We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westin Cape Town, the hotel to go!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Westin Cape Town, the hotel to go!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Our flight to Cape Town from Johannesburg was delayed few hours, informing the hotel about the delay they reorganize the pick up we had requested without any problem. Good vehicle and friendly driver gave us the welcome to Cape Town. Very friendly and helpful staff at the reception and in general a clear customer service oriented approach at all levels.
Rooms very well illuminated with a panoramic view of the V&A waterfront. Shuttle to the V&A is a big plus as there is not too much to see near the hotel, but in 10 minutes you are in the waterfront.
Breakfast with lot of variety in fruits, vegetables, fresh juices
We got very good support from the team in charge of the tours that make easy for us to organize all the things we wanted to do
Absolutely a place we will visit again in our next trip to CT

Room Tip: Great view of the V&A waterfront, ask for it and your morning will begin in the best possible wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbelardoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear AbelardoC

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed yours tay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    677
    159
    54
    43
See reviews for
229
711
139
767
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

My wife and I just returned to Kenya after a week in Cape Town, where we stayed at the Westin Hotel. Great location. The property is excellent! Love the decor, good gym, and picked up great ideas for a new bathroom as well. The staff was very helpful, especially the concierge desk and dining personnel, respectively. The Westin also provided complimentary shuttle service to the waterfront which was a great bonus.

Overall, our stay was a good one, but ended on a bad note. After we returned home on Tuesday, I realized the next morning that my external zip drive was missing. I had taken it to do some work, but decided it could wait so I left it in our carry-on suitcase the whole time as I didn't think anyone would be interested in it. Meanwhile, we had locked up our e-readers and computer in the safe. Needless to say, we were wrong and someone in housekeeping with sticky fingers walked out of our room with years of work and personal information. A very disappointing end to an otherwise great vacation.

A word to the wise, lock everything up that could be stolen and sold or trust no one even at a very nice hotel.

Other Notes:
The food at the Westin was good, but if you're looking for a great omelet or scrambled eggs, you may want to have breakfast elsewhere. However, the waterfront restaurants are a bit pricey so you may want to go to a cafe on Long Street. If you're at the waterfront, stay away from Boost Juice Co. in the food court as they will charge you for more expensive smoothies (i.e., size) if you're not careful and push you to purchase add-ons which you may not be interested in.

Kwei A.

Room Tip: Become an Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) member and stay on the SPG floor which appeared to have onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Kwei A

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I reviewed your comments with regards to the external zip drive that went missing, for our guests convenience a secure safe is provided in each room to lock and store valuables.
We do take all comments serious and we we thank you once again for taking the time to post yours.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

We hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

The Westin is a very nice chain hotel, nothing too unique, but familiar and comfortable. What really sets it apart is the service, where seemingly the entire staff bent over backwards to make my stay great. If you have SPG points this is a great use of them. The location is in a bit of a dead area of Cape Town, but is a short walk to downtown or the V&A Waterfront.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Matt L

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and thank you for choosing the Westin whilst in Cape Town.

We look forward to having you stay with us again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

A Sensory Welcome
The sensory-rich environment at Westin offers a respite from the rigors of travel and sets a welcoming tone. Upon entering the lobby, guests begin to breathe more easily as they are greeted with soothing elements like relaxed lighting, natural botanical beauty and stimulating music. The signature White Tea by Westin fragrance lightly infuses all common spaces

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Nice staff, good location and the free shuttle bus to the V and A is great. Breakfast is lovely with a great selection and the spa is also very nice (waterbeds after treatment were great!)

Would recommend this hotel for this great city

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slipshaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear slipshaney

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

The Westin Difference

The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Westin for 9 nights and we couldn't have asked for more in terms of the service we received from the staff. Starting with the driver that took care of our car, the receptionists and Executive Club concierges who always had very helpful suggestions, recommendations and who did everything to make our stay enjoyable, the spa staff that were very friendly and the cleaning staff that did a fantastic job without exception.
The hotel is super nice and new, which we loved. It offers amazing views over the City and waterfront. The free Shuttle that runs there every 30mins is the best, especially in the evenings when going for dinner and when you don't want to negotiate with random taxi drivers.
The spa is beautiful (where else can you watch the sunset over lion's head while sweating in the sauna after a day of hiking) and the massage treatments were very nice, too.
The beds are great and big and the room is quiet. You can sometimes hear the traffic, but only very lightly.
The breakfast offers very good variety and high quality food. We loved the fruit selection and the juices/smoothies. The service could be a bit slow in busy times, but not to complain about.
A few things that could be improved: we had to use codes to access wifi (which worked perfectly fine all the time). With ipads/ipods one has to renew the lease upon every log in or use a new code. This can be simplified and by the time we left we didn't have to use codes any more, so they seemed to be working on it. Also, sometimes there was just one person at the spa, which delayed the process of key/towel reception. Just a small thing though.
They do offer a late check out for 800 Rand until 6pm, which we found extremely helpful, so we'd highly recommend it if your flight goes late in the evening. The fee is rather high, but we felt it was worth it, especially as it is advisable to use the safe for your valuables at all times in Cape Town.
Overall we felt very safe, well cared for and received friendly, attentive service. Overall, the service level in South Africa is not as high as in other places, e.g. the Maldives, Thailand. One has to accept this. We found that when being friendly ourselves, offering a smile and a warm word, we would receive the same back and would always be treated very well. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: They do offer a late check out for 800 Rand until 6pm, which we found extremely helpful, so we'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fashionlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear fashionlover

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and do hope to welcome you again when next your travels to Cape Town.

Your comments with regards to the internet have been noted, we were however during December in the process of upgrading our internet services. During that time we did experience some down time. Thank you for your understanding.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Not really overlooking the waterfront as they claim - though some of the higher rooms have "views" of the harbour area. Convenient location plus half an hour shuttles to the waterfront. Great breakfast with plenty of variety. Service wasn't bad but it was the most indifferent across our travels through the country (Marian from concierge was exceptional). I suppose such big hotels will always lack a personal touch. Rooms are of a good size.

Room Tip: Ask for odd-numbered rooms - 1411 and further, 14th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magiccarpetride2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Magiccarpetride2

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed your time with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope tosee you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel for new year´s eve and my experience was fantastic. The front desk attends, the concierge, everyone makes everything to satisfy my needs. The breakfast is exceptional, with a sort of fruits and breads. The location is near the V and A waterfront. Room service is fine. I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W_SSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear wilson_salles

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and hope to see you again when next your travels take you to beautiful Cape Town.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing