We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down from our previous experiences at the Arabella Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #28 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Everything from our previous visits was the same. Rooms were very nice... however, the management was not very open in disclosing to us that their concierge level lounge was not open and that those who paid for concierge level would be administered at the restaurant.

Definitely not the ambiance we wanted and not worth the money. We skipped the evening cocktail hour for the most part, what was the use without the awesome views.

If we would have known we would have saved the money.

Have never been disappointed here before, guess there is always a first time. We will probably shift to the Commodore for our next trip, havent been there in a while.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJPSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear CJPSanRamon

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our services.

We do pride ourselves on our exceptionally high standard of service and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on this basis of this particular experience and do hope you will permit us an early opportunity to regain your confidence in our services.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 2,320 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in late November for the Africa Oil Week held at the Convention Centre.
Everything was modern, smart and functional. Can't fault the accomodation nor the service.

My only grumble and its a big one!

Whilst chilling out in the evening in the Mezzanine bar we were approached brazenly every night by prostitutes. For a 5 star hotel this is unnaceptable. If the managemnt condone this sort of service they should be ashamed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philhollowayinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear philhollowayinuk

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Whilst a number of factors were beyond out control, your comments with regards to the prostitutes on the mezz floor have been brought to our Security Managers attention and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

2nd time we've stayed here over a weekend, very close to more touristy things in cape town. Executive club is a must, if only for the views and breakfast on the 19th floor! Staff super friendly and helpful.
No video's to rent however, so our plans to stay in fell flat even though they do show it as an option. The movie channels available are also not really very great, with mnet premier's schedule not even in the tv guide they make available. We streamed videos through the free wifi which worked like a charm. Facilities in the room is great as usual, and the beds really are heavenly!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank robert2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear robert2323

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

We do take all comments seriously and appreciate your feedback regarding the TV channels.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The hotel is in a bit of weird location.... quite aways from the pier and 15 minute walk from the business district and in the middle of a highway. They have a shuttle to get you to main attractions but it's still somewhat of hassle to to just randomly get out and see main attractions of Cape Town. It's next to the convention center- so if that's what you are here for this is the place to stay.

I found the staff very accomodating and the rooms up to and beyond Westin standards. The spa is pretty spectacular at least in one way- they have a steam room with a top floor view the city - not something you see every day and quite frankly something you do want to experience. If it wasn't for their awkward location I would give this place 5 stars. And remember you're paying top dollar to stay here so if you're looking for a deal... good luck.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear JurajL

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at The Westin Cape Town during our recent visit to the city. It's a great experience right from the check in procedures to the room facilities. Most of the rooms have a great view. We had opted for the Executive Club Rooms. These gave us to the Executive Lounge on the 19th floor. We had the option of taking breakfast in the restaurant 'Thirty7' on the Ground Floor or in the Executive Club Room on the 19th floor. We chose the Club Room simply because it has a great view. The bed in the room was pretty spacious and though we had asked for an extra bed for our 5 year old daughter, we did not feel the necessity for the same and therefore didn't put it up. The hotel offers free wifi throughout - in lobby as well as the rooms and the speed of the same is great. All staff - be it the reception, bell boys, porters, housekeeping staff, restaurant staff, etc. are very courteous and helpful. The hotel offers free shuttle service to and fro from the V&A waterfront from 9:00 am to 9:00 pm. - this works really great for guests who are too tired to walk it up to the V&A (which is a 15 min brisk walk) or want to avoid taking a taxi. Overall the location of the hotel is also great - its a 30 min drive from the airport, Greenmarket Square (a shopping area) is at a 10 minute walk from hotel, though I wouldn't advise guests to walk after 5:30 p.m. It's also very close to the V&A waterfront from where ferries to Robben Island depart at 9:00 am, 11:00 am, 1:00 pm and 3:00 pm. The V&A also has a shopping mall, various shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive Club Rooms from 14th to 18th floor that either face the Waterfront or Table Mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saurabhvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear saurabhvd

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that all staff members exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent three nights at the Westin Cape Town. We rented a car and this hotel was well situated to be our home base for our day trips. The staff was very helpful, the room had a great view and the comfortable heavenly bed. Our room rate included breakfast which was excellent. I recommend using the club level restaurant and ordering off the menu. The hotel is adjacent to the convention center so there were more business guests than vacationers when we were there but it did not detract from our experience. I struggled with selecting a good hotel for our stay and after visiting Cape Town (which we loved) I am sure we made the right choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank libbylulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear libbylulu

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This Hotel is absolutely fantastic! Good location! Clean! Amazing spa and saunas! But 10 points come for brilliant breakfast buffet which includes a variety of food from all over the world, starting with sushi and finishing with tens of different juices. Very close to the waterfront!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuriN302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear JuriN302

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that Arabella Spa and our Breakfast buffet exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,806 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,555 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £146 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing