We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I have just stayed 10 nights in this modern hotel and had an excellent experience.
I have stayed in some of the best hotels worldwide over the years and this hotel is one of them.
This must be one of the finest hotels in Cape Town and I would certainly return if back in Cape Town again.
The breakfast was world class with an amazing selection.The Executive room was very comfortable, spotless and spacious.The bathroom was clean and luxurious.The location of the hotel was very central and only a 10-15 min.walk to the V & A Waterfront,however a complimentary shuttle coach operated every half hour if one decided not to walk.
The staff were extremely helpful and efficient and every request was carried out with a smile.
Nothing was too much trouble.
I would finally like to make a special mention and thanks for the kindness and exceptional service and attention my wife and I received from Natalie Jordaan at Reception.She made our stay most memorable and would return to the Westin for this alone.She is a credit to this hotel.
Thank you Natalie for helping to make this wonderful vacation

Room Tip: Request a Waterfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austin_Edith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Austin_Edith

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that Natalie exceeded your expectations and I am sure to pass on your positive comments to her Manager. many thanks for this.

We look forward to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    697
    165
    55
    45
See reviews for
240
725
142
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The Westin Cape Town is a super hotel. My room was lovely and had great views. The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. Service was fantastic, especially the folks in Guest Services who not only took care of my needs, but checked in with me several times to make sure all was well. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a large variety of choices. The spa is excellent and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear dolphoto

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

it was nice to hear that our Guest Services exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make our guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Near the waterfront. Free shuttle to the water front every half hour or a cheap taxi. Rooms are excellent and the service was fantastic. I have already returned once and will do so again. The one issue I had is that the wifi doesn't seem to do well with rooms that are at the ends of the halls.

Room Tip: Call the front desk for an ethernet cable if you are in a room on the end of a hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear worldie07

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Thank you for your comments posted regarding the slow WI-FI connection, we are please to inform you that we have recently upgraded this service to allow for a better Internet experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We had a conference at the Wetin for over 200 people. This hotel has great potential but was sadly let down by its staff on things that could easily be fixed. There is just no excuse for a buffet lunch with no serving spoons or a cup af tea that takes 35 min to arrive after lunch. The room keys were a nightmare - often not working in either the floor door or the room door.

Room Tip: People had problems with aircon and hot water on the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear CathrynSouthAfrica

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

I do apologize for the service deficiencies you experienced when conferecing with us. Your comments have been passed on to the the Director of Food & Beverage for follow up and action.

Once again many thanks for taking the time and posting your issues.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

ALthough this hotel is mainly used for business my wife and I stayed here on holiday. The atmosphere, rooms, breakfast is world class!

The spa facilities are awesome especially the water beds! I would def reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHD85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear MHD85

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay.

sincerely,
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed here for two nights and thought the hotel was great. Quiet, spacious, comfortable and modern rooms with very comfortable beds. Really nice bathrooms with double sinks, seperate bath, shower and water closet, plus heated tile floors...loved that touch!! It is a good 15 minute walk to the water front, but with the complementary shuttle, the location was no issue.
The food and service were good and pretty much what you would expect from a Westin.
The only down side was the very, very slow wireless internet. If they would upgrade their wireless, the place would be perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlgtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear migtexas

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Westin Cape Town. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are happy to let you know that we have in the interim changed our service provider to receive a much faster and better Wi-Fi connection.

We look forward to welcome you to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin.

Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Westin is a new age fancy hotel at very affordable prices. Rooms are very well decorated with comfortable beds and fancy bath fittings. The Hotel is a few minutes away from the waterfront but there is a shuttle service running to and fro and the views of the Table MOuntain from the room more than make up for that. Breakfast was lavish and the staff were very courteous and helpful. Would certainly consider staying again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLobetrotterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear GLobetrotterMumbai

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your reviews.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin.

Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,660 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,730 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing