We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular place for backpackers”
Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Popular place for backpackers”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Nice place for backpacers, cosy atmosphere, and alot of young people. Not too far away from the waterfront, and clean rooms. Rooms for different choices, from more private rooms to doorms. Friendly and helpful staff, for the most part. A guide for what one should experience in Cape town, and the staff is more then willing to help on this part.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midnattsol88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Backpack, and that the all your expectations were met while with us.

We pride ourselves in always giving the best service possible and we are glad that you like the communal areas that we have around the hostel that you could use to meet other fellow travelers.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    186
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
114
255
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I booked a single room for a week at The Backpack after reading the numerous positive TripAdvisor reviews and was happy to find that it fully lived up to its good reputation. Firstly the basics: room was secure and clean, the location was great (just around the corner from Long Street) and showers were hot and plentiful. Additional plus points: the staff who were friendly and made a big effort to be helpful; and the very sociable bar and breakfast area that made it easy to meet the other guests. Highly recommended if you need a place to stay in Cape Town!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We love hearing that we are living up to our reputation and happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay.

We cater for a variety of accommodation needs and solo travelers always find it easy to meet fellow backpackers.

Hoping to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Because safety is a major issue when travelling to South Africa, where to stay is of utmost importance. Not only does THE BACKPACK offer you a well-guarded gate and electric fence, it is also a walking distance to a grocery store, near many restaurants and just a short taxi ride to the cable car station of the Table Mountain. The hostel offers plenty of activities to do indoors and outdoors, rain or shine, and it has friendly and helpful staff. I particularly liked Lisa because she was well-organised in planning the activities with useful suggestions.The Giraffe Room is a neat dormitory to stay at for backpackers. The kitchen is adequate for food preparation. The unique thing I liked about this place is how they are environmentally friendly. Best of all is the ambiance and vibe of this hostel and the people from all over the world meet in one cozy hostel and become friends. It just tends to be very noisy at times but that is one of the things that just gives it full of life!

Room Tip: Giraffe Room is a dormitory that is near the Common Room and the Pool Area so it is not very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eelzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and activities on offer.

Lisa is one of our stars, we are proud to have such amazing staff members!

We try to do our bit in saving the planet by using environmentally friendly products and recycling what we can, hope you had a chance to see our worm farm while you were here.

See you next time you're in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great selection of rooms - from budget dorms to neat, boutique-style quarters and apartments - and some really nice communal areas (with pleasant, helpful staff). Location is excellent; just 5-10 minutes' walk from some of Cape Town's best eating and drinking districts. The hostel has a good eco-friendly ethos and lots of interesting local community projects - and some fantastic views of Table Mountain from the backyard swimming pool. All in all, an excellent base for exploring Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for a great review!

We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and the surrounding area; we are indeed blessed to be located in such a great spot in Cape Town with amazing views of Table Mountain.

By supporting various community initiatives we are able to assist many projects as well as small local tour operators.

Hoping to welcome you back again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked a Private Double Ensuite for 3 nights and a Deluxe Ensuite for one night. When we arrived we were told our booking was one night in the Private Double Ensuite and 2 nights in a Double Budget -no ensuite. Primose, the supposed manager said ‘the system’ was to blame ie Hostelworld. We spoke for about 20 mins and she would not budge on her point and would not offer a discount for inconveniencing us either. Obviously slept through Customer Service 101!!

Not only were we not given what we had booked but we were put in the worst room of the hostel (off the TV lounge with people up til 3am blaring the TV and wouldn't turn it down) and we had to go to the toilet outside with a broken light. I was more comfortable camping in the previous 3 weeks than I was there.

The following day I spoke with Primose as I was extremely upset about the way we had been treated. She showed me the booking the it said Private Double Ensuite for the 3 nights but with different prices, night 2 and 3 cheaper than the 1st. She said that’s why we only got a Double Budget, it was the cheaper price. I asked how as a customer I was meant to know that when it tells me I’m booking an Ensuite. Unfortunately I am not blessed with psychic powers to know what they were thinking.

There were 2 other customers that i saw having issues with their bookings. If you want to keep sane and get what you booked DON'T book here.

It’s a shame because it’s a nice hostel but I would NOT recommend anyone stay here incase they are treated as badly as were.

Room Tip: Choose another place, DO NOT book this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neicey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay.

We make use of an online booking system. When a guest makes a booking online, the system will show the available rooms and automatically allocate your booking in the relevant room on our side.

When I look at your booking, it states the following which I pasted here (which is an automated system message and users are unable to edit this)
"Standard Double Ensuite
Standard Double Budget
This booking is for different guests/nights/room types so it has been split into the following reference numbers ...."

If you try to book 3 consecutive nights in a room type that doesn't have all the nights available you would get the following pop-up message:
"The rooms you have chosen are not available on all your chosen nights, please check the booking details on the next page before completing payment."

Your booking page would have shown the difference in prices for the rooms booked.

If you booked a "Standard Double Bed Ensuite" and the system allocated your booking to a "Standard Double Bed Shared Bathroom" (Standard Double Budget) the only explanation would be that there was a system glitch.

Once again, we do apologize for this. As you may have realized, this was out of our hands and there were no other rooms available at the time you made us aware of this. We hope that the free night's stay helped towards easing your discomfort without a private bathroom. We have logged an investigation into your booking on the system to see how this could have happened.

We trust that you will have a more enjoyable time the next time you visit our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Fun bar area, breakfasts are yummy (although not included, but only about 50/60 rand or $5/6 US dollars), and helpful staff who can arrange all kinds of tours for you (may I suggest the red/blue bus and spending an afternoon Camp's Bay by way of the blue line, as well as arranging tours to see the penguins at Boulder Beach and the lighthouse at Cape Point). Met a lot of fun 20-year-olds at the hostel to go out with at night too since I was traveling solo, but it's also family-friendly.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise make sure you request a room in the back of the complex or rent a lofted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for a great review!

We will be sure to pass on the compliments to our Cafe and Reception staff.

It's always good to hear that our guests are enjoying the beauty of Cape Town, as well as the great nightlife.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Conveniently located to main tourist spots and pub street, extremely pleasant and helpful staff, amazing outdoor/lounge area to relax (also got a bar area) which always helps a solo traveler to meet other people.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Praveen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunelleA, Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and found it easy to meet fellow travelers. We agree, our staff members are great and always willing to go the extra mile.

Hoping to see you when you visit Cape Town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 109 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
639 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
489 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Property: The Backpack
Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing