your every need are pleasant and friendly. Want a fridge, heater or tea tray in your room? Just ask Thomas, Lexi or Phil and it's done.
Excellent breakfasts, served from 7.30 to 11.00am (not just 8 to 9 am like a lot of guest houses) are cooked to order and can be taken in the dining room or outside in the lovely garden.
We stayed 6 nights at the start of our holiday and enjoyed it so much we returned for a further 5 nights at the end.
Thanks to Phil and his team we had a wonderful holiday and if we ever return to Cape Town we shall certainly book into Parker Cottage again.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 & 5 The Kleinmonde & Pomegranate rooms are upstairs at the back of the house and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BarryTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Parker Cottage TRULY is a home away from home!! My husband and I felt so welcomed by Phil, Tomas, and all the ladies. We arrived late at night to a bottle of wine with a cheese/meat/fruit tray. Our room was so comfortable; breakfasts were made to order and simply scrumptious!! The staff go out of their way taking care of your every need. They gave us incredible guidance as we planned our days. If we ever have the chance to visit Cape Town again, I will look no further than Parker Cottage for my entire stay! Many thanks to you, Phil, for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tramd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Home .... is how you feel in Parker Cottage. Tomas, Phil , Lexi and Olga they are our family in Cape Town. The rooms were very comfortable , breakfast was real nice and the most important is all the personal attention that we received. Thanks for everything you made our holidays real special.
Gracias y Saludos desde Puerto Rico.......

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luzo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Phil and Liz run a terrific property where we slept well every night on great mattress / pillows (pleasing even fussy sleepers)! Breakfast is multi-course affair with the most memorable home-baked croissants to top off the first 1000 calories. Plus we got great guidance in terms of picking restaurants, setting up a private driver for our peninsula tour and all our transfers. Really --the perfect place for tourists getting to know a great city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank witz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed a week at Parker Cottage. The owner, Phil and General Manager, Tomas greeted us with wine and suggestions for our week. The Parker Cottage is beautifully decorated and has every amenity one could wish for. The breakfasts were delicious, being served on the front patio or in the dining room. The staff is warm and friendly and are at your beckon call. Thandeka and Lexi did our laundry and there was a lot! You will have access to a driver, should you want to tour that way. The location is perfect - lovely neighborhood. We cannot say enough good things about the service and experience. It was top notch! Phil and his staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. One night we and two other guests felt like staying in - Phil ordered pizza for us and set us up in the dining room. I had trouble sleeping (no fault of anyones, but my own) Phil went out of his way to make me comfortable. We highly recommend staying at Parker Cottage you will love it. Dolly and Chuck Emerson

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing