We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does exactly what you want-very well” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #23 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Does exactly what you want-very well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a large hotel and to some extent slightly impersonal. However the staff that we met were very helpful. Hotel does everything that you need extremely well. The food is good and the rooms very comfortable, probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in for a long time. The hotel is in a good location and it is very easy to relax here. Ideal as a business hotel as facilities first-class. As ever there is a trade-off between science and personal touch. I think they try their best but it's hard to get a feeling of "homeliness" in hotels of this size. Would happily go back here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel get a very clear view of table Mountain, a dramatic sights to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear PKLH

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    666
    157
    51
    44
See reviews for
222
707
138
760
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I used this hotel for a business event during one evening. The hotel is very large and came across as clean. I was somewhat disappointed with the breakfast not for the choice but quality, it did just not taste fresh the food and considering I stay in hotels every month for my work, something was just not right here. Communication in the hotel is something else and a lot as to do with cultural diversity, I wasted 4 hours searching for my package that was delivered and signed by the hotel but when Banqueting took my package they never informed the concierge where most packages are collected from. This is quite normal in hotels where communication is not top of their agenda. I must point out that Missy and Shannon and the other lady taking care of my banquet were a credit, very polite and helpful and have done their work very professionally. It would be nice if some members of the reception and staff in other departments were as friendly as these 3 young ladies, when I see a front desk where staff talk in a tone, do not smile and look sad then it tells me how a hotel is being run, not as good as it should as first impressions go a long long way. Considering what my company spent, apart from my time during my event I did not feel welcomed or served a good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saint0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear saintpj

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that Missy and Shannon were a credit whilst staying at the Westin. It is, however, a pity that the Front Desk and breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We certainly strive towards providing our guests with an amazing experience and have relayed the information to the relevant departments to improve the standard of service.

We hope to welcome you back for a return visit soon so that we can have the oppertunity to showcase the level of excellent service that you expect.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Westin Cape Town previously but I always found it a bit sterile. This time we found that the staff could not have been friendlier or more obliging,
We were upgraded from an Executive Club room to a Grande Deluxe room with Executive Club privileges because of my husband's SPG status. The room is very large as opposed to the Executive Club room.
The club is located on the top floor and has a beautiful view of the Waterfront, the Greenpoint Stadium and the start of Sea point as well as part of the mountain. Breakfast is probably one of the best around. They have Superfoods (healthy) such as salmon and gravlax as well as a yogurt blueberry drink and many more. The bedroom has the classic Westin heavenly bed. Altogether a wonderful stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lnd_beale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ind_beale

Thank you for the amazing review of the Westin cape Town. Our innovative programmes (SUPER FOODS, Heavenly Beds) and instinctive transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon !

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerut, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's very well maintained business hotel....the best is that it's too close to waterfront harbour which makes it con incident for guest to move around places. It s in room dinning is very helpful and helps u with some vegetarian food n try experiment. Which make people like us happy. Our tour organised an indian dinner on r last night stay.....which I must say was a pathetic try....but Italian and non veg at hotel was good...but the staff was nice and sweet.

Overall we enjoyed our stay there

Room Tip: Try to take bigger rooms as first category rooms are pretty small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansi071986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mansi071986

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Went to the Westin for our honeymoon. When we got to the room there was champagne, flowers and a brownie that said congrats. The staff was always very helpful. Rooms were clean and the view was amazing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that points to the waterfront and shows table mountain. It is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Almann79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Almann79

Congratulations again on your wedding !

Thank you for the amazing review of the Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

We hope to welcome you back soon for your 1st anniversary to our beautiful city !

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The Westin was an okay hotel but certainly nothing to write home about.

Service was fine...but not noteworthy. Some at the front desk had an attitude that was reminiscent of NYC disinterest. No one was overly helpful.

We were upgraded as Platinum members to a suite which was lovely. Very nice view as well.

The Club Lounge had a good breakfast, but even as platinum members we had up pay for a hot order (eggs, etc). Annoyingly, you could not take any food or beverage out of the lounge. So no water or soda to enjoy in your room. I complained about this as was brought one tiny can of coke light to my room.

And the internet was lousy!

Overall there are probably better places out there.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aranchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Aranchia

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. I sincerely hope you will permit us an early opportunity to regain your confidence in our services.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I treated my husband and our son to a weekend stay at this hotel as part of a birthday celebration. We had Executive Club rooms on the 16th floor - these rooms have fantastic views of the city/waterfront and all the amenities you would expect inc a great coffee machine, exec style desk, fluffy bathrobes, trouser press etc but best of all the beds are incredibly comfortable (king size of course) and have beautiful crisp cotten linen. The decor is light and modern. These rooms also have the benefit of using the Executive Club lounge and restaurant where we enjoyed one of the best breakfast buffets I have seen, featuring just about everything you could imagine, together with an a la carte menu for hot items. Service was excellent. You can judge a hotel by the small things and imagine how we felt when the concierge came to our table at breakfast and told us that they had noticed our car had a flat tyre. While pondering what to do, the same staff member (Sipho) smiled and said 'dont worry, we can change the wheel for you' and by the time we had finished our breakfast and returned to the room we had a message to say the tyre was changed. So full marks for 'going the extra mile'. The spa, gym and indoor lap pool and jacuzzi on the 19th floor are superb and you can enjoy the sights of the city as you swim. The hotel location is very central and has a complimentary shuttle to the Waterfront and is adjacent to the Conference Centre.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive Club room and really enjoy superb views and the excellent breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Christine L

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. It was nice to hear that the hotel and all staff exceeded your expectations. We work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.4 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing