We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend treat!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I treated my husband and our son to a weekend stay at this hotel as part of a birthday celebration. We had Executive Club rooms on the 16th floor - these rooms have fantastic views of the city/waterfront and all the amenities you would expect inc a great coffee machine, exec style desk, fluffy bathrobes, trouser press etc but best of all the beds are incredibly comfortable (king size of course) and have beautiful crisp cotten linen. The decor is light and modern. These rooms also have the benefit of using the Executive Club lounge and restaurant where we enjoyed one of the best breakfast buffets I have seen, featuring just about everything you could imagine, together with an a la carte menu for hot items. Service was excellent. You can judge a hotel by the small things and imagine how we felt when the concierge came to our table at breakfast and told us that they had noticed our car had a flat tyre. While pondering what to do, the same staff member (Sipho) smiled and said 'dont worry, we can change the wheel for you' and by the time we had finished our breakfast and returned to the room we had a message to say the tyre was changed. So full marks for 'going the extra mile'. The spa, gym and indoor lap pool and jacuzzi on the 19th floor are superb and you can enjoy the sights of the city as you swim. The hotel location is very central and has a complimentary shuttle to the Waterfront and is adjacent to the Conference Centre.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive Club room and really enjoy superb views and the excellent breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Christine L

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that the hotel and all staff exceeded your expectations. We work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    694
    163
    55
    45
See reviews for
238
723
142
793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed there with my wife for 8 nights... we enjoyed it very much.
rooms are of a descent size. beds are so comfy... their room service is great... and hey, Location is great.
they have a shuttle to the water front every half an hour, which is great thing.
their travel desk was one of the most helpful staff you can see in a hotel, especially Dalima.
if you want to hire a driver for a day trip, look no further than (Ferrai), a very nice gentleman that can take you around...
the swimming pool is on the down side though, vey small and dark so we didn't use it.
food is great. overall, it's an enjoyable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Maurice A

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin Cape Town and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Westin is always a winner if you want to be central and close to what's happening in Cape Town. The service is great from reception to the restaurant staff. Rooms are well apportioned and nicely decorated with a beautiful view of the Marina. Breakfast is special with enough to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view to the harbor but be aware these rooms to get afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Jalder

Thank you for the amazing review of the Westin Cape Town. We appreciate your comments and it is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful hotel soon !

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Located just next to the convention center. Just two blocks from Victoria and Albert's Waterfront. New very clean and very modern rooms with views of either the waterfront or Table Mountain. Breakfast served on a top floor or downstairs off of the modern and impressive lobby. Views so amazing you might forget how delicious and special the food is. We stayed at the end of our safari tour organized by Kanyezi Safari. Shuttle that will pick you up and drop after dark at the waterfront. We would stay here again and again. A true bargain for a five star luxury hotel just two blocks from overpriced underwhelming hotels like the Cape Grace and one third their price, But nicer!!!!!! Great job Westin!!!!! Thank you Kanyezi Africa Safari, good find.

Room Tip: Ask fort Table Mountain view. Corner suites not that much more expensive than standard rooms on we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5keanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear 5keanuk

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.
Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Very good choice, so close to the Convention Centre.
We were not given a choice of rooms though, we were booked into a room with NO view, facing the roof of the building below - not nice, so avoid rooms on the 7th floor. Also, upon arrival, the room was boiling hot from the late afternoon sun.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially our concierge, we were escorted downstairs to get something from the car late at night.
The room is big and spacious with a huge comfy bed. The bathroom is a delight with a big walk in shower as well as the necessary privacy. I enjoyed the special brand of shower gel. Loved the coffee station, unfortunately it was not serviced on our second day and we had to request some milk and coffee pods. A very modern hotel, next time the spa on the 19th floor is on our to do list.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with little or no afternoon sun, and do not stay on the 7th floor - there is no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Melanie665

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay at The Westin Cape Town. It is always a special and inspired moment to learn that our guests enjoyed our facilities. We hope to welcome you back for a return visit to our wonderful city !

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Seychelles
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well located for the convention centre. A pool with a nice view from the 19th floor. Efficient and convenient shuttle to the Waterfront. The hotel generally was up to expectations. A couple of nice touches were the switch for a heated floor in the bathroom, and the spin dryer for wet swimming trunks at the pool! A pity there wasn't more choice of restaurants as one of the two was being renovated, but I guess thats a temporary state of affairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JukeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've heard nothing but fabulous things about Cape Town and was so excited to visit and it didn't disappoint. It is truly an amazing city with some of the most breath-taking sunsets, the most fabulous seafood, beautiful culture, artwork and people with the one of the best exchange rates in the world for US travelers (10 to 1).

I booked my stay at the Westin Cape Town and it was flawless from the time I checked in to the time I checked out. The staff is superb and made me feel welcome and were so attentive each and every day. The beds were so comfortable and we had an amazing view of Table Mountain. The club lounge was being renovated so the hotel gave us the breakfast buffet free each morning. It was a full spread of everything from sushi to cheese and crackers to omelet stations, it was an awesome way to start your day. The hotel is a business hotel across the street from the convention center, however they offered shuttle service to the Waterfront which made it an ideal location. The hotel also has a great tour desk and a house car that you can use for short trips around the city, the price depends on the distance from the hotel. Green Market is the best place to bargain for beautiful artwork and souvenirs.

I worked with a fabulous Concierge, Vuyo, and he was the BEST. He recommend some fabulous restaurants that are a must for anyone going to Cape Town. First: Mother Africa, I'm sure it's a tourist spot but a great one, great food and with live music, so much fun. The second was Pigelle, so romantic, a dinner/supper club with live music but the food and service was amazing. There was also a great pizza place a few blocks from the hotel and Vuyo personally escorted me there to make sure I didn't get lost going around the circle.

The best way to tour Cape Town is to hire a private car, forget the tourist bus for the longer trips (winery. Signal Mountain), the price is exactly the same for two/three but you can customize your own trip. My husband did take the Red Bus around town and he really enjoyed that experience. We booked a 1/2 day trip (which we regretted and should have booked a full day pr two half days) and it was amazing. We visited a few wineries and went out to see the Penguins, ended on Signal Mountain at sunset. The beautiful scenery and mountains is very special.

I hope to return later this year since it's such a captivating destination!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel_Diva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Hotel_Diva1

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. We appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and specially Vuyo. It is great to know that you enjoyed your time in Cape Town. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,643 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing