We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It's the people more than the place that's outstanding--and the place is nice. There is a free shuttle to and from the V&A Waterfront which was so convenient. It made it very easy to come and go as we pleased.
Unfortunately, I ended up getting food poisoning one night (NOT from the Westin!!!), and that was when the staff really shined through. They were concerned, helpful, and would check in with my husband to see how I was doing. They even helped us sort out last minute additional accommodation (and stay in the same room) since we were supposed to have checked out that morning so I wouldn't have to be disturbed.
The buffet breakfast that's offered there is amazing as is their options for room service.
I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Leah W

Thank you the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 2,258 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a standard Westin hotel with standard Westin amenities. So, the room was spacious and well appointed, the bed was outstanding, the shower was heavenly, the TV was excellent, and there was great wireless internet. We were on the Executive Level, so we had a wonderful breakfast included each morning with great views of the waterfront. Now the negatives and I think they are two big drawbacks: 1) the service was lousy for the most part. We had a wonderful server one night in the bar, but other than that, it was awful. The front desk clerks were especially bad – not helpful, unsmiling, and sometimes downright rude. 2) The location is not good. It is a substantial walk to the V&A Waterfront, where most of the shops, restaurants, bars, and night life is; but that walk is not pleasant and in some places there aren’t footpaths and you have to cross difficult roundabouts. They have a shuttle, or you can use the Hop-on Hop-off bus, but we prefer to use our own pedestrian power. I might stay here again using my Starwood status, but I would prefer to stay in one of the hotels actually at the V&A Waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Buff_BL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Travel_Buff_BL

Thank you for your comments, as a management team we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Your comments will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our services. Thank you so much for staying with us and hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The hotel has all of the comforts that you would expect from a newer Westin - nice finishes, well equipped gym, excellent restaurant/breakfast. It is centrally located in the business district and there is a free shuttle that runs every 30 mins to the V&A Waterfront, which is a very nice benefit that makes it a great option for tourists. The redundant security features of card access to the elevator and security doors on each floor, although not really necessary, provide great peace of mind in a City that gets a lot of notoriety for being dangerous.

The hotel really distinguished itself with the very compassionate and accommodating staff. My wife became violently ill one evening from bad shellfish and the hotel promptly put me in touch with an on-call Doctor who came to the hotel room at 3AM, assessed her condition, and provided her with antibiotics, anti-naseau & anti-cramping meds, and an electrolyte drink mix so she could begin her recovery immediately. We were scheduled to check out the next morning but my wife was literally incapable of getting out of bed. The management was extremely accommodating in extending my stay and all of the staff at the hotel expressed genuine concern for her well being and asked me for updates and whether there was anything they could do each time I went through the lobby for the duration of our stay. I have never experienced better customer service in any hotel in any country. I would recommend this hotel strongly to both business travelers and tourists and it is also a great deal w/ Starwood points. It's a category 4 hotel and the rate was $US375, which I got for $US75 and 5,000 points per night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyWat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear JonnyWat02

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin. It was nice to hear that the staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make very guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We chose this hotel for it's proximity to all the Cape Town attractions and were pleasantly surprised by the hotel itself. A Conference Hotel situated next to the main conference centre it turned out to be very friendly without the feel of this type of hotel. Very well trained friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. Free shuttle service to the Waterfront and on the Red/Blue bus route which gets you around the city very easily. Excellent Concierge service for dining out but a very good in-house restaurant as well. Four days well spent.

Room Tip: Higher the better, stunning views all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnEric2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear JohnEric2

Thank you for the positve review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin
Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spend there weekend during my business trip to South Africa. Very good location, just in center of the city, close to waterfront. Professional and nice staff, really trying to help (had troubles with my credit card, helped me to solve it). Even there was renovation of exec. Club, it was nicely covered in bar at ground floor. Breakfast very good, wide variety of food and fast service, local bubbles (Krug) were excellent for perfect start of weekend. I have only good memories.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krzysioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Krzysoic

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin. Thank you for the positive comments and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

With the CTICC - Cape Town International Convention Center almost as a part of the hotel, Westin Cape Town is one of the best hotels I have been to. Service Impeccable, Smiling Staff, Cooperation all the way and one of the best breakfast spreads. The free pick up and drop facility to the Victoria docks and back every hour is awesome with one of the most friendly drivers who actually cares and this service saves a lot of money to the hotel guests as the taxi charges for the same would be quiet steep. I look forward to visiting very soon , this time for vacation with my family.

Room Tip: The higher floors give a super view ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riyaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear RiyazK

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

I have traveled extensively and this was by far the best trip I have ever been on. The hotel was immaculate and the service can not be better. Awesome location and views. Our group went on four day trips and each one was better than the day before. I would recommend going to the town of Boschendal for a full day of shopping, site seeing, food and wine. The Table mountain tour is great but take a jacket. We also went on a tour of an animal reserve about two hours away. It was worth the drive. Be sure to take something to cover your nose and mouth from dust. The scenery of the tip of Africa is like something from movies. So be sure to have plenty of camera memory. If you like cigars you will love the cigar bar. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pastorjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Pastorjh

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

In-Room Spa Services
Restore energy and relieve stress with a menu of custom treatments developed especially for Westin In-Room Spa services. Guests can indulge in the experience of a soothing spa getaway in the privacy of their own room. Many resort locations also offer peaceful healing in beautifully designed on-site spas where innovative therapies help guests get back to their best selves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £168 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing