We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in the City Bowl”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Backpack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Backpack
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the City Bowl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We used the Backpack as a central hub to see the rest of Cape Town. We stayed for 7 nights.

There are options for ensuite bathrooms or there are plenty of bathrooms and showers for use on the property. The kitchen is nice and big, and there is a freezer and refrigerator for use if you'd like. The bedding was nice and the views from the loft rooms were amazing.

I only have 3 critiques. Firstly, the refrigerator and the Freezer need to be cleaned out by the staff more often. Secondly, there is not enough parking space, and while the car guards are incredible and help to come get you if you need to move your vehicle, it shouldn't be necessary. And lastly, this was my 4th time staying at the Backpack and this was the first time this happened, but I did see some "wildlife" in the hotel. A cockroach in my bathroom, and a good sized rodent running across the top of the cabinets in the kitchen. The latter was the only think that would ever give me pause about returning.

It's a great location, and fun vibe. It doesn't feel like a hostel, and I'd even consider bringing my wife and kids in the future.

Room Tip: The Loft rooms have great views. The ensuite bathrooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Twilly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you that we were able to welcome you back for a fourth visit to The Backpack.

We are sorry that you had to encounter some "wildlife" while you were here with us. There unfortunately was a slight problem within the City, but the City Council has worked on it, and we barely seen any again. We hope that when you visit us again for the 5th visit, that something like that won't happen again.

It is delightful to hear that you got to experience the fun atmosphere that we have the evenings around the bar area.

We hope that you will visit again soon.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    186
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
114
250
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I adored everything about this place. Deserves more than 5*. So many awards for a reason! I initially had two nights but managed to extend it to two weeks although I had to switch rooms a bit as it got booked up fast. Many others I became friends with extended too. I stayed in penguin (single), lion (8 bed mixed) and giraffe (4 bed mixed). Try not to stay in crocodile which is next to the lounge or Banafa which is next to reception/bar area as they were apparently noisy.

All staff were wonderful; Mariano, Tamsin, Primrose and a tall guy from Jo'burg (name slipped my mind) to name a few. They made sure they knew your name immediately and would always address/greet you by it which was surprising seeing as they had so many people and probably a good turnover. They would often come out on nights out too. The owner (with the cute little dog) once gave us a lift to town in the evening when she heard us asking for directions, even though it was the opposite way and she was going home to cook. The staff are very knowledgable and there is lots of info to be given about tours etc as they have often been on them themselves.

They do free wine tasting once a month with a quiz (a ZAR300 bar tab as a prize) and a bring and braai every Monday where they supply bread, cheese, salad etc and you bring meat.

It was so good that I even left my HelpX place a day early to have my last night there.

Love it. Miss it! Miss the staff. Going back as soon as possible, just need the air fair!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBiscuit1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are more than delighted to hear that you had an unbelievable stay with us at The Backpack and that you shortened your stay somewhere else to come and have your final stay with us.

We will be sure to let the staff members know that you were happy with the services provided while here.

We hope that you will find the air fare soon to come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Backpack, had originally booked 4 nights and in the end decided to extend my stay. It is very well located, close enough to the city and also offers the quietness of a residential area.

Everyone at the hostel were very helpful whenever I had a question and was a great way to meet new people. The rooms are very good size and bveds very comfy! We even got some 'hot water bottles' put on our beds when the temperatures dropped a bit.

Room Tip: Leopard or Zebra are good rooms to go for, if you can't sleep with some noise just bring some ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniRubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Backpack and that you even ended up extending your stay with us for more nights.

It is lovely to hear that you were able to meet other awesome people in the communal areas around the hostel.

We hope that you will visit us again in the future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for 4 days and found the staff very friendly and helpful, The facilities are excellent and very central. The rooms were very comfortable. The secure car parking was very use full. We only had breakfast and can recommend their breakfast in a glass.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

It is delightful to hear that you were happy with the facilities provided in your room, and that all staff were helpful towards to you.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hostel is beautiful and has a very relaxed atmosphere. My first night was the worst ever because the dorm was located in a noisy area. Then I moved to another (more expensive) dorm and slept great.
Unfortunately the common areas are spread all over the place, so most of the dorms are next to a noisy area. I ended up spending more than I intended so I could move to a quieter dorm, which was a more expensive one. Most of the private rooms are also in a quieter area. Had I known how noisy it was before, I would have booked a different hostel.
The vending machine should seriously be moved to another location as people in the dorms next to it wake up if someone uses it at night.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lycaenini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the best nights sleep staying with us, unfortunately being in a dorm room that can sometimes be the case. We hope that should you stay with us again you would have a better nights rest.

With regards to the vending machine, we do apologies for the noise it caused, and you will be happy to know that it is being moved to an area that it won't bother guests.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards

Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Backpack is voted # 1 for a reason. The establishment is very clean, the staff are always kind and friendly, which made my stay feel great.
I highly would recommend this awesome place to anyone.
Hopefully get to see all of youse soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us.

Our staff always strive to be friendly and helpful to all our awesome guests.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I went holiday season and stayed alone in a dorm for a day. the place was so packed, so i wanted little bit quiet place... however how they decorate the rooms were awsome!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank erimusss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EleniCPT, Senior Duty Manager at The Backpack, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel.

We are delighted to hear that you love the way we decorate our rooms. We too, think that they are pretty funky!

Staying in a dorm, can be a bit of a gamble during the busy seasoning, as the dorms are normally really busy, but we do hope you enjoyed your overal stay with us.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Eleni Good
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#67 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#8 of 125 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backpack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backpack

Property: The Backpack
Address: 74 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as best value stay in the world 2014 by Lonely Planet and Best Hostel in Africa 2014 by Hostelworld customers. Making a difference is more than just an initiative of The Backpack, it is the way we are, the way we work and the way we live. South Africa's original award-winning backpacker hostel and travel agency is simply the best place to make your travel arrangements, with all the facilities you can expect from a hip, urban hostel, such as stylishly decorated Afro-chic rooms offering superior comfort and quality, with shared or en-suite bathrooms, private electronic safes and in-house ATM. Stay in touch in our internet cafe or use WiFi throughout the hostel; swim in the pool with a stunning view of Table Mountain, or meet like-minded international travellers in our buzzing Cafe or Bar. We offer a variety of rooms, ranging from 8- and 4-bed dorms, to singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. We have recently built a loft apartment with amazing views of Table Mountain featuring its own kitchen. The hostel has communal kitchen and dining facilities; lots of sociable and chill-out spots to relax in. A night on the town in Long Street, gorgeous Clifton and Camps Bay beaches, Table Mountain, V&A Waterfront and the city centre is just a stone's throw away. Awards: Awarded Best Hostel in South Africa 2014, 2013, 2010, 2009 & 2008, Awarded Best Hostel in Africa 2014, Lonely Planet Top 10 Best Value Stays 2014. Independent winner for Best Practice Economic Impact - Imvelo Awards 2011, Independent winner for Best Single Resource Management Program in Waste Management - Imvelo Awards 2011, "One of the world's 10 coolest hostels" Guardian UK - 2010, Winner of 2011 AA Quality Assured Accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Backpack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Backpack Hotel Cape Town Central
The Backpack Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing