We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!!”
Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Awesome place!!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Staying at The Backpack honestly made my stay in Cape Town. The staff was so friendly and helpful. I was a solo traveler and I always felt safe here. The bar area is great and has a really fun and friendly vibe which makes it very easy to meet other people. They even organize things throughout the week like a Monday night Braai where we all walked to the market together to get food to cook on a the grill. I stayed in both the 8 bed dorm room and a private room during my time here and both were nice and clean. Not only is the hostel itself great but it is in a great location, only a couple blocks from Long Street so it is easy to walk to a lot of shops, bars, and restaurants. I will definitely stay here anytime I am back in Cape Town, overall GREAT experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniea112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It's great to hear that you found our hostel sociable and easy to meet fellow travelers. We are fortunate to be located in such a great spot, close enough to walk to shops, restaurants and bars; and far enough from the noisy areas.

Hoping to see you again when you are back in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    187
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
114
258
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I booked here because a friend recommended and I am so glad I did. It has a friendly and warm vibe. I stayed in a female dorm with three others, the room is large and the bed clean and cozy. I ended up making friends with my room mates and even travelling with them. That is how Cape Town is also, everyone is very friendly and wants to know how you are doing. The front desk is really helpful and help you choose between different options. They order cabs when you have to go out. I enjoyed the breakfast here though it was slightly more expensive than outside, try breakfast in a glass, its yummy and healthy.
The lounge area is full in the evening with everyone have a good time with some great music in the background. The best part about the stay here is the table top mountain that you see right behind it. The backpack is also a place that follows ethical and green practices. I forgot to give my key back but I am glad they took a key deposit which will be used for a community project.
Overall a great experience here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SwagataY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed all that we have on offer. Your key deposit has been donated to our community project, the GCU Academy, where it will be put to good use. Hoping to welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I loved this place! It has a bohemian/gypsy feel about it. It's set up like a maze and you have to go outside to get from building to building, which are still somehow all connected. The staff is amazing. They are extremely friendly and eager to make sure you get the proper Cape Town experience. The rooms are clean and large. The bathrooms are interesting-mostly outdoor entrances, but it made it all the more fun. The lounge was an awesome place to end the evening. They have fare drink prices and lots of people gather in both the indoor and outdoor sitting areas. It does cost more than the other hostels in the area, but well worth it (especially compared to the other hostel we stayed it). The location is great-walking distance to a lot of things, especially Long Street. We even walked to the V&A Waterfront from here. It was a long walk, but doable (beware of all the beggars-just be prepared to say no; especially to the kids). They have a guard on duty at night, and I always felt safe. They have a nice little shop area where they sell items made by people in the Townships. There's a grocery store just around the corner on Long Street (go the back way-ask at the front desk so you don't have to walk back up the huge hill from Long Street with your groceries). OH! And one of the coolest things-you can have your morning coffee and stare out at Table Mountain!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahOkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our amenities comfortable. We are fortunate to be located close to shops, restaurants and bars; but far enough not to be influenced by the noise levels.

Sipping coffee with Table Mountain as a backdrop is indeed the perfect way to start your day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Well the awards speak for themselves and so do other hostels... The Backpack is the best! Yes, it is a little more expensive but if you have come all this way isn't worth having the best experience? I booked this place after 4 of my friends have stayed here and recommended it. I was not at all disappointed. It has a great location and a security guard to watch the cars. The reception staff is super friendly especially Lisa who is just as wonderful as can be, the bar and hang out area had a good vibe and the breakfast items were delicious. They have large rooms with comfy beds and perfect pillows. Our room didn't have a bathroom but there were plenty of toilets and shower areas that we never had to wait. There is a huge host of information for around CT and SA and everyone is there willing to offer you there suggestions. Everything we booked through the hostel we loved. There was not one thing that was a disappointment. My luggage had been lost by the airline and they took the time to repeatedly call for me so I could go out and enjoy the city. That is customer service! The Backpack has an amazing community outreach program and you can tell everyone that works there really loves what this place stands for.
There are restaurants close by such as Fat Cactus which was super good. There is also multiple grocery stores which were cheap and the hostel had a good size kitchen to cook anything you want.
On a side note: An owner of a place in Plett that I stayed at said The Backpack is what every hostel and lodge strives to be. They are the best of the best! Now that is a compliment!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for reviewing us. It's always good to hear about former guests recommending us to their friends.

We continually strive to improve our amenities and services and are happy to hear that it shows. And of course we love our wonderful staff members as much as you did!

Thank you for the compliment, we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogndal Municipality, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

After reading good reviews on tripadvisor I booked The Backpack, while my friends booked Long Street Backpackers. And Im so happy about my choice!
What made me happy was soaps in bathrooms, fresh towels we could use, big area to chill.
It cost a little bit more than the other backpacker places, but its worth the money.
The beer is a bit expensive (since its local and taste good).
The location is perfect since its far enough the noise from Long Street, but only 5-10 min walk from it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were happy with your choice in choosing to stay with us.

We strive to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible and value your feedback.

Throughout the hostel you will find evidence of our support of local crafts and suppliers, which is part of our Responsible Tourism journey.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Backpack is still one of the best places to be in Cape Town! It might not be the cheapest but community support is a major issue with this perfectly situated backpackers.
You can choose between dorms and different kinds of rooms. They are all neat and clean and constantly maintenanced. Hot water comes from a solar heater and everything is very ecologically. But: That doesn't diminish the party potential as there always is a crowd in the bar, celebrating, having a braai, WiFiying or playing pool. There are quiet corners as well, where you can just lay down near the pool and read a book.
Definitely a place to come back to!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Mulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

As part of our good business journey we support community projects and try as far as possible to be kind to the planet.

Hoping to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. The place is a 15min walk to Long Street, where you can find a lot of restaurants and great nightlife. The staff is very helpful and is always ready to provide advice and recommendations.
Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vmwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and hope to welcome you back in the future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#2 of 127 in Cape Town Central
643 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 127 in Cape Town Central
492 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#7 of 127 in Cape Town Central
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Property: The Backpack
Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing