We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting as well as luxurious place to stay.”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An interesting as well as luxurious place to stay.”
Reviewed 5 May 2010

The Parker cottage is a charming house and very comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious, varied and beautifully presented on the verandah. Liz, Phil, Robert , Maria are very welcoming, and take pride in the service they provide, with great attention to detail. So there is a beer or a glass of wine on arrival and, twice a week, a few more in the evening with fellow guests, hosted by Liz and Phil. So they are there to deal with any enquiries, to offer advice and help in a very sociable way. My colleague and I were in Cape Town recording for a radio programme and our particular needs (internet, directions, etc.) were appreciated and amply catered for. I'd love to come back.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julianmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
138
626
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

There is something different about the way in which Phil and Liz (the owners of this place) run Parker Cottage. It's almost like a well to-do backpackers, but without all the mess you'd expect from a $20 a night place.

No - Parker Cottage is a beautiful double terrace cottage where the check-in time doesn't matter (we arrived at 10am for the record - which was no bother at all for the guys there), the breakfasts often go into the 4th or 5th course and there is nothing that the guys there won't do for you.

It's a pretty social affair there too, but if you don't want to chat with other guests, then it's no bother too. The rooms are not flash, but comfortable and if you enjoy staying in somewhere that has atmosphere then put this on your list. The best thing is the price too - R1000 a night is pretty good for the level of service you recieve here. Each and every night Phil would offer to book our restaurant, giving his highly informed opinions as to where to go. Plus it's only 10 mins walk from all of the main attractions you would want in a lovely area of Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_B1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

A lovely experience and great value for money. Phil and Liz are genuinely concerned that their guests have a warm and pleasant stay. Little touches such as wine and cheese evenings and informal chit-chats really help to personalize the experience. The location is good and the hosts find the right balance between professionalism and intimacy.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoopam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2010

My colleague and I had an extended business trip to South Africa starting in Jo'burg. After staying what seemed like a bed and breakfast where the owner was more like someone from Baby Jane or Mommy Dearest, this was a welcome relief and the end of our stay. Phil and Liz were so warm, friendly and wonderful. They took care of us and made us feel like we were at home. Their attention to details like having a sign out in front of the cottage welcoming us when we arrived was very kind. Everything about the way they ran their establishment was about care, detail and generosity, which was much welcomed after such a long trip before. We will absolutely recommend this place to friends and colleagues who are going to Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skepticalfuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Parker Cottage tremendously. Phil and his staff have been absolutely perfect and the rooms really are as lovely as they are on Parker Cottage's homepage. So if you are going to Cape Town and need a Guest House you should really stay there. If they have capacities, there is no reason to look any further.

The breakfast was fantastic and a great variety of food was offered.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank July_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornish girl in London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Very well appointed rooms, beautiful architecturally, delicious breakfast with almost endless choice of foods to have; extremely welcoming and friendly hosts. Phil and Liz are fabulous hosts, they made us feel instantly at home and seemingly went out of their way to be helpful in answering our questions about Cape Town and beyond. They also took pity on us when we were stranded because of the volcano-travel-chaos and invited us for wine and nibbles on the veranda even when we weren't actually staying there (we had family who were guests staying there, they were stranded too but exceptionally well looked after by all at Parker Cottage during their extended stay). We will definitely stay there again when we go back to Cape Town. Many thanks to all at Parker Cottage.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2010

I second all of the glowing reviews of Parker Cottage. This B&B is a gem! Everything that we needed - from a SIM card, to a taxi, to a massage, to laundry being done - was organized and done to perfection, without ordeal. The breakfast is wonderful, and we were able to walk to most places. I was attending a conference, and I was able to relax and get some work done at the same time. We enjoyed our time so much that we came back for an extra night later in our trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenyatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing