We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
African Pride 15 On Orange Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Cape Town Victoria Junction(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hippo Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$238
US$231
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The One 8 Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
US$258
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rockwell All Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,380)
Filter reviews
2,380 results
Traveller rating
1,343
738
180
69
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,343
738
180
69
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive clubconvention centerexecutive floortop floorfree shuttleheavenly bedtable mountainjuice barindoor poolevery half hourheated floorsattending a conferenceguest servicestravel deskbreakfast buffetexcellent hotelshuttle service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,224 - 1,229 of 2,380 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We used points to stay at the Westin, and found that choosing the Executive Club stay was an outstanding choice. Every employee at the hotel was obviously trained very well, and they were professional in every way. We arrived early at the hotel, and they upgraded us to a larger room so we could settle in after our long flights. When checking in, they inquired about special occasions and I mentioned my birthday. On our second night, I returned to the room after turndown in the evening, and found a delicious dessert plate had been delivered to the room as a birthday treat. Having access to the Executive Club on the top floor was definitely the reason we would rave about the hotel. They offered drinks and canapes in the evening, and a very extensive breakfast in the mornings. There is a Westin shuttle to the Waterfront, which made our visits there very convenient.
We would choose to stay at the Westin again if we would have access to the Club floor. That was a highlight!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Cheryl D

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and look forward to welcome you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

SPG Restaurant and Bars
Life is even more delicious when you season it with variety. Enjoy a wide range of SPG dining experiences for large gatherings, intimate dinners and everything in between — all with exclusive offers for SPG members.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here--what a fantastic room and view. The Executive Club had an unbelievable daily breakfast buffet, and cooked to order hot meals. The evening hours served canapés and beverages. The view is spectacular! The free shuttle bus to the V&A Waterfront is an easy and convenient way to access local attractions. Our water-view room was large and exceptionally comfortable. The evening candies were the perfect way to end a day! We checked in and out very quickly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear MicahelD330

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. Thank you so much for your kind comments, our staff work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

We look forward to having you stay with us again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Westin Weekend
We’re loosening our ties and making a few subtle changes to create a more relaxed atmosphere on the weekends to help you rejuvenate for the week ahead.
Introducing 3pm Checkout on Sunday* and Extended Breakfast Hours all Weekend. Which means more time to enjoy your weekend, whether that includes hitting the slopes at one of our award-winning ski resorts, exploring a new city or a day lounging poolside. Leave feeling energized so you can have a Better Monday.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

don't buy the concierge package, was there 6 days and bought was worthless, someone is skimming someone there, is not typical westin package-was open very few hours and really had nothing, thank god for the coffee machines in the rooms as was never available any of the times I went up to to get, never did see any wine being served, was wine setting there unopened but were no glasses setting out-real poor package-no tea time in afternoon for the wives either

Room Tip: just don't pay extra for the concierge package
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear welby2

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. As a management team we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues.

I reviewed your comments, and as per our previous communication, our Westin Executive Club lounge is open during the day until 22h00 in the evening. We serve drinks and canapes from 17h00 - 19h00 daily in the lounge for SPG members. The Lounge does not serve high tea, however this can be arranged upon request. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We do hope to welcome you again and thank you once again for your feedback.

Arabella Spa
Treat yourself to a Heavenly Spa experience that awakens your senses. From healing massages, to cleansing facials and energizing body treatments, every element of your spa visit is designed to help you feel your best.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at the Westin in early September, 2013. It's part of a huge convention center, so definitely has a corporate feel, but was still a convenient location to get around the entire city and the rooms were nice, with a great view of the city and the pier. We also went to the executive floor for breakfast and HH, and the food and service were both excellent!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Jocelyn K

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We are very happy to heae you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Signature Heavenly® Programs
Guests enjoy an amazingly restful night’s sleep, which revitalizes the body and brain. The world-renowned Westin Heavenly Bed features lush sheets, down cushioning and our patented pillow-top mattress, which cradles and contours to the body for complete comfort. Another industry first, the Heavenly Bath creates an invigorating spa-like experience, enhanced with our Heavenly Shower® Heavenly® Robe and exclusive White Tea Aloe bath amenities.

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Attached to the convention center this is a room factory. Perhaps ideal for convention delegates it may not be the best for individual travellers.

The rooms are pleasant and are equipped with espresso machines ( something I love) but on the while the operation is geared to the convention delegate with not much choice for others.

The all day dining and the bar have the same menu and really function as one, meaning there is little choice of dining options, at 8 pm there were not more than a dozen guests but service was slow and a glass of wine took more than 15 minutes.

Check in too was overwhelmed had to ask for the SPG desk, and the receptionist couldn't give any specific time as to when the room would be available, I.e. One, two or three hours. Got mine around 7 pm in the evening.

Breakfast was well set up but the so called 'spectacular view' room overlooked the convention center roof

Room Tip: Make sure the 'Table Mountain' view really does look out on the mountain
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear keasdad

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments and I have communicated your issues to the relevant department heads for follow up and action. As a Management Team we do take all feedback seriously and share these with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues.

Again thank you for your comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to imrpove our service.

We do hope to see you again when next your travels take you to Cape Town.

Make a green choice
• The less water, energy and other resources we use, the more there is to go around. Reward yourself with a $5 voucher at participating food and beverage outlets or 500 Starwood Preferred Guest Starpoints® awarded at check out for each night you decline housekeeping services (except day of departure). Conservation matters. Make A Green Choice. Guest is eligible to participate if staying for more than 2 nights and can choose one of the following for every night he declines housekeeping services:
R45.00 credit at F&B or 500 SPG Starpoints® or Donating 500 SPG Starpoints® to UNICEF

be well
Rob Kucera
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews