We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not a business hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I recently stayed at the Westin in CPT. while the rooms were nice and spacious the hotel had lots of issues not least how their supervisor/front desk managers dealt with customers. However, by far the biggest issue in the whole hotel was the totally useless wifi/internet system. outside of not having enough bandwidth when hotel was busy we kept getting dumped by the system or unable to even log on at times. the hotel IT people finally admitted that the system is not good while the hotel staff themselves kept telling us it must be our laptops, yet nowhere else has this been a problem and in the exec lounge pretty much everryones topic of conversation was the lack of wifi/internet. not a business hotel when you can actually conduct business. it was a nightmare.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickypeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear pickypeterpan

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and on the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused with the Wifi connection.
In the last months we have upgraded our service provider to be able to offer a more reliable and faster internet connection and did have some trouble with down time and connectivity during this phase.

Once again our apologies for having missed the opportunity to impress you, however we hope to welcome you again to the Westin when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,251
    697
    165
    55
    45
See reviews for
240
725
142
799
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Rooms are excellent, location superb...great food and relaxation in the Executive Lounge. The shuttle service to the V&A is frequent and probably reliable most days...However, in 2 days running, our experience was different and not satisfactory. Leaving from the hotel was on time and reliable.

Day 1 return pick up was missed at 5pm isn. We were there in plenty of time yet the driver didn't arrive. We walked back to the hotel (just inconvenient) to make our dinner timing.

Day 2 return pick up was missed again. This time, there was another couple waiting longer than us and they were equally pressed for an appointment...and annoyed. we shared a cab back to the hotel.

I couldn't understand how the hotel has missed 2 pick ups, so I spoke to one of the 'many' Duty Managers. He listened to my story and then referred me to the 'senior' manager on duty. She also listened and promised to follow up to get an explanation for me. She took my room number, gave me a time to check back and offered me a refund for the cab fare. However, she had another meeting and would come back to me.

Nothing happened after that. When I checked back, she was occupied. the next morning she was starting later in the day. There was no credit on our room charges, and we left the hotel, feeling frustrated that management didn't actually follow up, or close the file really...very disappointing.

It seems as if the managers are keen to have the responsibility/title, however don't really have the skills or motivation to resolve a minor complaint/question. Although listening initially, there was no follow through, knowing we were checking out in the morning.

A good stay in all other aspects.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R88kra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear R88KRA

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I reviewed your comments and may I at this point extend my sincere apologies that our Duty Managers failed to follow up with you with regards to the missed transfer. Please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to the team for follow up and action.

Please may i ask you to kindly get in touch with us, so that we can address this issue on a more personal level. Please mail your details to angelika.hammel@westin.com

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I'm an almost all Starwood girl, and have stayed at this Westin about seven times now (I go a couple of times per year for work). The service and cleanliness is consistent. I have one complaint: please fix the internet issues! Having to call for vouchers that expire early, choose to not work sometimes, or won't allow you to use one on multiple devices (ie: laptop, phone, tablet) is exhausting. I ended up calling for new vouchers almost every day when I was given 7 in the beginning, which was supposed to be enough to give me access every day for the duration of my stay. In addition to the voucher problems, they internet just loves to drop randomly. When I visit clients in the surrounding areas, their internet isn't nearly so slow or have these problems. It's not just a country issue... it's a Westin issue.

Now for the good: great location, easy and free access to shops/restaurants at the Waterfront, wonderful views. If you don't opt for a shuttle to the Waterfront, a reasonably priced private car can take you/pick you up from pretty much anywhere you like. Camps Bay for some dining on the beach (don't even try to get in the water there.... there isn't a word to describe how cold the water is), Table Mountain for the most amazing views you will ever see in your life, dinner downtown (the concierge will make recommendations)... the list goes on. Cape Town is amazing and the Westin is a solid pick.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTraveledChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear WellTraveledChi

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we look forward to havingyou stay with us again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

You will be happy to know, that we recently upgraded our internet service provider to offer a more stable and reliable connection. We do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you during your last stay with us.

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I was fortunate to stay here for a week while on business in Cape Town and felt immediately valued by the staff. On the first night I decided to try the hotel restaurant on the top floor. Firstly the views of Table Mountain and the waterside are breath taking. The food as well was delicious, and it was nice that the staff recognised me later in the week as having eaten there before. The breakfast choice is one of the biggest I have ever seen. I felt utterly spoilt and could have stayed there for hours!

The room had a lot of facilities, however the only downside was the poor internet connection. As it turned out, the hotel was having an upgrade and on the final two days it worked much better, but when you're working in a hotel for business this tends to be a must to have working so it did create some frustration.

Working away from home a lot, I try to use the gym facilities in hotels and this one has one of the best around (not as good as the two floors at the Raddison in Johannesberg but compared to 99% of hotels, much better). It is small but has a lot of equipment. The only downside was there freeweight area. I was in competition for space with 6 members of a stunt team who were lifting 60kgs with their finger tips, so that part of the gym is very cramped. The view over cape town as well is lovely.

I am planning a return trip this year and this will definitely be the hotel I will be returning to. Another plus is my colleague arrived the following day at 8am and was worried the room would not be ready as check in is around 3pm, however they were accomodating and ensured a room was available immediately after he emailed them with his concern.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Becky J

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. I reviewed your comments with regards to the internet connection. We do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you, however rightfully so, we were updating our service provider in December and did experience some down time. We are however now able to serve a much faster and mor stable internet connection.

We look forward to having you stay with us again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

WestinWORKOUT
State-of-the-art and well equipped, the WestinWORKOUT gym helps keep fitness routines active while on the road. Guests can energize with a wide choice of treadmills and bikes for heart-pumping cardio, tone up with strength machines and free weights or flex in open areas for stretching or yoga. This first-class facility also keeps guests hydrated and entertained. Select locations offer customized WestinWORKOUT guestrooms with in-room equipment for all performance levels. The RunWESTIN program provides local running maps for every hotel with three- and five- mile routes. Select properties offer a change of pace with guided ‘discovery runs’ led by a running concierge. RunWESTIN welcomes back all runners with a fresh towel and cold bottled water. During the week 1 to 9 November 2012 all Westin Hotels across the globe will be launching the New Balance gear lending programme where guests can have fresh, clean New Balance shoes and clothing delivered to their room during their stay, allowing them to pack light and stay fit.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

WestIn Cape Town has a very warm and welcoming front staff. The Concierge and Front Desk staff are very helpful, professional and keen to serve. But the starts of the Hotel are the Neat Gentlemen who receive you at the drop off zone. You can't get a better welcome.... Lovely ambiance in the reception, but ordinary rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the Harbour. If you can, get room on 11th floor. The hotel is so well built...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlotteMoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear CharlotteMoko

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Concierge offered you a warm welcome.

Our staff work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel welcome and we do hope to welcome you again at the Westin Cape Town when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Starwood Preferred Guest
Westin is proud to be part of the Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) program, the premier award-winning hotel loyalty program. Members of the SPG program earn valuable Starpoints® across all Westin hotels and resorts as well as Starwood’s eight other distinctive hotel brands. Members can redeem Starpoints for Free Night Awards with no blackout dates or capacity controls at over 1000 hotels and resorts worldwide. Starpoints can also be redeemed toward Award Flights on over 350 airlines, merchandise, and more. Becoming a member is free at spg.com/join

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I was at the Westin Cape Town for work and I was amazed by the generous and delicious breakfast and by the courtesy of the employees. the room was perfect - clean, spacious and luminous. Heartly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Elisa M

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay at the Westin Cape Town.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Directly accross the CTICC entrance, the best hotel you will choose if you are attending a conference there. The rooms we had got great view of Cape Town city and decent size. The staff are helpful, and the overall look of the hotel is smart and beautiful. Will use again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Yi S

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and look forward to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

SuperFoodsRx® menu
SuperFoods dishes powerfully pair whole foods to boost their flavors and their benefits. SuperFoods include fruits, vegetables, grains and proteins that are known to improve well-being and longevity. Antioxidant-rich and naturally low in calories, these tempting selections make healthful meals impossible to resist. Westin is the first hotel to embrace the SuperFoods concept and introduce these delectable, good-for-you choices to breakfast and in-room dining menus.

be well,
Rob Kucera
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,660 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,730 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,713 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing