We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I attended a Congress at the Cape Town Convention Centre & was very pleased to be booked at The Westin,which is extremely close. It was great not having to worry about transport and to have everything on your doorstep. I also enjoyed the hotel's modern & cosmopolitan feel, the friendly staff & the food.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Karen S

Thank you for the positve review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well,be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    694
    163
    55
    45
See reviews for
238
723
142
793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have stayed here for 03 days during 1st week of May,14. We were in a group tour. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The view from the hotel room is fantastic. My room has a beautiful view of table mountain and water front. The hotel is very near to V& A waterfront and has free shuttle service to the water front. The breakfast is good though most of the menus are repetitive. The buffet dinner was very good. We have a pleasant time in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibhu1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear bibhu1510

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin and we hipe to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here for the Cape Town Jazz Festival (which is a blast, by the way). It was very convenient since it is adjacent to the convention center where the festival is held... and the fest itself is pretty much a zoo, with something like 25000 attendees, so avoiding parking is great. I stayed in an executive suite, which has an extra room with a pullout bed and a pocket door to allow it to convert into two rooms -- very nice feature. Room service was very prompt, although twice I had to call them back for items that were missing from the order. The restaurant (Thirty7) was quite mediocre and not any better than the room service. One disappointing aspect from an aesthetic standpoint is that there is no feeling of Africa in the room. They must have paid $1 apiece for the terrible small beaded panels, which is a shame when there is so much great art available in Cape Town from locals. The spa on the 19th floor was nice, offering good massages, spectacular views and even a small lap pool (bring goggles because the water will make your eyes bloodshot). Overall, I would come again.

Room Tip: The corner suites offer nice added space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Kenneth B

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. As a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is a large hotel and to some extent slightly impersonal. However the staff that we met were very helpful. Hotel does everything that you need extremely well. The food is good and the rooms very comfortable, probably the most comfortable bed I have slept in for a long time. The hotel is in a good location and it is very easy to relax here. Ideal as a business hotel as facilities first-class. As ever there is a trade-off between science and personal touch. I think they try their best but it's hard to get a feeling of "homeliness" in hotels of this size. Would happily go back here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel get a very clear view of table Mountain, a dramatic sights to wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear PKLH

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I used this hotel for a business event during one evening. The hotel is very large and came across as clean. I was somewhat disappointed with the breakfast not for the choice but quality, it did just not taste fresh the food and considering I stay in hotels every month for my work, something was just not right here. Communication in the hotel is something else and a lot as to do with cultural diversity, I wasted 4 hours searching for my package that was delivered and signed by the hotel but when Banqueting took my package they never informed the concierge where most packages are collected from. This is quite normal in hotels where communication is not top of their agenda. I must point out that Missy and Shannon and the other lady taking care of my banquet were a credit, very polite and helpful and have done their work very professionally. It would be nice if some members of the reception and staff in other departments were as friendly as these 3 young ladies, when I see a front desk where staff talk in a tone, do not smile and look sad then it tells me how a hotel is being run, not as good as it should as first impressions go a long long way. Considering what my company spent, apart from my time during my event I did not feel welcomed or served a good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saint0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear saintpj

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that Missy and Shannon were a credit whilst staying at the Westin. It is, however, a pity that the Front Desk and breakfast did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We certainly strive towards providing our guests with an amazing experience and have relayed the information to the relevant departments to improve the standard of service.

We hope to welcome you back for a return visit soon so that we can have the oppertunity to showcase the level of excellent service that you expect.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Westin Cape Town previously but I always found it a bit sterile. This time we found that the staff could not have been friendlier or more obliging,
We were upgraded from an Executive Club room to a Grande Deluxe room with Executive Club privileges because of my husband's SPG status. The room is very large as opposed to the Executive Club room.
The club is located on the top floor and has a beautiful view of the Waterfront, the Greenpoint Stadium and the start of Sea point as well as part of the mountain. Breakfast is probably one of the best around. They have Superfoods (healthy) such as salmon and gravlax as well as a yogurt blueberry drink and many more. The bedroom has the classic Westin heavenly bed. Altogether a wonderful stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lnd_beale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Ind_beale

Thank you for the amazing review of the Westin cape Town. Our innovative programmes (SUPER FOODS, Heavenly Beds) and instinctive transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon !

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerut, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's very well maintained business hotel....the best is that it's too close to waterfront harbour which makes it con incident for guest to move around places. It s in room dinning is very helpful and helps u with some vegetarian food n try experiment. Which make people like us happy. Our tour organised an indian dinner on r last night stay.....which I must say was a pathetic try....but Italian and non veg at hotel was good...but the staff was nice and sweet.

Overall we enjoyed our stay there

Room Tip: Try to take bigger rooms as first category rooms are pretty small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansi071986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mansi071986

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,639 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#40 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,701 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing