We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel Cape Town Cape Castle(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Village Lodge(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
African Elite de Waterkant(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rockwell All Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
De Waterkant Village(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mountain Marina(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterfront Village(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
206
320
111
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
320
111
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgate tourloft roomsspar supermarketwithin walking distancebreakfast buffetmodern hotelwater frontminute walkgood sizestaff at receptionper dayfree internetwaterfront areathe hotel offersconvenient locationstayed here for nightsafter dark
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
532 - 537 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very comfortable rooms although can be a little noisy if you are on a low floor. Excellent buffet breakfast and friendly service. Pool area is not very exciting but at least there is one and a gym. Very comfortable beds and a hope skip and a jump from lots of Cape Town fun.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richb0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just a 10min walk to V&A waterfront ,hotel has a shuttle to waterfront if required ,staff were all very helpful offering great tips & advice nothing was to much trouble ,rooms were very clean though air conditioning was a little noisy ! Breakfast was superb with a fantastic selection , will stay here again on our future trips to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Alison B,
Thank you so much for taking time to review the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction here on Tripadvisor - we really appreciate your feedback! Thank you for complimenting our breakfast and our STAFF as well as our rooms! Sorry that you found our aircons noisy - we will have this seen to immediately.
Thank you again! We hope to see you back with us real soon!
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

It is great to hear the words "Welcome back sir" even before you have checked in, this was a the guest parking, as we arrived. This hotel is undoubtedly one of my favourite hotels in Cape Town; value for money indeed and its location also gives it that edge over other hotels. It is modern yet homely and it is always great to see familiar faces when we return there. Check in was a breeze, the room was clean and well equipped with everything one needs and was serviced daily by friendly housekeeping staff. Check out was, well, sad, because who wants to go home, right ? Just one negative for me is the lack of more closest space, especially if you want to stay for longer. For the business traveller I guess it will be good enough. As a Packard member there are also certain perks you can enjoy and I would encourage anyone who is not a Protea Hotels Prokard member yet to make a plan and become a member.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the waterfront and hotel pool are generally quieter the ones on Somerset Street because of traffic and night life that can go on until the early ours of the morning.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Thank you once again for a fabulous stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction. Superb location for business and vacation ! Beautiful decor. Lovely comfortable rooms and of course a buffet breakfast to die for. Traditional South African dishes for dinner makes it unnecessary to go out for dinner. The hotel staff are always friendly and ready to assist. Even prepared a take-a-way breakfast at four in the morning for us before we left for the Two Oceans Marathon. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pieterhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I recently stayed in the Victoria Junction for one night on a business trip. The hotel is centrally located, close to the V&A Waterfront and central business district. The personnel at the reception were very friendly and allocated a quiet room to me upon request. The room was newly refurbished, modern and very clean with an excellent shower. The breakfast was of a good standard (included in the rate). The rate was reasonable compared to similar available hotels and ecellent value for money. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the courtyard side which may not be as noisy as the street side.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear JCE123,

Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to review the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction here on tripadvisor! We truly value all the feedback we receive about the Hotel! Thank you for your positive comments about our breakfast and about finding our Hotel great value for money! We loved having you with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincere regards,
PIETER BUITENDAG
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews