We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
World
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Very nice 5* hotel. Absolutely again. Slight problem if you can say so is the location. A bit remote. You need a car or taxi all the time to get around. Best selection of fruitjuices at breakfast which is also phantastic.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Jack H

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you agian when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

The Westin Difference
The Westin Difference makes healthful choices irresistibly appealing – offering innovative programs that ensure our guests feel well rested, well nourished and well cared for. Westin understands that feeling good flows from a relaxing and comfortable environment where careful attention is given to the most important components of a guest’s stay. At every Westin Hotel and Resort, in the world’s most exhilarating destinations, discerning travelers discover just how good it feels to stay with us.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,233
    687
    161
    53
    44
See reviews for
236
719
140
780
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights on holiday in Cape Town last week. It's a great location to use as a base while exploring the area. It has the typical Westin "feel" to it, with some African culture blended into the decor. Staff was very professional and accommodated all my needs and assisted with local tour arrangements.

Room was great. Stayed on the 14th floor, odd numbered room, facing the waterfront and stadium so you have a nice view.

Internet was stable for the most part, except for the constantly expiring internet vouchers. Which was somewhat of a hassle having to renew them daily, but minor.

Their V&A shuttle runs like clockwork and stop 3 for the hop-on hop-off bus is right across the street. The canal boat tour from the V&A also stops there.

Get the breakfast included with your room. Well worth it! They put out a fantastic buffet every morning.

Travel desk very efficient and booked airport transfers upon my arrival and departure. Overall a good stay and would return again.

Room Tip: 14th floor and up for good views. Odd numbered rooms face the stadium and waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Dave G

Thank you for the positive review of our Hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We recently stayed here for one week (mid Jan. 2013). Here is what we think- good and bad:

Good:

1. The Buffet Breakfast is like no other- this is the signature feature of this hotel

2. The location is excellent- close to the V&A Waterfront and the Red and Blue open top bus stop

3. The service provided by the hotel staff is excellent

4. The shower is fantastic- high water pressure and excellent and fast temperature adjust-ability

Bad:

1. The WIFI is not reliable (we knew this going in but was hoping it would be better) It will constantly log you off. We stayed in several other hotels while in SA and did not have this problem

2. The location (while central) is not within walking distance of anything except the convention center and the bus stop. You must take a taxi or the hotel shuttle.

3. They sometimes do not vacuum the rooms.

4. The shuttle to the V&A Waterfront runs full sometimes and you must wait for the next one.

In short, we would stay here again. The breakfast alone makes it worthwhile. You may be able to skip lunch after eating a breakfast like this. We did not use the spa/fitness center but we did walk though it and it looked very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icemanjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear icemanjr

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments with regards to your stay. We do take all comments serious and appreciate all the feedback we receive.

During December we upgraded our internet service provider and did experience some down time during this time. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused, however we are now able to offer our guest a much more reliable connection to the internet and wifi.

During peak season when the hotel is filled to capacity, our travel desk which operates the shuttle service to the Waterfront and back to the Hotel, have put extra shuttle busses in place to accommodate the increase of guests making use of this free of charge service.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Hotel is modern, clean and well located. We stayed on the executive level which had access to the club. Room is very clean and spacious and the breakfast at the club level was very good - plenty of variety and the veiws are amazing. Staff were all very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zigenbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Zigenbock

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. thank you so much for staying with us and we do look forward to having you stay with us again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

ThIs is one of the best places to stay in Cape Town. It's within a walking distance from The Waterfront and is right at the Cape Town Conference Centre and the bus station. There is a gym, spa and swimming pool at the top floor. The rooms are fairly adequate and it's better to insist on the higher floor, west facing room if you love watching the sunset. If you have children, then there is a service where you leave them at the care centre.
There is nothing average about this hotel from friendly service to good cuisine at the restaurant. It's what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Get a west facing room if you want to enjoy sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monelisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Monelisi

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

WestinWORKOUT
State-of-the-art and well equipped, the WestinWORKOUT gym helps keep fitness routines active while on the road. Guests can energize with a wide choice of treadmills and bikes for heart-pumping cardio, tone up with strength machines and free weights or flex in open areas for stretching or yoga. This first-class facility also keeps guests hydrated and entertained. Select locations offer customized WestinWORKOUT guestrooms with in-room equipment for all performance levels. The RunWESTIN program provides local running maps for every hotel with three- and five- mile routes. Select properties offer a change of pace with guided ‘discovery runs’ led by a running concierge. RunWESTIN welcomes back all runners with a fresh towel and cold bottled water. During the week 1 to 9 November 2012 all Westin Hotels across the globe will be launching the New Balance gear lending programme where guests can have fresh, clean New Balance shoes and clothing delivered to their room during their stay, allowing them to pack light and stay fit.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

first thing i want to tell that souna bath is amazing, very very nice view from there and spa service is very good.This is a lovely hotel with lovely rooms and a nice restaurant serving excellent food. The only thing it lacked in my opinion was a nice lounge area. There is lots of soft seating dotted around in the lobby, but nowhere comfortable to sit where you can be served. The service was excellent by staff.

Room Tip: table bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honey00033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear honey00033

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments and wish to advise, that we have various areas that are classified as lounges, on our G floor levels we have Louis B's lower floor which has various seating arrangements as well as an outside terrace. We also have a beautiful lounge in our Westin Executive Club on the 19th Floor with splendid views of Cape Town harbour and surrounds and a Cigar Bar Raleigh's on our Mezzanine Level.

We do hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The Westin is centrally located i.e. about a 10minute walk to V & A Waterfront. Downtown Long Street is just up the road. Hotel is very clean and rooms are well appointed - typical high Westin standards. Has a seperate parking area in the Garage. Courteous staff. Easy self-drive to/fro airport takes not more than 30 minutes on highway.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Jin29

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and hope to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

A Sensory Welcome
The sensory-rich environment at Westin offers a respite from the rigors of travel and sets a welcoming tone. Upon entering the lobby, guests begin to breathe more easily as they are greeted with soothing elements like relaxed lighting, natural botanical beauty and stimulating music. The signature White Tea by Westin fragrance lightly infuses all common spaces.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,619 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,686 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,694 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing