We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“very good hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here for 2nights.The room was extremely comfortable with great views as we were on the 14th floor, high quality bedding and bath facilities especially the shower. The breakfast on both days were very fulfilling with a lavish spread and again good quality, so starting both days well. The frequent shuttle services to the Waterfront area was big plus for us to commute around and the person at concierge desk was very informative as well.
However on the downside the connectivity wasn't very good 1)internet was very very slow and i couldn't complete checking my mails. 2) There were very few T.V channels on run 3) at least newspapers could have been provided to the rooms every morn.
Otherwise the stay was excellent in this very good hotel and we had a good time in cape town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanguchakra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear sanguchakra

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your cooments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us and am please to advise that we have in the interim upgraded our Wi-Fi connectivity by changing our service provider. We are now able to offer a faster connectivity.
We also wish to advise that newspapers are available on request.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back to the Westin Cape Town when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin.
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    685
    161
    54
    44
See reviews for
234
717
140
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is one of the best value, upmarket hotels around - excellent service, terrific staff, great food and a perfect location with views to Table Mountain and the Wharf. A free shuttle takes guests back and forth the short distance from the Wharf and its shopping and restaurants. It is a large hotel with a small hotel's ambience and warmth. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Helen P

We were delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Westin Cape Town when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin.
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

There is nothing bad to say about the Westin Cape Town... Food was good. Room was spacious and modern. I'd recommend this to visitors, especially if you are SPG.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear ahc11

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin.
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Excellent hotel will not disappoint. Extremely well run with attentive and professional staff. Location is very good with 10 min walking distance to central business area or the Waterfront. Shuttle to waterfront free every 30 minutes is a big plus. Gym, valet parking, restaurant - everything works very well and at a very high standard consistent with 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear iqq

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Our staff work exceptionaly hard to exceed our guest's expectations.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback.

We look forward to welcome you to Cape Town when next you travel to South Africa.

Be well, be Westin.
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, Uk
Level Contributor
268 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I travel extensively in the course if my work, and probably stay in around 100 different hotels a year, all over the world. I really think this is one of the best hotels I have EVER stayed in. If there is one thing I would fault, it is the wireless internet performance, which is pretty poor for such a facility. But everything else was just about perfect - outstanding service, nice restaurants and bars, free shuttle service to V&A waterfront, comfortable rooms etc etc. The executive lounge on the 19th floor is great if your room status gives you access - nice a la carte breakfast and a happy hour at 5PM each day. But the restaurant downstairs is fine too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear pandalf

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I am happy to advise, since your last visit we have upgraded our Wi-Fi service and are now able to offer a much faster connection then previously, this service is contracted from a third suppier and we are bound to their service to us.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you to the Westin Cape Town when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin.
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My Husband and I are avid Starwood fans - so our experiences with this hotel brand are many. However, I would award topmost marks to the Westin in Capetown. The rooms are par excellent, the comfort amazing. The breakfast on the top floor is a memorable experience. Apart from the usual buffet , an individual special menu is also provided - offering a fantastic choice of 6 specially prepared breakfasts like Egg benedictine, Pancakes, , Crepes, English Breakfast etc. -the presentation and decor of each dish is impressive. The wonderful personalised service continues the whole day with free coffee and tea accompanied by the most delicious homemade cookies. When in Capetown dont miss staying in this great hotel. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rini47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear rini47

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to welcome you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin.
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed here with a friend in a twin room in August 2011 using cash and points and was very impressed with the high quality of the room and bathroom. Room was very spacious, well kitted out and our particular room on the 15th floor offered excellent views of Cape Town and the ocean.

Housekeeping and general level of service was excellent, as expected from a Starwood hotel.

Location is great - at the bottom of Long Street and not far from the V&A Waterfront. The hotel offers a complementary shuttle service to the V&A every 30 minutes or so.

Free wifi which was very handy, although you are given a voucher code at check-in which you need to repeatedly log into in order to use the wifi. Speed was adequate.

Only point to note is that the tours offered by the hotel's partners are quite pricey so if you are planning any tourist activities, try doing your own research in advance to find something suitable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pony_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Pony_19

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Thank you for the positive review of our associates, they work exceptionaly hard to exceed our guest's expectations.

We noted your remarks on our In-house Travel Desk, however their prices are in line with 5* Hotels in the city.

Thank you so much for styaing with us and we look forward to having you with us when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin.
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing