We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel In South Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 638 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel In South Africa”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I have read some reviews in here and everyone that is upset about this hotel or the staff needs to understand where you are. This is South Africa. Home of some of the laziest workers planet earth has to offer. With this said, even with a slow and seemingly uncaring staff, they really are some of the better workers in this country as I know this place very well. And this hotel is easily one of the finest in South Africa. It is 5 star in every way and most of the time the workers are good and caring, or at least as good as they know how. But most people staying in a hotel of this caliber expect a high degree of service. It simply isnt going to happen in South Africa the way it does elsewhere. It is a different world here.
But the hotel has a great lounge, a fantastic breakfast in the lounge or restaurant, a top notch pool and gym, views from every room in every direction, and all the luxuries of home and more. The hotel is located right near the famous Waterfront Mall and shopping area. Clearly one of the finest anywhere with every store one can imagine, and dining that is out of this world. The hotel has a free bus to and from the Mall every 30 minutes. You must see this shopping area. It is worth days of your time here.
Also Capetown has a Hop On, Hop Off Red Touring Bus like London and the other major cities. Takes about 2.5 hours to complete the route and stop #3 is right in front of the Westin Hotel and the cost is only $16. It is a stunning scenic route that you will not forget soon. One of the stops is Table Mountain where for $20 you can ride the tram to the top of the world. If you go to Capetown and don't ride this tram or go to the Waterfront Mall, you simply have not been to Capetown.
You just have to remember that you are in South Africa. Expect lower than standard service for everything and your trip will be as 5 star as this wonderful hotel. I would never stay anywhere else in Capetown and believe me, there are 100's of places to stay. None can compare to Westin.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Larry8241

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and provide such elaborate feedback on South African service levels, we appreciate your commitment to us at the Westin.

Our staff works exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel special.

Signature Heavenly® Programs

Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    685
    161
    54
    44
See reviews for
234
718
140
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I stayed for 5 days in November 2012. Great location. very comfortable room, bed and pillows. Heated tile floor in the bathroom was a nice touch. Shower had double headed outlet and great water pressure. Plenty of staff to support service. All friendly and keen to be of service. If you can get access to the Club Lounge on the 19th floor it has magnificent floor to ceiling windows looking out on the city. And in addition to continental breakfast they offer cooked eggs etc. to order.
The conference staff were very efficient in keeping meeting rooms free. And when a colleague needed a screw in her glasses tightened, the hotel sent a maintenance team member to our room within 2 minutes complete with a set of small screwdrivers to help. First class!

Room Tip: If you prefer a view over the city as opposed to the docks specify your preference. I liked the dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear JimS48

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we do hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

A Sensory Welcome

The sensory-rich environment at Westin offers a respite from the rigors of travel and sets a welcoming tone. Upon entering the lobby, guests begin to breathe more easily as they are greeted with soothing elements like relaxed lighting, natural botanical beauty and stimulating music. The signature White Tea by Westin fragrance lightly infuses all common spaces.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I have stayed at the Westin a couple of times, and it has been pleasant so far, until i decided to have Lunch with a friend, we went to the Thirty 7 restaurant before the lunch crowd, we were pretty visible, no one bothered to come offer any services, for over 10 Minutes, we went on and requested THREE different people to take our order and no one acted upon it, 30 Mins on a couple of caucasian friends joined, and suddenly we were visible, i had to leave my order as i was going to catch a flight. I would not want to point this to skin color difference, or age or even gender but i am very disappointed and was frustrated that this happened at what used to be my favorite hotel in Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shikoh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Shiko G

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments with regards to your stay at the Westin Cape Town.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your feedback . I do apologize for the way in which you felt treated when visiting one of our restaurants with your friends and assure you, that any neglect experienced in this instance would have been as a result of thoughtlessness rather than intent.

Your comments have been passed on to the Department Head in charge for action and follow up.

Once again we thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we do hope to welcome you back to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

The Westin Difference

The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us.


be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I stayed here on business in Nov and would highly recommend it. Its a well run and comfortable hotel, service is efficient and friendly and the room is great with everything you'll need for a comfortable and enjoying stay.
I would call it more a really good 4 star that a 5 star however it's reasonably priced as a 5 star anyhow so no real concerns!
The location is pretty convenient to explore the city, really it is a taxi ride to attractions like the V&A waterfront however a taxi there will cost circa 2-3EUR so again it's not a big deal!
I only ate there one night but the food and wine were good !
Overall certainly recommended for an enjoyable stay in Capetown!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcg1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear mcg1979

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed for 9 nights at the Westin Cape Town (Oct 31 to Nov 8, 2012). This hotel is adjacent to the Capetown International Convention Centre. It is nicely located about 10 minute walk to the Waterfront shops and restaurants. We upgraded to an Executive floor room which included an amazing breakfast as well as drinks and appetizers in the afternoon. The pool and sauna on the 19th floor offered an incredible view of the waterfront and was quite relaxing after a long day.

But better than anything else was the attentive and incredible service of the employees of the this hotel. They always answered our questions and superb attention little details such as water when I came back from running or remembering our names on the second day only. I would highly recommend this Westin hotel which has been one of the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfroment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear gfroment

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with as at the Westin Cape Town.

It was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. They work very hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The advantages of the hotel were: close proximity to the CT Convention Center, free shuttle bus to the Water Front every 30 minutes, conveniently arranged room and beautiful view from the executive floor.
The executive lounge offers continental breakfast and evening canapés. For breakfast, we ordered fried eggs with toasts for an extra payment of 30 ZAR per person. The fried eggs were lukewarm and the toasts were served 10 minutes after the eggs. In contrast, breakfast in the main restaurant offers a very wide selection of delicious food and great service. For executive floor guests it costs 30 ZAR per person. During evening hours the executive lounge offers 3 tiny canapés per person plus a glass of wine. With some luck, one may get a second glass. The atmosphere in the executive lounge is not pleasant and it is not worth the money. It serves also as a restaurant; the restaurant tables are located in the central part of the room, while the executive guests are squeezed in a corner. Otherwise I find the hotel very acceptable with generally less than average Westin service. The concierge is offering tours from the African Eagle brochure and airport transfers with a hotel car (490 ZAR) or hotel taxi (300 ZAR).

Room Tip: A high, but not executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear szynka

I was sorry to learn of your dissapointment with the meals offered in our Westin Execituve Club. Please be assured, we do value all guest comments and I have reviewed the isses raised with our Director of Food & Beverage.

Through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, it is truly appreciated.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Westin Cape Town when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The decor is lovely, the view was amazing, the location is excellent but unfortunately the attention to detail with regard to service in the room was poor. The shampoo and conditioner was never replenished in the shower we had to keep phoning down for that and sometimes it wasn't even delivered. The wifi connection in the room is absolutely useless. When complaining I was told its bad with iPads and they are working on it, had the same problem 2 years ago. A friend staying in the hotel received a complimentary bottle of water opened and half a bottle with the complimentary card on it. Service at breakfast on 19th floor has improved. As Platinum members we mainly use Starwood hotels and Cape Town needs to fine tune it's service in line with similar hotels around the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Yvette204

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I reviewed your comments regarding you stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the room amenities not being replenished. I do sincerely hope you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards.

I am also sorry to hear that you found our internet connection poor, we are in the process of upgrading our services to international standards and are hopeful to be able to offer our guests superior internet connection early in the new year.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin, when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing