We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Grand, Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

ThIs is one of the best places to stay in Cape Town. It's within a walking distance from The Waterfront and is right at the Cape Town Conference Centre and the bus station. There is a gym, spa and swimming pool at the top floor. The rooms are fairly adequate and it's better to insist on the higher floor, west facing room if you love watching the sunset. If you have children, then there is a service where you leave them at the care centre.
There is nothing average about this hotel from friendly service to good cuisine at the restaurant. It's what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Get a west facing room if you want to enjoy sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monelisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Monelisi

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

WestinWORKOUT
State-of-the-art and well equipped, the WestinWORKOUT gym helps keep fitness routines active while on the road. Guests can energize with a wide choice of treadmills and bikes for heart-pumping cardio, tone up with strength machines and free weights or flex in open areas for stretching or yoga. This first-class facility also keeps guests hydrated and entertained. Select locations offer customized WestinWORKOUT guestrooms with in-room equipment for all performance levels. The RunWESTIN program provides local running maps for every hotel with three- and five- mile routes. Select properties offer a change of pace with guided ‘discovery runs’ led by a running concierge. RunWESTIN welcomes back all runners with a fresh towel and cold bottled water. During the week 1 to 9 November 2012 all Westin Hotels across the globe will be launching the New Balance gear lending programme where guests can have fresh, clean New Balance shoes and clothing delivered to their room during their stay, allowing them to pack light and stay fit.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2013

first thing i want to tell that souna bath is amazing, very very nice view from there and spa service is very good.This is a lovely hotel with lovely rooms and a nice restaurant serving excellent food. The only thing it lacked in my opinion was a nice lounge area. There is lots of soft seating dotted around in the lobby, but nowhere comfortable to sit where you can be served. The service was excellent by staff.

Room Tip: table bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honey00033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear honey00033

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments and wish to advise, that we have various areas that are classified as lounges, on our G floor levels we have Louis B's lower floor which has various seating arrangements as well as an outside terrace. We also have a beautiful lounge in our Westin Executive Club on the 19th Floor with splendid views of Cape Town harbour and surrounds and a Cigar Bar Raleigh's on our Mezzanine Level.

We do hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Westin is centrally located i.e. about a 10minute walk to V & A Waterfront. Downtown Long Street is just up the road. Hotel is very clean and rooms are well appointed - typical high Westin standards. Has a seperate parking area in the Garage. Courteous staff. Easy self-drive to/fro airport takes not more than 30 minutes on highway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Dear Jin29

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

A Sensory Welcome
The sensory-rich environment at Westin offers a respite from the rigors of travel and sets a welcoming tone. Upon entering the lobby, guests begin to breathe more easily as they are greeted with soothing elements like relaxed lighting, natural botanical beauty and stimulating music. The signature White Tea by Westin fragrance lightly infuses all common spaces.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Simple but good room overlooking v&a waterfront. Staff very helpful. Panormic pool on top floor great. Felt safe walking back from v&a at night as security staff at every corner. Good selection of things at breakfast and good cocktails (not at breakfast).

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveleroutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Traveleroutdoors

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were very satisfied with the rooms we had in this hotel.It had panoramic view of the harbour. They were large, clean with great facilities. Bathroom was spacious and the shower was excellent.
The breakfast was a delight as there was a wide range of choices, nearly to suit every taste. Looking at the fellow guests, they seem to come from every corner of the globe. The service was excellent. Can recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jendeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear jendeep

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy ot hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to to welcome you back to the Westin Cape Town when next your travels take you to Cape Town.


Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is a lovely hotel with lovely rooms and a nice restaurant serving excellent food. The only thing it lacked in my opinion was a nice lounge area. There is lots of soft seating dotted around in the lobby, but nowhere comfortable to sit where you can be served drinks (except the smoking bar upstairs!).
The service was excellent, staff very helpful and rooms spotless. Would go back, but only for an overnight convenience stay as I didn't feel it provided any area for relaxing and chilling out with friends.

Room Tip: Ask to be on upper levels with view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Sarah B

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again when next you travel to Cape Town.

Our Westin Executive Club on the 19th Floor offers a lounge type area, where you can enjoy a drink or coffee and experience the most spectacular views of Cape Town's harbour and mountains.

WestinWORKOUT
State-of-the-art and well equipped, the WestinWORKOUT gym helps keep fitness routines active while on the road. Guests can energize with a wide choice of treadmills and bikes for heart-pumping cardio, tone up with strength machines and free weights or flex in open areas for stretching or yoga. This first-class facility also keeps guests hydrated and entertained. Select locations offer customized WestinWORKOUT guestrooms with in-room equipment for all performance levels. The RunWESTIN program provides local running maps for every hotel with three- and five- mile routes. Select properties offer a change of pace with guided ‘discovery runs’ led by a running concierge. RunWESTIN welcomes back all runners with a fresh towel and cold bottled water. During the week 1 to 9 November 2012 all Westin Hotels across the globe will be launching the New Balance gear lending programme where guests can have fresh, clean New Balance shoes and clothing delivered to their room during their stay, allowing them to pack light and stay fit.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed at the Westin for three nights recently, on the Club floor (16th) and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room had a great view towards the V&A waterfront and docks area, you could see out over the bay to Robben Island. Breakfast and cocktails were served on the 19th floor, again spectacular views through almost 360 degrees. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice.
One of the best things was the shuttle to the V&A which ran half hourly from 9am until 2330, a real bonus. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Didn't have any meals there except breakfast but restaurant on 19th would have great views especially at night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Philip A

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Our staff work exceptionaly hard to make every guest feel welcome.

Thank you so much for choosing the Westin and we hope to see you agian when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,353 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,738 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £180 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing