We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best guest house in Cape Town”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best guest house in Cape Town”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were welcomed with amazing hospitality. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for everyone who works at Parker Cottage or the owners. We had enormous help with our travel itinerary .
The rooms are large and comfortable. There is a big lounge and veranda seating area.
It is safe to walk out at night to many good restaurants.
Almost impossible to put into words is the monumental choices for breakfast which is perfectly cooked and served. Thank you Parker Cottage.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopshamExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
629
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Buckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Couldn't be happier with our stay at Parker Cottage - the staff were amazing, getting us a better deal on our car hire (which they hadn't even booked originally), being up for an interesting conversation whenever you were around, and carrying out requests for things like a TV almost instantly. Lovely kitchen and breakfast area. Only slight comment was that our bathroom was very small, but after being upgraded for the last night for free, the bathroom in that room was much larger.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazboy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkerCottage, Owner at Parker Cottage, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hi Lazboy! Thanks for this great review and for acknowledging our service standard. We thought your car hire deal was very cheeky: making you drive all the way to the airport to get your car just isn't acceptable so we had to sort that one out!

Yes, the Kane Room's bathroom is small but that is clearly stated on our website. Unlike most establishments, we have a very large choice of rooms here at Parker Cottage for a variety of budgets and trips. The Kane is our smallest, least expensive room intended for couples or single guests who literally want to use the room to sleep, shower and go. If you intend spending any longer in the room (as you clearly did because you wanted the television), it perhaps wasn't the best choice for your needs. Next time, we'll try to be clearer in our emails about what the room entails.

And yes, it was nice to get a free upgrade, wasn't it? :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

By chance we ended up here for one night. What a surprise. The customer service is impeccable. It simply can not be faulted. The rooms were beautifully furnished and the bathrooms fabulous, clean and spacious. No doubt I will recommend this place to anyone and everyone who travels to Cape Town. The use of a complimentary computer was a fantastic option especially for the many foreigners staying there. The breakfast was unbelievable too. The attention to detail and food presentation was superb. Our 5 year old daughter shared a room with us and was treated equally well. Nothing is too much trouble here. The staff are what makes this establishment so unbelievable. This is a true gem in the heart of Cape Town. Hope to see you soon again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyPutzier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This is an absolutely outstanding bnb where the staff go above and beyond the call of duty to make you feel welcome. The location is perfect, close to the city centre but in a quiet side street with views of Table Mountain just round the corner. The house itself is gorgeous with huge rooms and a lovely verandah overlooking a lovely garden area, where you can just sit and relax. Breakfast was amazing - quite possibly the best we've ever had at any bnb. And finally the people, from the owner Phil to Lexy, Diana, Thomas and everybody else were so friendly and helpful, (even driving us to catch the hop on hop off bus!) they really made it special and a wonderful way to spend the final days of an amazing trip.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SRDFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Lexi, Diana & rest of the team made our 3 day stay very comfortable & lived up to all the reviews I had read previously regarding the place. They provide the BEST breakfast - the daily special was imaginative & truly delicious - wish I could have the same now that I am home!

The honesty bar & fireplaces set up with wood/paper ready to light easily were a very charming touch.

I also cannot recommend highly enough Gisela Piercey of African Twist Travel who helped plan & book our 2 week trip to South Africa for 8 adults.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casson-Gentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Parker Cottage is truly a home-away-from-home. We stayed for 2 weeks and to be quite honest we didn't really want to leave! The staff are absolutely wonderful and go above and beyond to ensure your stay is as comfortable as it possibly can be. Phil, Diana and Tomas have the perfect knack of making you feel so welcome and looked after, and are full of information and suggestions to make your stay the best it possibly can be. The rooms are beautiful with wonderful little touches that you would expect in a 5* hotel. The breakfasts are truly exceptional! I don't think we have ever eaten so well! The location is fantastic, nowhere is really far in a taxi and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Parker Cottage has got to be one of the best places we have ever stayed in during our travels, and we are already planning to re-visit next year!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I can say that this place just blew our minds. We got 5-stars plus service for so little money! The place is just beautiful, decorated so tastefully, the breakfast (included in the price) is the best I've ever had in any hotel (and I stay in hotels A LOT! more than 100 nights per year on average), and the host, Phil, is just charming. Really, you can't go wrong with this place!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris_and_Sarah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,390 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing