We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to socialize, meet people”
Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Alaska
Level Contributor
148 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“great place to socialize, meet people”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at the Backpack in April for a few nights after arriving in Capetown. We had a little trouble finding it driving from the airport but it was nighttime. The hostel has a great bar/restaurant well priced with really good "healthy" breakfasts/lunch dinners. It is a gathering place and always filled with people. The rooms were average typical hostel style. There is a place to wash clothes and a pool. The whole complex is quite big and sprawling a little "maze like" but interesting to wander around. There is even a teepee set up for "rent". The front desk is helpful they can arrange township tours, or other sightseeing. There is a large parking lot which was easy to find space in.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different ask to see a few if you are particular....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sswm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you had a good stay with us. Sorry that it was slightly difficult to find us.

As the hostel is made up of four Victorian Houses, it is very nice to find all the hidden aways spots where you can sit and chill if you don't want to be up in the main bar/cafe area.

We are glad that you were able to make use of the travel desk during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    186
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
114
253
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed in a female dorm - the beds were comfy, shower worked fine. The facilities and staff are quite nice, although I wish I had used the pool! Met some really nice people there as well and got good tips on tours. Good proximity to waterfront and city. Sandwiches and breakfast were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you were happy with your stay with us at the Backpack. AND that you sampled something off our delicious breakfast menu. Our ladies in the kitchen pride themselves in providing the best breakfast in town.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Loved The Backpack. I had a private room en suite, which was nicer and cleaner than the full price hotel I stayed at the week before. The cafe/bar downstairs is comfy and very social - it has half-finished knitting projects and a community guitar, plus it's always full of travelers looking to bar hop or find a hiking buddy. My only caution is to watch out for the travel desk's affinity for group tours. The staff go above and beyond in helping set up activities, but they seemed to push guests towards one or two more expensive tour companies.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty at The Backpack, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is unfortunate to hear that you weren't fully satsified with the services our travel desk offered. We normally have one to two companies that may do similar things, and possibly have slightly different costs that should of been offered to you. Normally if we do perhaps offer a slightly more expensive one, it would be due to that company being around a lot longer and have mastered that specific tour.

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overal.

We hope that you will visit us in the future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

a bit noisy, just like any other hostel would be, otherwise - great!
close to the centre but quite a walk to the waterfront.
twin beds quite small.
free safe in the room.
a cool bar to hang out, drink and play pool
no meals in the evening, possible to have them order take-out for you

Room Tip: chose a romm as far away from the bar and the living room as possible. Ideal would be also not next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VK V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overal stay with us. It is unfortunate to hear that you weren't entirely happy with the size of your bed. We pride ourselves insuring that our guests have the most comfortable stay possible while with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hostel in the future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is a great hostel for socializing. Grab yourself a seat in the common areas and you'll make friends soon enough. I got a private room, so I'm not sure what the dorms are like, but my room was perfectly fine. This place is a quick walk to Long Street, although you might want to take a cab just for safety's sake.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to make the most of our communal areas.

We also love the fact that we aren't located too close to Long Street. Our location is near enough to gain access to it, but far away from it enough to have a good nights sleep.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I recently stayed at The Backpack for a few nights on two separate occasions, within days of each other. Both times I experienced a very pleasant stay. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were very neat, providing you with just what you need. A nice touch was a tray with a kettle and some tea/coffee options, which really came in handy. The price you pay versus what you get in terms of quality; and more importantly, location in the city is well worth it. I'd definitely stay here again. A pity that WiFi signal wasn't great in my room but I wasn't there long enough to surf. Stunning views of Table mountain from the pool deck :)

Room Tip: A room furthest from the communal/dining area guarantees sleep without any disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NafisaAkabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Backpack. Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with the WI-Fi services. Since your departure you will be happy to know that on our veranda area by the cafe, we now have free WI-FI for our guests.

Glad you liked the tea/coffee,etc in your room, only the ensuite room private rooms have that facility.

We hope that you visit us again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We recently traveled across South Africa and spent 4 nights in Cape Town. We chose The Backpack because of the accommodations and their commitment to the local community. We were not disappointed. My husband and I had our own room and own bathroom for part of the time. The rooms are basic but very clean and nice. They have a plethora of amenities and the staff is outstanding in meeting your needs especially when it comes to tours and bookings. They will book reservations at restaurants, cabs, tickets etc. The common areas are great like the patio, breakfast area and bar. It's in a great location walkable to everything. You can see Table Mountain from your place. We were hesitant to stay at a hostel because they typically tend to be dirty, sketchy or overriden with drunk and promiscuous twenty somethings. But this was nothing like that. We also brought donations from the US as they are a participant of Pack for A Purpose. We had a chance to meet the owner as well and its very clear that she cares about the guests and property and puts money into it to keep it nice. Stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khyati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that you were happy with the services provided by our Travel desk. We always strive to ensure that our guests stay run smoothly and we can assist wherever possible when it comes to booking daytrips, cabs, etc.

We are very proud to be associated with Pack for a Purpose.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#7 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Property: The Backpack
Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing