We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms and friendly staff but no frills hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms and friendly staff but no frills hotel”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I booked this hotel lastminute and i have to say it was fine for what I needed. I only needed a hotel as a base and not for it's amenities, however it's worth noting this hotel is used a lot for business purposes.
The rooms are really comfortable, large comfortable beds with TV and good bathroom. Tea and coffee facilities and the towels were changed daily. There was nothing to fault in the rooms.
The restaurant is quite pricey and nothing special, i would definitely eat out as there are so many amazing restaurants close by. If you walk round the corner to the right there is a lovely little cafe, I have the chicken and coriander sandwich and it was delicious!
Cape Town has so much going on you don't really need to spend much time here so It's great as a base. There is a pool. albeit small, but it's fine for just a lazy day or 2.
I would go back to this hotel no problems but don't go here if you like a hotel packed with life and character.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 438 which had a view to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolewheeler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear nicolewheeler25,
GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your stay with us, and to assure you that your comments are being used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service standards and facilities.
Thank you for choosing to stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may require in future.
Kind regards
Charl & VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    288
    99
    23
    14
See reviews for
53
262
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a comfortable hotel in a good location within walking distance of the Cape Town Waterfront. The rooms are well kitted-out, but could do with the inclusion of a fridge. The rooms have a business-desk which would suit business travellers. Highly recommended for a short stay, business or pleasure .......

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side can be noisy ...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mightymouse076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Mightymouse076,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out some of our very unique selling points, specifically our location in relation to the V&A Waterfront.

We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to be welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again soon.

Kind regards,
Charl & VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as single traveller in an escorted group. This is a comfortable and efficient hotel, somewhat warehouse-like décor, but room and bathroom large and well equipped. Enormous comfortable bed, good cupboard space, large TV, also a desk which could be useful for a business person. Food very good and I had room service bring me supper which was excellent. I also had conventional fish and chips in the restaurant on another occasion, which also very good. The hotel is within walking distance of the amazing, modern V&A waterfront area but the group as whole were advised by our guide not to walk anywhere alone, which made me feel somewhat paranoid, however the hotel were good at providing me with a guard to escort me a few blocks away to an ATM, which was very reassuring. I had lived in Cape Town as a child some 60 odd years earlier and therefore the hotel was very helpful in getting me a safe taxi at a good price to drive me to find my old home in Rondebosch in safety, which I did manage to do!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele_G186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Michele_G186370,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.

We review all GUEST feedback as it is vital tool for us use to improve the areas where we are falling short and to ensure we are meeting our GUESTS every expectation. We are always happy to receive such positive feedback and cannot express how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our GUESTS are able to take advantage of our location with regards to our proximity from the V&A Waterfront, restaurants & bars and the many local attractions. We have also passed on your commendations to the in-house security TEAM you mentioned in your review.

We once again thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Charl and the VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Location wise it looked perfect on the map, close to V&A waterfront it then when we got there it soon became clear we wouldn't be walking anywhere..

We just didn't feel safe either at day or night, even just walking to a fantatic restaurant behind the hotel we were accosted. This made us uncomfortable during the day on the one occasion we tried to have a walkabout. Perhaps our paranoia had Ben heightened by our over cautious rep.

That said taxis were plentiful & easily picked up outside the hotel and not too expensive to get to V&A. I guess we were just disappointed as we normally walk everywhere and felt a little trapped.

None of this of course is the hotels fault and overall the hotel was fine.

Breakfast was on the basic side but ample (except for the Monday morning when it was chaotic due to the hotel being fuller, they just couldn't cope with the number of guests). I am still waiting for the manager to return with the coffee cup I requested & he went to fetch...it's only been a month !!

Pool was nice but in shade after lunch & randomly located across the car park. Pool towels were provided but check they are there first, otherwise you'll be back across that car park wet...

The other problem with the pool location is all the staff standing in, yes you guessed, the car park, having their smoking fix. Not the best advert.

Bar had enough choice & was surprisingly cheap for a hotel. Rooms were clean & our faulty shower and safe were fixed after a couple of requests to maintenance.

Most importantly the bed was comfy & the room clean.

Overall, provided you can get a good rate go for it as it's perfectly 'fine'. Don't however break the bank to stay here as it's location is average (on a main road) & you'll need to pay for taxis everywhere.

Room Tip: High floors are best, quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst in Cape Town for a family wedding. Excellent and friendly staff with a spotless and well appointed room.Very good location - easy walk to Waterfront and Cape Quarter. Quick drive to Clifton and Newlands.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauPaSat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear LauPaSat,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their friendly and efficient service you mentioned, and would like to thank you for emphasising our location in relation to the V&A Waterfront as well as Cape Quarter.
Your feedback has been passed on to our TEAM to ensure that we are always aiming to meet and exceed our GUEST’s expectations whilst staying in the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.
We hope to be welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Charl & VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel seems to be more catered to the short term business traveler as opposed to a family holiday location. The room was clean and modern, but the daily free internet was capped so you were forced to buy a wifi package at R100 for five days.

The front desk staff were inattentive to our needs and always appeared to be overwhelmed and stressed. I felt like they wanted to have nothing to do with me. The hotel lacked a concierge so no advice was given on safe taxis to use.

On a plus side the breakfast was great and so was the staff. In all I would not stay at this hotel and not recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realdees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Realdees,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront. We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience is viewed in a serious light.
Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings.
GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us.
We hope to be welcoming you back to the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront again, we should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best.
Yours sincerely,
Charl & VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We started our So. Africa tour with 4 nights here and found everything first rate. Our daily buffet breakfast was also excellent. We were able to walk to the waterfront in less than 10 minutes. A very good location and a comfortable room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camelgirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vj_general_manager, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Camelgirl43,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in the Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront.
We are always pleased to receive such positive feedback from our GUESTS. We will certainly pass on your commendations to our restaurant and breakfast STAFF that you mentioned in your review.
We would once again, like to thank you for your feedback, and hope to be welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Charl & VJ TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marr...
#80 of 109 in Cape Town Central
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#66 of 109 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Cape Castle
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#85 of 109 in Cape Town Central
200 reviews
1.1 mi away
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel
#39 of 109 in Cape Town Central
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction
Address: corner Somerset Road and Ebenezer Road, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Victoria Junction Waterfront)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#50 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the urban landscape of Greenpoint, one of Cape Town's trendiest suburbs, The Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction's location offers easy access to major Cape Town tourist attractions as well as the CBD, the Cape Town International Convention Centre and the V&A Waterfront for GUESTS staying on business. Our in house, Connexxion Restaurant is the perfect option for guests on the go. The breakfast buffet remains of international standard with a huge variety of items to choose from and for your convenience - breakfast hours over weekends are extended so you can sleep in! The Hotel provides a new contemporary urban lifestyle where you can live, work and play within a 5 kilometre radius. Walk to the Cape Quarter Lifestyle Centre and the Greenpoint Park or cycle on the new pedestrian and cycle ways. Catch a MyCity bus or the red Cape Town Tourism bus to visit Clifton, Camps Bay beach or as far as Simon's Town and Constantia! All the bedrooms feature sleek, modern design that offer environmentally friendly lighting, water-saving rain showers and energy efficient entertainment options like the Bravia LCD screens and iPod docking stations. International adapter installations also improve services to our International GUESTS. Protea Hotel Victoria Junction - a contemporary urban lifestyle! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Protea Hotel Victoria Junction
Victoria Junction
Protea Hotel By Marriott Cape Town Victoria Junction South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing