We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hostel”
Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed in a female dorm - the beds were comfy, shower worked fine. The facilities and staff are quite nice, although I wish I had used the pool! Met some really nice people there as well and got good tips on tours. Good proximity to waterfront and city. Sandwiches and breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you were happy with your stay with us at the Backpack. AND that you sampled something off our delicious breakfast menu. Our ladies in the kitchen pride themselves in providing the best breakfast in town.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

Loved The Backpack. I had a private room en suite, which was nicer and cleaner than the full price hotel I stayed at the week before. The cafe/bar downstairs is comfy and very social - it has half-finished knitting projects and a community guitar, plus it's always full of travelers looking to bar hop or find a hiking buddy. My only caution is to watch out for the travel desk's affinity for group tours. The staff go above and beyond in helping set up activities, but they seemed to push guests towards one or two more expensive tour companies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is unfortunate to hear that you weren't fully satsified with the services our travel desk offered. We normally have one to two companies that may do similar things, and possibly have slightly different costs that should of been offered to you. Normally if we do perhaps offer a slightly more expensive one, it would be due to that company being around a lot longer and have mastered that specific tour.

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overal.

We hope that you will visit us in the future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

a bit noisy, just like any other hostel would be, otherwise - great!
close to the centre but quite a walk to the waterfront.
twin beds quite small.
free safe in the room.
a cool bar to hang out, drink and play pool
no meals in the evening, possible to have them order take-out for you

Room Tip: chose a romm as far away from the bar and the living room as possible. Ideal would be also not next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VK V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overal stay with us. It is unfortunate to hear that you weren't entirely happy with the size of your bed. We pride ourselves insuring that our guests have the most comfortable stay possible while with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hostel in the future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is a great hostel for socializing. Grab yourself a seat in the common areas and you'll make friends soon enough. I got a private room, so I'm not sure what the dorms are like, but my room was perfectly fine. This place is a quick walk to Long Street, although you might want to take a cab just for safety's sake.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make the most of our communal areas.

We also love the fact that we aren't located too close to Long Street. Our location is near enough to gain access to it, but far away from it enough to have a good nights sleep.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I recently stayed at The Backpack for a few nights on two separate occasions, within days of each other. Both times I experienced a very pleasant stay. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very neat, providing you with just what you need. A nice touch was a tray with a kettle and some tea/coffee options, which really came in handy. The price you pay versus what you get in terms of quality; and more importantly, location in the city is well worth it. I'd definitely stay here again. A pity that WiFi signal wasn't great in my room but I wasn't there long enough to surf. Stunning views of Table mountain from the pool deck :)

Room Tip: A room furthest from the communal/dining area guarantees sleep without any disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NafisaAkabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Backpack. Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with the WI-Fi services. Since your departure you will be happy to know that on our veranda area by the cafe, we now have free WI-FI for our guests.

Glad you liked the tea/coffee,etc in your room, only the ensuite room private rooms have that facility.

We hope that you visit us again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We recently traveled across South Africa and spent 4 nights in Cape Town. We chose The Backpack because of the accommodations and their commitment to the local community. We were not disappointed. My husband and I had our own room and own bathroom for part of the time. The rooms are basic but very clean and nice. They have a plethora of amenities and the staff is outstanding in meeting your needs especially when it comes to tours and bookings. They will book reservations at restaurants, cabs, tickets etc. The common areas are great like the patio, breakfast area and bar. It's in a great location walkable to everything. You can see Table Mountain from your place. We were hesitant to stay at a hostel because they typically tend to be dirty, sketchy or overriden with drunk and promiscuous twenty somethings. But this was nothing like that. We also brought donations from the US as they are a participant of Pack for A Purpose. We had a chance to meet the owner as well and its very clear that she cares about the guests and property and puts money into it to keep it nice. Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khyati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you were happy with the services provided by our Travel desk. We always strive to ensure that our guests stay run smoothly and we can assist wherever possible when it comes to booking daytrips, cabs, etc.

We are very proud to be associated with Pack for a Purpose.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Had an excellent stay for 2 weeks at this hostel! staff were exceptional, they will help organize anything in just a few minutes and will point you in the direction of a good night out or place for dinner. good quality food at the bar and overall a good vibe throughout the place. would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you all had an awesome stay with us at the Backpack.

It is awesome to hear that you were able to make us of the staff when it came to restaurants ideas or tour information.

We hope you will visit us again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
382 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 130 in Cape Town Central
559 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 130 in Cape Town Central
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#5 of 130 in Cape Town Central
375 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 130 in Cape Town Central
519 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Address: 74 New Church Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £21 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Africa's original award-winning Fair Trade hostel and travel shop, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban designer hostel. Private or Shared rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, electronic safes and in-house ATM. FREE fibre WiFi through the hostel. Swim in the pool with a view of Table Mountain, meet like-minded international travelers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, singles, twins and family rooms. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing