We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, polite service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #23 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good location, polite service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

hotel is in a very convenient location with shuttle service to Waterfront area. Staff is polite and friendly. pool on the 19th floor is small but convenient. There is a sauna that has a full view of the city which is very nice and interesting. Arranged couple of tours from the concierge and they were all proper. My only problem was with housekeeping by finding duvets without covers one evening. Also one of the cleaners took the used dirty bathrobe from the floor and hang it as if it was a clean one which was really annoying.

Room Tip: I had to get a room on the smoking floor which was disgusting since I dont even smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear gulayavci

Thank you for the positve review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    687
    161
    54
    44
See reviews for
236
720
140
780
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted well and all our luggage was correctly at our rooms.
The rooms were very cozy and had a wonderful feel. We had a amazing experience at the private Jacuzzi & Gymnasium at the top of the building, overlooking the whole of the city.
Overall the stay was really nice and the service too.

Room Tip: Rooms on or above 10th floor have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hsniser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Mumbai (Bombay), India

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
356 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A last minute decision to stay the night. Room service at 23h30 impecable standard. Good room s, but a major treat is the views from the spa and pool area on the top floor where you will get very different views of Cape Town Harbour (old harbour), which is one you dont really get from anywhere else.
Downstairs restuarants are tops, as well as the cigar lounge.

Top class hotel that can match any throughout the world.

Room Tip: ask for the view over the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Stanley466

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that the Room Service exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

The people is friendly all the time. Very good breakfast and the the good restaurants. The room is big and clean. Only the internet is not so good to send images. I can recommend to families too. I will try return with my wife in the next season to expend one week.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarceloLuders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear MarceloLuders

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent our very first night as Mr + Mrs Krynauw in the hotel in 2009, and again this year for our anniversary. We were really taken care of by the staff, and everywhere we went (spa and restaurants) we were acknowledged and special effort was made to make us feel special. Even one of the Executive managers wrote us a note to wish us a pleasant stay.
There are regular shuttle service trips to surrounding attractions. We had access to wireless internet, and could check emails and updates even while relaxing at the pool. Like the indoor heated pool with amazing views over Cape Town. Jacuzzi has a timer to accommodate others, so no one sits in it all day. The food at the restaurants are extremely good quality and the service was immaculate. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure trips. You really really walk out of there rested, rejuvenated and ready to face anything :-) Our vehicle was in front while we were still checking out, and our luggage already in the car. friendly, prompt and efficient. We will return again, for sure.

Room Tip: Book a room on the 14th floor or higher - the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkDiamondPROJECTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear PinkDiamond

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin. It was nice to hear that the Executive Management and all staff exceeded your expectations. We work very exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I just spent 5 nights at this property, and I can't wait to have a chance to visit again. Excellent staff across the board - we had a couple of minor issues with our reservation that were addressed with attention and respect. Our room was lovely, and the service was top notch.

I have to specifically call out the food and beverage service. We went to the evening happy hour in the lounge (we were on the executive floor) and it was one of the best I have been to. The canapes were creative and special. The selections of wines was great. We also dined in the Executive level dining room one night and had a fantastic meal there - one of the best of the whole trip.

So kudos to the entire staff at this property!

Room Tip: The views from the upper floors were fantastic - we found the executive level very much worth the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingin2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear travelelingin2009

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that the Canape hour and all staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Attentive friendly staff. Comfortable bed and bedroom. Light and spacious open plan lobby, bar and restaurant areas. Breakfast / Lunch buffet and a la carte food all were good. Location close to V&A waterfront.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsJCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear ItsJCB

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay wiht us at the Westin Cape Town. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,619 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,698 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Starwood EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing