We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
portland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent three nights at the Westin Cape Town. We rented a car and this hotel was well situated to be our home base for our day trips. The staff was very helpful, the room had a great view and the comfortable heavenly bed. Our room rate included breakfast which was excellent. I recommend using the club level restaurant and ordering off the menu. The hotel is adjacent to the convention center so there were more business guests than vacationers when we were there but it did not detract from our experience. I struggled with selecting a good hotel for our stay and after visiting Cape Town (which we loved) I am sure we made the right choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libbylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear libbylulu

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    667
    157
    52
    44
See reviews for
223
707
138
761
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This Hotel is absolutely fantastic! Good location! Clean! Amazing spa and saunas! But 10 points come for brilliant breakfast buffet which includes a variety of food from all over the world, starting with sushi and finishing with tens of different juices. Very close to the waterfront!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuriN302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear JuriN302

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that Arabella Spa and our Breakfast buffet exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai Indian
Level Contributor
759 reviews
291 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Westin just opposite the Convention centre is quite luxurious...good lobby..especially the old look wooden benches gives a unique look.
But multi level card access to reach the room may put off some...card access for lift to open, lift to go to the floor, to open the floor door and of course to open the room.
The room is quite good over looking the convention centre and giving a good view of the port and Lions Head mountains.Only sore point is the canal in the front of thehotel could have been maintained little better...this is also visbile from the room.
The bath room is good..seaprate partitions for shower and WC with in the bath room is a good idea...could'nt understand the need for two wash basins that to side by side.
The food was good...the people very helpful...over all a very happy experience

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear plpalani

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you emjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, walkable to downtown longstreet where the restaurants are and the waterfront.
Great service, breakfast buffet with excellent food.
The rooms are beautiful.
Really loved this hotel and will definitely go back there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colomba63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear colomba63

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Was here for a business trip which included a stay over a weekend. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the location is superb.

Will absolutely stay here again, cannot say a bad word about this place

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lynnscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear lynnscot

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Checking was seamless! Comfortable bed, quite bedroom, heated tiles in bathroom, power shower, we stayed on 18th floor. Fantastic view of the waterfront, HIlls & harbour. Gym & Spa facilities were excellent. Views from the Gym, Pool, Spa relaxing room were amazing. Sumptuous breakfast at the ground floor. Club Lounge on the 19th floor was closed for renovation while we were there but the view of the city is awesome. We really enjoyed our stay. Hotel provided free bus shuttle to and from waterfront mall. The staff were helpful. The only snag is my wife's phone went missing in one of the shops at the waterfront mall (obey your body shop). We were advised to lodge a complaint at the mall security and at the police station which we did and nothing tangible was achieved! No CCTV was installed in the shop! We were the only and last customer in the shop for over 1 hour for that day. However, we loved our stay at the Westin! Table mountain was closed during our stay in Capetown but we met someone who drove us around town.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HarrisonEmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear HarrisonEmmanuel

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to kow you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I originally approached this hotel in conjunction with a trade show I was attending. It was a rocky road to get a room but it all worked out well in the end. Their group sales department did not seem even remotely interested that I was going out of my way to try and stay in their establishment. Not a good start, and I ended up with a complex booking. My tip here is: If you are booking for a trade show, bypass group sales, get the rate code for the show and book directly through Starwood reservations.

On check-in the staff were very nice even though they were having to cope with a lot of new guests. In spite of my complex booking the front desk manager sorted me all out and I ended up in a club room on a high floor, which was very nice and quiet.

Another reviewer said that this should be the model for Westins worldwide. Compare it to the Westin in Mumbai: There you are escorted to your room. Everyone is at your beck and call all the time. The evening happy hour has a fantastic buffet and a very cozy lounge. So no, there are other Westins out there that are far better.

My room was quite spacious, bed great, lots of storage space. Bathroom wonderful with separate toilet and shower, and a well-sized bath tub as well. Shower had both hose and rain shower, which was refreshing and if for nothing else the underfloor heating made sure the bathroom floor dried quickly. Standard Westin amenities. They had drapes hanging from the ceiling by the windows - even though they were good if the sun was shining, at other times it made the room seem dark and you could not easily detach them.

I had a massage in the spa and the therapist had both good technique and strength. My deep tissue massage really did go deep and the therapist knew exactly what spots to hit. Nice to relax in the water bed afterwards.

The pool on the 19th floor was nice but shallow (1.3m) and also not that big, and the views of the (shipping container) harbour not exactly breathtaking. Shame there is no outdoor pool it would have been so much nicer.

Breakfast in the lounge was a formal affair. You had to wait to be seated and wait for your waiter to serve tea, coffee etc. However, service was always good and with a smile! Food consisted of a buffet with a fairly good variety of items on offer, as well as a la carte offerings. Do try the eggs benedict, they make it really well. Buffet had a "raw" bar with vegetables, great selection of fruits and fruit salads, and fruit juices. There was also seared tuna, salmon "poke" style, roast beef rolls with horseradish sauce and lots of accompaniments. Bread, cereal, great selection of yougurts as well.

Happy hour in the lounge was disappointing. The lounge itself is more a restaurant than a lounge and there are only a few sofas to sit and relax. I expected a buffet but instead was only offered a drink and then presented with tiny dish consisting of a few canapes and a few crisps. That was it - uninspiring.

Room service was very good, with good food and some nice healthy choices as well as a few local specialities.

Staff were happy to help. Always easy to get a taxi anywhere. The hotel is not near anything so you will have to rely on taxis but they are plentiful and reasonable.

For the tourist, the red double-decker bus has a stop just by the hotel so it's easy to go sight-seeing.

For the business traveller this hotel has everything you need and if your business is in central Cape Town you can most likely walk to your meeting.

I always felt safe. The hotel is obviously trying to train their guests to always lock away their valuables - one night I left some cash and my mobile on the desk in my room and when I got back found a note from security saying they had taken those items to a secure place and I had to sign for it to get it back. Point taken - following that I always locked away all my valuables in the safe even if I left my room for just a short while.

Overall, a good hotel that is clearly geared towards the business traveller.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces a busy motorway. Either get a high floor room, or if on the lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polar_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear polar_b

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Cape Town.

I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood EMEA and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing