We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the backpack” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the backpack”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I went holiday season and stayed alone in a dorm for a day. the place was so packed, so i wanted little bit quiet place... however how they decorate the rooms were awsome!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank erimusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are delighted to hear that you love the way we decorate our rooms. We too, think that they are pretty funky!

Staying in a dorm, can be a bit of a gamble during the busy seasoning, as the dorms are normally really busy, but we do hope you enjoyed your overal stay with us.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    180
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
46
109
247
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were a large group with a variety of ages (14-70 years old). The Backpack was able to accommodate all our needs. The place is very clean and most of the staff is very nice and more than willing to accommodate all requests. We had breakfasts arranged for the group everyday...there was more than enough for everyone. This was my third time at this backpack and will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room off the lounge area as there are always people walking through or chatting in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CarlisleLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad to hear that even though it was a mixture of ages, everyone felt welcomed and all our staff helped them where needed.

We hope that you will all be able to visit us again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We compared every other place we stayed in South Africa to this property! Loved it! Great comfortable and spacious rooms, lovely security guard on arrival and the staff at reception, not only assisted with our what to see and do questions but suggested a dinner venue that was the highlight our of travels. This property had everything we needed and more.

Room Tip: Room 7 - 4 bed dorms had a lovely ensuite & view of Table Mountain from the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us at The Backpack.

It is lovely to hear that the advice for a dinner place given to you from our front desk staff was a hit on your trip. We always strive to ensure we give our guests the best information possible.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was a solo traveller, and I found it to be quite the perfect place.

The staff was very open, friendly & helpful.

It's a great place to interact with others guests as the bar is pretty much the focal point in the hostel.

The accommodations were very clean. showers and bathrooms are plentiful.

The hostel's strength is that it really seems to draw from experience and the location of the hostel was very very good.

Weakness: the Wifi signal is only available at certain areas... They could use some signal boosters... Then again, they could have done this intentionally to bring people to the bar... Anyway you should limit time you spend surfing the web while you are in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Go for the mixed 4 bedroom. It has it's own shower & bathroom, and not far from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JamsyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Backpack.

Thank you for your feedback about the Wifi. We are currently looking at working on spreading to have more access points around the hostel than what we already have.

The 4 bed dorms, are lovely in that they have a bit of everything you want in a dorm and a private room facility.

We hope that you will visit us in the future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had nice roommates, the place is nice, many places to sit and read or whatever. You can have cheaper dorms, but therefor the rest of the place is worth the money. I was happy not to be with young people only :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leemone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you loved your stay with us and that you were able to make use of all our hidden communal areas around the hostels.

It is lovely that you were able to meet other fellow travelers and like minded people like yourself.

We hope that you will visit our hostel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

It has all facility's, choice of rooms from dorms to twin and double rooms. Plenty of bathrooms. Kitchen facility's. Bar and food available. But loads of restaurants just around the corner in walking distance. The hostel is very well situated and in walking distance to most sights, marina, table mountain etc. it's a little bit more that some of the real budget hostels but well worth the money. The twin rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable.
Really enjoyed my stay.
But book early as they get very booked up especially at weekends.
The staff are really nice, friendly and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Book early, as it gets booked up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Backpack.

We are glad that you loved the twin room that you stayed in, and all the facilities that are provided at the hostel.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this is definitely one of the best. It's got a great atmosphere, friendly staff, comfortable beds and it's in a great location for getting round Cape Town. The bar area is really chilled and a great place to meet people - the guys running the bar are really friendly and make the place as good as it is. All in all staying here made my trip, hopefully one day I'll go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are very happy to hear that you loved your stay with us in Cape Town.

It is awesome to hear that you were happy with the barmen that we have working at the hostel. Our staff really do make this an unbelievable place to visit and we are glad that you could experience that.

We look forward to welcoming to back in the future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#45 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 130 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Property: The Backpack
Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing