We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Backpack, for local and visitors alike”
Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Backpack, for local and visitors alike”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My boyfriend and me landed in Cape Town, expecting to meet up with our friend who would host us for the week. Well, those plans fell through. Running around trying to find a place at the last possible minute (18h00 at night), we came across The Backpack. They had one room open and so we took it, not knowing what to expect. My understanding of a backpackers is that its full of noisy people, with dirty rooms with just the basics. Not this place. The staff were great! Our room was beautiful and setup to meet our needs. The setup of the residence is of such a nature that even if they hosted a concert at the front, the people in their rooms would not be disturbed. Really an amazing place which I would make a stop everytime I visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is lovely to hear that your expectations of the hostel were exceeded. We always strive to provide the best service to our guest possible.

We are glad that we were able to help you out at the last minute.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards



Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    186
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
114
252
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Myself ; wife & 3 children (ages 9 ; 7 & 2) recently stayed at The Backpack for 6 nights. My wife is accustomed to staying at 5 star hotels when she travels. She was amazingly surprised. We felt safe to let our kids roam around the establishment. So kids friendly. Lee ; Toni & staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. The room was great - what an amazing view of Table Mountain. Their breakfasts are legandary. Well Done! We cannot wait to return! Will will 150% recommend The Backpack.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are really happy to hear that you wife's expectations were met. We always strive to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible while visiting us at the Backpack.

It is awesome to hear that you tried one of delicious items off our breakfast menu. Our ladies in the kitchen work very hard to ensure that all the guests are ready to conquer the day with their first meal of the day.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed here in Dec 11 - Jan 12. We loved it! Very clean rooms, great, quiet location, beautiful view of the mountain, friendly staff and a nice little restaurant/bar located in the hostel. Within easy walking distance to Long Street. You do have to pay for wifi, though - but it's quite reasonable.

Couldn't have been better. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessielinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Backpack.

Kind Regards

Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed a few days in November 2012 in this hostel. Arranged a prebooked airport shuttle through the hostel, the driver arrived a bit late, but very friendly driver. Stayed in a singe private room wich was affordable, and in my opinion, the best out of "2 worlds" - own room like a hotel, but at the same time able to meet many interesting people.
The bar is nice, there is a chinese take-away option (direct delivery to the hostel) so you can eat lunch or dinner cheap at the hostel.
Breakfast can be bought at the hostel.
Really recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty at The Backpack, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you shuttle was a little late for you. They normally are always on time.

It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed your room facilitlies. We too, love the fact that the private rooms allows you to feel as if you are in a hotel, but the crowds that are around the communal areas allows you to meet like minded people.

We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed at the Backpack in Cape Town for just over a week with my brother. I was getting married to a gorgeous girl from Cape Town and needed a place to stay prior to the wedding. I have nothing but amazing things to say about the Backpack. The staff (from the reception, the chefs, the bar staff and even the owners) were amazing and always a helping hand. There was always a great atmosphere and even an awesome Halloween party. I also don't think there are many hotels / hostels in Cape Town where you can have a view of Table Mountain from one of your bedroom windows to Lions Head in the other window.
They also organised a fantastic shark cage dive with White Shark Adventures and my brother went on a couple of tours including a trip to a township and a safari drive at Inverdoorn of which he had nothing but great things to say.

I don't usually do reviews on websites but I believed my experience needed to be shared because it was truly excellent - as was the wedding by the way :)

Room Tip: Steve Biko - Great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggyBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor.

We are really glad that you choice to stay for a part of your wedding holiday at the Backpack.

It is awesome that you could party along with us at the Halloween party.

We are happy to hear that you were happy with the services provided for you by all our staff members.

Please visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Staying at The Backpack is a MUST while in Cape Town. Over 20 years, Toni & Lee have built a hostel experience that is not just a home away from home, but a community away from home. They bring people together in a comfortable, fun environment. The 2nd night of my stay 25 of us went out on the town lead by Lucas, our fearless Barman! T.B. has relationships with local businesses making it easy to do whatever you want; get a cab, hike, dive, fly, volunteer... T.B. was a highlight of my trip!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonblaze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Backpack.

The owners Lee and Toni have mastered the art of what true backpacking is all about.

It is lovely to hear that you had some awesome adventures with fellow guests, and that our barman Lucas was able to show you a good time in Long Street.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2012

AMAZING atmosphere!!! The staff (Eleni, Prudence, and Lucas especially) make sure everyone has a great time, arranging activities during the day and great partying at night. It has everything a good hostel needs: great location, delicious food, a fun common area and bar, and the friendliest people around. You'll have a blast!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelle072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniGood, Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hostel on Tripadvisor.

It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strived to ensure that our guests have the best stay possible while at The Backpack.

We are glad that you were able to make use of the common areas located around the hostel to meet other people.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Property: The Backpack
Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing