We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

great location for those who need to work in town
spacious room, spacious bathrooom
luxurious feel throughout
amazing 360 view on the lounge on the top floor (where breakfast is also served) on one side the whole town and table mountain, on the other, the harbour and the atlantic ocean
decent spa, too

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricci1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Dear ricci1999

thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    666
    157
    51
    44
See reviews for
222
707
138
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
594 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a week during our holiday in Africa -- the staff and location made this place the best place to stay in Cape Town. We were upgraded to the Exexutive Club (drinks, breakfast) due to our Starwood Level -- which included cocktails from 5pm to 7pm every evening. Our room was very nice and the service provided kept our room clean, and the turn down service made sure we had new towels. There were some previous reviews which had us concerened about the quality of our stay -- I can say that we experienced none of the issues that we read about.

In the Executive Club I have to say that Jameel and Melanie went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of -- we had Outstanding service. The breakfast offered (included in room rate) was super and the quality of menu items were fantastic.....would we stay here again Yes! Why:

Location -- shuttle provided by hotel takes you to the waterfront where there are many restaurants and shops.

Service -- as I said, the service in the Executive Lounge was super....and a wonderful view of the city!

Close to Things -- If you are going to shop, do so in the Green Market Square, where you can bargain and get things much cheaper....only a 5/7 minute walk from the hotel. Also you can get to a grocery store in the same time and pick up wine and snacks.

People: Jameel and Melanie and the rest of the hotel staff go out of their way to provide you the service that you'd expect from a 5-Star hotel. We were never disappointed.

Tip: Table Mountain (via the City Tour Red Bus -- best price for travel); Camps Bay (for Sunset) and the Cape Point Tour (via Discovery Tours -- thanks Tanya) are a must when visiting Cape Town. Go to Ferryman's on the waterfront for a local experience and some great local beer and food.

We will most certainly use the Westin when we come back -- it is a large hotel attached to the Convention Center so there are large groups staying here. We stayed suring the annual Jazz festival but never felt that it was crowded. Ther are many boutique hotels around if that is your style......but we liked the Westin for location, hospitality and comfort. The pool, jacuzzi and weight room on the 19th floor gave a spectacular view of the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Dear Fox Traveler

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that Jameel and Melanie exceeded your expectaions in the WEC on our 19th floor.
They work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Stayed here for five nights in Feb 2011 and really enjoyed it. Hotel offers a free shuttle to/from the V&A Waterfront (very touristy, but nice), and is only about a 10 min walk if you'd like to take your time, check out local stuff, or stay out late. Wonderful breakfast is offered in the lobby, ours was complimentary, not sure if it depends on your room rate? Although most western currencies go a long way in SA hotels ARE NOT CHEAP. However, considering the location I think the Westin is a very good value. Only minor complaint, no surprise coming from an American, is that 2-bed rooms only come with 2 single beds. Is that really the standard now in Europe and Asia?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nbmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Dear nbmiami

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Your comment with regards to the bed tyope has been noted, however we do offer kingsize beds and double beds as well depending on the room allocation.

I look forward to welcome you to the Westin in the near future.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

I arrived late morning for a 3 night leisure stay and thoroughly enjoyed my time here. My room was ready and I had been upgraded due to my SPG status to a very comfortable room with a Table Mountain view.
I especially appreciated the use of the Executive Lounge where a lovely breakfast was served as well as a "happy hour" of great South African wine and top-notch appetizers. The Executive Lounge staff really deserves praise for their professional and welcoming manner.
As a leisure traveller, I found the location good. The Hoho bus stopped nearby, the shuttle to the waterfront was handy and Greenmarket was a 10 minute walk away.
The only disappointment I had was with housekeeping. I asked for a shower cap, since both boxes labeled for them were empty, but they just retrieved the 2 empty boxes from the trash and put them back on the vanity empty! There were a few other goofs like that--an out-of-date T.V. guide, etc.Not a big deal, but housekeeping seems to be the weak link here.
Still, kudos to the folks working in the Executive Lounge. They rose above the level of service I've found in most comparable hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Dear scory

We were delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

it was nice that our staff in the Westin Executive Club exceeded your expecations.

I reviewed your comments with regards to your issues with House Keeping and apologize for the service deficiency. I have passed these on to our Executive House Keeper for action and follow up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

i look forward to welcome you back to Cape Town in the near future.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

I stay at business hotels at least 1 or 2 nights a week and can honestly say that this is the worst 5 Star hotel I have ever stayed at. Management needs to understand that it is attention to detail that sets a 5* hotel apart. This hotel is an embarrassment and can only be a reflection of poor management.

Where to start?:
1) The internet is a joke. It is so slow (slower than dial up) and is completely unusable.
2) Housekeeping is terrible. On Sunday, I left my room at 9.30 am and placed the "please service the room" tag on the door. On my return at 4.30pm, the beds had been stripped and left. A maid arrived at about 5pm to make the beds. The way the beds are made is a disgrace (see pictures). The sheets and duvet are literally thrown over the bed and left. The Westin places a plastic under sheet on the mattress. I understand that they are doing it to extend the life of their mattresses BUT just try sleeping on plastic and see how hot you get at night,
3) The room was dirty - brown splatter marks on the ceiling and curtain. The curtain was hanging off its rail when we arrived and left. The duvet on the bed was exposed and yellowed with sweat stains.
4) Furniture is dated and looks like it was bought at IKEA. In fact, I stayed at this hotel when it first opened - perhaps 10 years ago. Nothing in the rooms has been changed since then.

Do yourself a favor and stay at the 4* Cullinan across the road. I stayed there for 3 weeks in December and it knocks the socks off the Westin in every way.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LACityFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Dear LACityFlier

Thank you fro taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologize for the service defieciencies you experienced. Due to high occupancy levels during your time of stay, we experienced technical problesm with our internet service provider. Unfrotunately this service is received from a third party and our of our control, although our IT staff where trying to internally recitfy the situation, I do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Due to an oversight in House Keeping your room was serviced later in the afternoon, I am truly sorry about this and have passed your comments with regards to your House Keeping experience on to the Department head for action.

Our Hotel rooms are laid out as per our Brand standard Westin and as dictated by our parent company Starwood.

it remains for me to wish you well and urge you to look to this hotel whose every intention is honourable and whose eevry wish is to correct a most dissapointing wrong.

with renewed apologies and best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

i have never submitted a review for any hotel - and i travel a LOT...Frustration would probably some up our stay at the The Westin in a nutshell. We decided to book into this hotel as we were in Cape Town for business. To begin with, the internet situation is bordering on ridiculous - for a business hotel...It got progressively worse over the course of our stay. Couldn't even load something as simple as the British Airways website, not even to mention sending e-mails with attachments.. After complaining to the Hotel Staff on numerous occasions, their retort was that the hotel was filled to capacity - unfortunately not good enough... The ever mysterious IT manager was never on site and endless promises of "we are working on it" led nowhere. In short, the staff, with the exception of a few could not handle with the most basic requests... and as for the endkess vouchers you need to change your password on a daily basis ......should i continue?? No. Too tedious.

On the positive side: Great beds / good Breakfast / Spa / Gym / individual staff members who shined, although, asking you after the 8th time whether you liked your meal, was getting a little tedious. But the the frustration of not being able to do our work, was the reason that forced us to move to a different hotel...smaller, with super fast internet... to each his own...

if you want bland or average then you'll feel right at home.. 5 stars?? no

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank shyicarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Dear shyicarus

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on this website.

We have received several reports with regards to slow internet speed, etc and are working on this. Unfortunately our internet service is received from a third party and subsequently any technical disruption is out of our control. I can assure you though, that we are aware of the sitatuation adn our IT Department are trying to accommodate our guests and eliminate the current internet probelm.

Thank you for your positive review on the hotel services.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back to the Westin when next you travel to Cape Town.

with best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We usually opt to stay at non-chain hotels while on vacation, but since we had hotel points to burn, we decided to give the Westin a try. The hotel was clean and the service was very good. We were upgraded to a corner suite with view of Table Mountain. The concierge services was very good. This is a business hotel (it is connected to the Convention Center), and the travel desk and concierge staff didn't have knowledge of some more leisure items --we needed help booking a Bike and Wine tour in Stellenbosch, but the hotel staff had no idea about this. They said they would do research, but 4 hours later they hadn't made any progress (even though we gave them the phone number and the website). We opted to coordinate our selves.

I would steer clear of the Europcar desk in this hotel -- while we got our car eventually, we had to speak with 3 different people on 3 different occasions. After we booked the reservation (each time), they never finalized it, and when we went back to confirm there was no record of our reservation. There are many other car rental agencies around the area - I would suggest using them.

The location is close to some great restaurants and the complimentary shuttle to the V&A Waterfront is a very nice treat.

We probably would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXN60613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 11 April 2011
Dear TXN60613

Thank you fro the positive review of the Westin Cape Town.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time with us, however I did make a note of your comments with regards to our Inhouse Eruopcar agent and have passed these on to their headoffice for action.

I look forward to welcome you back to Cape Town in the near future.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing