We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parker Cottage Exceeded Our High Expectations”
Review of Parker Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parker Cottage
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Parker Cottage Exceeded Our High Expectations”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

After seeing Parker Cottage's website (www.parkercottage.co.za) it was impossible to not have high expectations for our stay during the World Cup. After booking our reservation for three, my girlfriend decided to come with us and Phil and Liz were extremely reasonable about adding her to our reservation. They always responded promptly to my e-mails and were a joy to communicate with.

Upon arriving, Phil met us at the door and offered us a variety of local beers/beverages to get us settled in. Soon after, we reviewed a map of Cape Town with him and he provided his insight into the different neighborhoods, bars, restaurants, and sights to check out during our stay. Our excitement doubled immediately, and we felt much safer having a general knowledge of the city. He made us a dinner reservation at a wonderful local restaurant the next day and happily arranged taxis for us on several occasions.

I won't waste time explaining how well appointed the guest house and rooms are--the pictures on the website speak for themselves. The only other thing I'd like to mention is that if it's your first time in Cape Town, you MUST ask Phil and Liz to give you the number for Discovery Tours, run by a man named Yaseen and his wife Tania (the website is a bit outdated, but the link is www.discoverytours.co.za). Yaseen drove the four of us around town and down the cape for a full day and it was absolutely unforgettable. He took us places most tourists don't know about, had friends everywhere, explained all the various sights articulately and answered all of our questions. We couldn't have asked for a friendlier, funnier tour guide and we'll never forget it.

In summary, our experience at Parker Cottage could not have been better. It had all the amenities you would expect of a luxury guest house (friendly staff, a wonderful chef for breakfast, free computer access with internet, top-notch security), yet still felt warm and intimate. Phil and Liz clearly love hosting travelers and they do it to perfection. I could not recommend Parker Cottage more highly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drew879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    53
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
141
629
54
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Please note that I didn't have a problem with the location, it was in a lovely neighbourhood and was a c. 20 minute walk from the V&A which is only a c. 5 minute cab ride. Just bear this in mind if that area is going to be the focal point of your stay in Cape Town.

Lovely B&B, great hosts who did everything to make us feel at home, very nice breakfast. Would definitely return if I visit Cape Town again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereinbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We travelled to Cape Town for the World Cup in June 2010.

Having a beautiful home, nice common areas, great breakfast, comfortable beds and fine locations are essentially easy and I've experienced that all over.
I certainly experienced that at Parker Cottage. But what makes Parker Cottage absolutely unsurpassed is the friendly and welcoming ways. Despite being busy ongoingly Phil and Liz and all of the staff made time to chat and find out about you, help you with tours, other needs and any questions you may have had. One never felt like you were being a nuisance. They were always in good humour and cheer.

The place was immaculate and they incessantly tried to make everyone welcome. Great rooms, superior breakfasts and a location close to fine affordable restaurants (but not too close to hear the activity). And the meet and greet wine nights ever couple of nights was a really unique touch, and there was always tea, coffee and biscotti available

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnoldandCathie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We enjoyed our two night stay in Parker Cottage very much, it exceeded our expectations by far! The personal approach (a sign out in front of the cottage welcoming us when we arrived, a wine evening, interesting conversations with Phill and the other guests, beautiful breakfasts and a very helpful staff) made us feel right at home. The rooms have atmosphere; cozy, comfortable and very charming. We would definitely come back and will recommend it to everyone who looks for a comfortable and pleasant accommodation to spend their holidays.
Foppo and Linda

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoppoLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We had an amazing time in Cape Town and much of this was down to Parker Cottage, the hosts Phil and Liz, Robert and the rest of the staff. Everyone went out of their way to help, offer advice and generally make us feel at home. There was a delicious breakfast every morning and wine evenings where we mixed with other guests. The accommodation was top-notch - very comfortable, clean and spacious.. Phil and Liz also put us in touch with Yaseen and Tania (Discovery Tours) who gave us a brilliant, personalised wine-tasting tour - one of the highlights of the holiday. I can't speak highly enough of Parker Cottage - I would go back there in an instant and would have no trouble recommending it to anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannylondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

There's not much more I can add that the other reviewers have not mentioned. Everything about this place amazing. The home and the rooms are cozy. The attention to service is top-notch. The breakfast is delicious. Phil ( I met Liz on the last day) is a wonderful host. I arrived in the evening and the room was set up with finger foods and wine in my room. It was just what I needed after a long day of travel. My only regret is that I only had two days in Cape Town.

Stayed June 2010
Helpful?
Thank egm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My Husband & I stayed at Parker cottage during a recent holiday to South Africa.
The owners; Phil & Liz were out of the country so hosts 'Estelle & Dennis' were looking after the guesthouse in there absence. The house itself is beautiful, the rooms were very big & cosy and the breakfast was superb. Estelle & Dennis were such lovely people and went out their way to help you in any way. They gave us advice on places to see & where to eat etc, they made us feel at home.
We found the location fantastic, we walked to the centre or to the Waterfont during the day but on an evening there were lots of fantastic resturants nearby just a 5 minute walk away. There was a book in our room which Phil & Liz had filled with useful information and resturant recomendations, we found this very helpful and another nice touch.
We will definately return to Parker cottage.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchinsons12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Cottage

Property: Parker Cottage
Address: 3 Carstens Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parker Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Parker Cottage! We’re a little different than the usual hotel or guesthouse experience. Rather than being just a conventional ‘place to sleep’, we offer a very much unplugged, urban retreat right in the creative heart of Cape Town. So although we offer free and fast internet, we don't do minibars, piped music or even reception desks. Think of us like a country house in the middle of the city. We’re the kind of place where you can rediscover the art of conversation, endless breakfasts and total serenity. Parker is a social place too: our legendary free wine evenings occur at least twice a week and there’s no ‘cut off’ time for our gourmet breakfasts either. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parker Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Cottage Hotel Cape Town Central
Parker Cottage Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing