We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel in the heart of Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First class hotel in the heart of Cape Town”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed here for a business trip in October 2011 and can't talk highly enough of this hotel's quality of the level of service I received from the staff. One word of warning I would give is to make sure the vendor that manages the travel desk there clearly understands your requirements - I had a couple of instances where communication went astray and I ended up with booking confusion. There is also an excellent restaurant on the 19th floor with fabulous food and magnificent panorama views over the whole of the city.

Room Tip: Do your best to get onto the SPG level rooms, they're much bigger and get you access to the 19th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torqemada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear torqemada

Thank you very much for your positive review of the Westin Cape Town.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we are able to welcome you back to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin.

Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    700
    166
    56
    45
See reviews for
242
727
142
801
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Westin hotel in October for 13 nights very recently. The Westin is a lovely hotel, the rooms are well thought out and spacious enough to accommodate you. The staff for the most are very pleasant and willing to assist. I required some of my medication to be refrigerated and the Westin installed a small bar fridge for my medication - I am very thankful for this. We had a magnificent view of the V&A Waterfront from our room. The location is spot on given that you are a walk into town away and a 20 minute walk away from the V&A waterfront. There is a shuttle to the V&A Waterfront every half an hour and a return every half hour. We used this service every day - it is an invaluable service. The drivers are fantastic. Big hello to Peter!

The food at the Westin is delicious. The breakfast has a huge variety of everything, You will never go hungry! The juice station was amazing. I loved trying out all the different juices including the spinach and papaya - give it a go - its delicious!

We had very good WIFI reception the entire time we were there which was invaluable to us as we needed to communicate with home.

The spa centre was lovely and the massages were very good. The gym was more than adequate and I managed to get up there for a few mornings to do a workout.

I wouldnt say there were many things to fault at the Westin but I would definitely say that some services do need tweeking considering it is a five star hotel. They are as follows:

Inconsistant with the complimentary water for the room - sometimes we only got 1 bottle (there were 2 of us!!).
Inconsistant with the bath sheets/towels for the room - sometimes we only got 1 big towel and the rest were normal sized! Also there were a couple of days where they forgot to give us bath mats and hand towels!
They should make sure that there is enough soap in the rooms before checking in - we only had 1 bar of soap for the first 2 days - we ended up buying a bar from the supermarket! Funnily enough after we bought the soap, the next morning our bathroom had the soap stocked up!
Very inconsistant with stocking up the complimentary tea/coffee/sugar. When we first arrived it didnt get stocked up for 2 days until I made a call. Having already alerted them to this you would think from thereonin they would make sure it was stocked up every day - not so I am afraid.
Breakfast - the waitstaff forgot to order our toast on 4 occasions - not a big deal but for a 5 star hotel, not the best!
Breakfast - we would be asked if we wanted coffee or tea when we were seated - they forgot to follow through with our order twice - again, not a big deal, but again not expected for a 5 star hotel.

If some of these things were addressed, then it would make for a better 5 star hotel. Having stayed in previous 5 star hotels, I found that the Westin needed a little tweaking in its 5 star category!

All in all though a beautiful hotel with lovely staff.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor, for magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyhols-Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Dear Happyhols-Perth

Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your review here on Tripadvisor.

I twas a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, however I also read your comments with regards to your negative experience. We apologize for these inconsistencies.
You are right, not what one would expect from a 5 Star Hotel, I have noted your review and passed it on to the relevant Department Heads for action and follow up.

Many thanks once a gain for taking the time and we do hope to welcome you at the Westin Cape Town when next you travel to Cape Town, to prove to you that these are not the high standards we set ourselves out to achieve.

Be well, be Westin.

Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBAI
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Ok the Hotel is nice as the rooms are there now concerning the service this hotel has reached the level of the sheraton in Abuja (I think it is even better in Sheraton in Abuja).
Being a Platunum SPG memeber I got upgraded to a nice suite, it was my second stay in the hotel. Being at the excecutive level I was granted acces to the Exec lounge for breakfast and drinks between 17 and 19.
My advise: Fire the Chef all of them as the food is really not good!
1/ Two tentative to take breakfast in the exec lounge no luck as after 45 minutes I was still waiting for my eggs so I left before they hypoteticly arrived as I needed to go to work (yes I know it is a unclear concept for you guys at the Westin)
2/ Entring in my room eventhough the DND sighn is on the door
3/ Not returning the laundry in time
4/Not cleaning the room (Came back at 4 PM and nothing was done)
5/ Closing down the only restaurant in the hotel because they have a private function so please go somewhere else!!seriously ! they propose you to go have lunch at the exec lounge who is trying to be a restaurant good luck if you decide to try this...
6/ room service takes for ever to come when it is there it is already cold and half of the order is missing so you have to wait another 20 minutes...and let's face it it is really not good they are not even capable of fixing a decent club sandwich...
7/underwear of the previous customer still in the closet
8/After asking 2 times to the guest service to have an hotel car for airport transfer and make it confirmed two time the car came 20 minutes late....

Too bad last year it was kind of ok but now never again! of course everybody is sorry but no one is fixing your problem...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRENCHBIZTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear FRENCHBIZTRAVELER

Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Westin was not pleasant. If you would like to discuss your experience with a memeber of the hotel staff, please send an email to angelika.hammel@westin.com so we may address your concerns with you directly.

Sincerely
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My friend and I stayed here for 3 days after 2 days at the Holiday Inn City Center (she and I were splitting the points). This was our first visit to Cape Town, so we were planning to do a lot of sightseeing. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, and for one reason: its accessiblity. Yes, the hotel itself is very nice and everything you would expect of a Westin - clean, modern, tastefully decorated room; comfortable beds, sheets, pillows; heated floor tiles in the bathroom; bathtub and separate shower in its own little "room"; attention to detail, awesome view, etc. The staff is helfpul (though I would not say personable). But we found out while at the Holiday Inn that pretty much everything in the city center shuts down around 6 pm, but The V&A Waterfront stays open later (shops till 9 pm and restaurants till 11pm). The Westin is about 10 minutes from the Waterfront and has a free shuttle that runs there and back from about 9 am to about 11:30pm. The Westin is across from/connected to the Convention Center, which has a little cafe, a small tourist desk and an ATM. The Convention Center is also one of the stops for the hop on/hop off city sightseeing bus route. Although the Holiday Inn is more centrally located, I think this hotel was much more convenient overall.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear merrytina

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments and we hope to see you again very soon when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

with best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed for the third time in the Westin Cape Town - for the first time since the affiliation with Arabella ended. Obviously, this didn't do any damage as fare as location is concerned. However, I certainly had the impression it was less perfect, than before. Whether this is related to the departure of Arabella, I don't know. But the hotel now shows very clear signs of wear and tear, both in the room, public areas and the exec lounge. It was also less clean, there was a curry odour in the entire hotel. Also the lounge no longer has a real cocktail session. Eligible customers can still go there, receive a glass of wine or a softdring on request and three mini-nibbles. You can also ask for a refill of the drinks, but not for the nibbles. They are actually trying to sell the lounge as a restaurant. An other - really minor - point was the chocolates/nougats from the evening turn-down service. I got one the first night, but not the second night. I asked the maid, why not, and she replied that she didn't get a sufficient number for all her rooms ... I got mine, but I think this is really strange and never happened to me before. Staff in general is still very attentive and friendly (including the poor maid - it was really embarrassing for her).
Bottom line: Still good, but far from excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiss_global_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear swiss_global_trip

Thank you fro your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the service deficiencies you expereinced.

As a Management team we take all comments seriously and share them with our team, so we may resolve any issues.

Again thank you for your comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Sincerely
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

As you would expect, the Westin Hotel in Cape Town is very good. It is true as Roxanne33 says, you could be anywhere in the world, but even if it does not feel African, it is still a good hotel. Friends were at the V&A Waterfront Table Bay Hotel. Very nice again. But the area was so new and resort-like, you REALLY didn't feel like you were in Africa. But back to the Westin...it was near downtown and Long Street, a varied and interesting area! One of the highly rated restaurants on Tripadvisor is Bizerca. It is in an odd location, but only a block or two away. Very good! The Westin bed was great. The bathroom was very nice with heated floors. The breakfast is worth it. It was hugely varied and some of the pastries were yummmmmy! My husband went crazy for the smoothy and juice bar. I wasn't impressed with their lunch, but it was OK. Nice view in the work out room and the pool upstairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear lizpani

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I have been staying in this hotel everytime I go to Cape Town for the past 3 years and everytime I feel a bit like coming home. Ricardo on the front desk is great, very welcoming and no request is too much.
The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is great. The shuttle bus gets you to the Waterfront if it's your first time in CPT or you can walk to restaurants and bars downtown like Keerom 95 or Fez.
Also very easy to get in and out of town if you have meetings in northern or eastern parts of the city.

Room Tip: If you are with SPG, try to get a room on the Executive floor, so you can have access to the lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Carsten W

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. it was nice to hear that Ricardo exceeded your expectations.

Our staff work very hard to make every guest feel special.

thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes
Friedrich Schaefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,664 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing