We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were a group of 3 people travelling for business to Cape Town. The staff were excellent with referrals and assistance with regards to everything! From bringing us coffee and tea for meetings through the entire day, to suggestions of restaurants and bookings of excursions. The Breakfast was fabulous and the house itself is extremely warm and cosy. It really felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you Tanya! Lovely to know that we managed to combine the feeling of being at home with also being a good place to do business. We'll see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    961
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
632
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,233 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Perfection comes into my mind by reviewing this gem of a guest house. The staff, lead by Thomas, is absolutely fantastic. So are the premises, with rooms for every taste. And so is the sumptuous breakfast, from which many a five star hotel could learn: Daily specials, freshly cooked, seasonal fruit that is actually ripe (and not the usual unripe, stone-hard fruit that would be confiscated at an airport security check, because it could be used as a weapon).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bamboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We actually employ two airport security guards at the gate at Parker Cottage: their sole purpose is to weed out the stone hard fruit and give it the five star hotels in Cape Town. :-)

Thanks so much for the compliment on our fruit: we actually get it from two enterprising fellows, Pappi and Ziyad, who drive a bakkie (that's a pick up truck if you're not a Saffer) to the Cape Town Fruit and Veg Market in Maitland every morning. They get there about 5 a.m., buy the choicest fruit before the supermarket buyers come in, and bring it straight to our door for our guests. The result is, as you say, perfectly fresh and perfectly ripe fruit. We've had guests ask to take the fruit home with them (and we mean home as in a transatlantic flight away) because they know they won't get as good at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Everything about this stay was pleasant. Breakfast is a fabulous event with daily specials as well as various standard options. The employees are very friendly and do everything possible to help guests have a pleasant stay from booking events and purchasing online tickets. Thanks to all the staff for pleasant and memorable stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drpresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We loved that line: 'Breakfast is a fabulous event'! We do try to turn the ordinary into the fantastic at Parker Cottage. Thanks so much for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,350 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 18 people and I chose Parker Cottage because it had enough rooms to accommodate my entire group under one roof! Best decision I ever made! What a Fabulous find! The manager, Thomas and the staff all went our of their way to make our stay memorable and they succeeded. We will all remember Parker Cottage with fond memories and Many of us will definitely return. The rooms, big or small were all very beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Breakfast, as agreed by everyone in the group...the best we've ever had! Well done Parker Cottage and a special "Thank you" to Thomas. I can't wait for my next visit!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequenttraveler031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so very very much for this delightful review! What makes this review particularly special is that firstly, this was the largest group we've ever accommodated at Parker Cottage, and also, Phil, who is writing this response and is one of the owners, was laid up in bed with a horrible flu from the first day of the arrival of the group.

It is brilliant to hear first hand from the leader of that group that our staff, particularly Tomas who you kindly mention by name, were able to not only cope with the pressures of a large group but also met and exceeded your expectations. This not only shows that the last five years of training our staff up have been worth it but it also shows just how great a group of people we have working for us. I’m really touched by your kind words and have passed this on to the team.

Perhaps on your return visit, you can bring 50 guests? We'll have to build a basement and another storey to accommodate them all, but hey, this is Parker Cottage we're talking about. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked Parker Cottage for a group. This became home for the group for five days. The service was excellent, accommodation superb and the breakfasts spectacular.
Thanks to Phil and his team for all the hard work

Jenny Rose

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osprey Florida
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Although my husband and I are closer to 80 than 70, we like to think of ourselves as fit and able to do world travel. However, we had an unfortunate experience on the way into Cape Town from the airport which left us badly shaken. Phil greeted us at Parker Cottage exactly the way a family member would have--he gave me a hug, gave both of us a glass (plus) of wine, and listened to our tale of woe until we'd settled down.

Our room was fabulous, the bathroom had both a large soaking tub for me and a shower for Bob (RM #6 if you book early enough to grab it, although we never heard a single complaint about any of the rooms). Parker Cottage is a lovely old building, conveniently located in a walkable neighborhood with good restaurant within walking distance.

Phil was more like an informed, organized family member than a host. Reservations were made before we thought to ask for them, tours were arranged for us, taking into account our personal tastes (although we are wine drinkers and wanted to see the magnificent wine country, we didn't want to spend an entire day drinking wine)--in short, nothing that could make us more comfortable and happy was overlooked. No grand hotel in the world could have given us better service, better breakfast, more conviviality with the other guests, a more walkable location.

The last night of our stay we were told at our restaurant that Phil had picked up our bill! He left a note on our room, saying that he wanted our last night in Cape Town to be better than our first one. What a lovely, thoughtful gesture!

We cannot imagine ANYONE coming to Cape Town who would not enjoy this beautiful, special place!

Room Tip: As I mentioned, Room 6 has both a tub and a shower, is on the first floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chesterlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
What a lovely review,P&B! And so soon after leaving us too, as you were only here less than 48 hours ago.

We can't control everything that happens in Cape Town and yes, there is still such a yawning gap between the haves and have nots here that occasionally, that gap gets crossed in unpleasant ways. We're just delighted that you were able to see beyond that and still enjoy and let us host you in Cape Town.

The Fitzroy Room, or Room 6, has actually had quite a considerable amount of work done to it recently so we're delighted that you enjoyed it so much. There's a new and very comfortable rug, brand new top of the range beds and we are also rather proud of the chandelier too!

And you're too kind about Phil (this is him writing now). Thank you for saying that our service was better than a five star hotel: really, that's a helluva compliment and we can't thank you enough.

It's about time you came back and did Cape Town all over again, properly, for at least seven days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at Parker Cottage for 5 nights in April 2014. This was one of the best places that we stayed at during our 9 week world tour. From the first greeting to our farewell, we were well looked after. They held two wine tasting evenings while we were there (normally one per week) and that was an excellent way to get to know the other guests. Not that this was necessary as Phil and the team always introduced us to other guests as they arrived. The room was large, well presented, comfortable bed and clean. When we arrived Phil sat us down and asked us what we had planned for our 5 days in Cape Town and assisted us with some tickets. The breakfasts are fantastic and no pressure on when you eat. Fabulous service and we would not hesitate to highly recommend Parker Cottage for your stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewandleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thanks Lew and Leanne! You really have been most kind in your review: yes, Parker Cottage is a pretty social place, but only as much as you want to be social. So you have a choice to come to our wine evenings (which we try to offer enough times to be able to invite every guest who stays with us), to share a table for breakfast with other guests or just to eat on your own.

And thanks for noticing about the 'breakfast times'! We don't tell you when you can and can't have breakfast at Parker Cottage: you can eat breakfast when you like and where you like, which is, as far as we're concerned, the way it should be. The record is still held by our Mexican guest Pedro who during the World Cup in 2010 arrived for breakfast at 12h43. You'll just have to come back to try to beat him...

One of the best places on a nine week worldwide tour? Wow! Compliments indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
625 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing