We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #28 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for a meeting which was held in hotel. Room was good with good service. Good pool but a bit narrow. Food was good. Located close to waterfront with regular free shuttle bus. Internet access a bit of a problem if you have Apple products.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Brian S

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 2,295 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were here for 5 nights on a conference trip and we stayed in a twin bed room with my colleague.

We were totally disappointed with the service quality especially in the restaurant. We had breakfast there every morning, the food was ok with a wide selection, but all the waiters in the hotel restaurant need better training. They spilled the coffee or water a couple of times. Some of the waiters were really rude. When we had breakfast buffet one morning, the waiter took us to the table which was obviously occupied by someone already but she insisted it was empty. So when they brought as coffee and tea (which was obviously ordered by the other guest that we 'took' the table from), we said we didn't order that and the waiter was rude again insisting that was the tea we ordered. And when the waiter tried to take away our plate which was not finished, the waiter just rudely said i shouldn't put the cutlery in this position etc.

On the day we checked in, after we entered the room (for like 5 minutes), a hotel staff just opened the door of our room without even knocked! We were shocked and he said he just wanted to check if everything was ok. This was not acceptable. We didn't know how safe it was in the room so we basically took everything (laptop, passport, money) with us wherever we went without leaving any valuables in the room.

Also one day, the electric fuse was blown so the lamp and kettle etc. were not working. We reported that fault in the morning, but when got back in the evening, it was not fixed yet.

The towel provided was of poor quality with dark spot and weird smell. Slippers were not provided in the room (but to be fair we didn't bother to ask at the reception). I highly recommend anyone who wishes to stay in this hotel to bring your own towel and slippers.

It was indeed a ok hotel if it was a 3 star hotel. But a 5 star hotel with the money we paid for? Totally disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Jen L

Thank you for taking time to review The Westin Cape Town. We take all comments and reviews seriously and will do everything we can to resolve all issues mentioned. We apologise that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations - we always want you to stay relaxed and refreshed and to leave us feeling better than when you arrived, and will therefore make a concerted effort to ensure this does not happen again.

We sincerely hope that you return for another stay in order for us to reflect a new perspective of outstanding guest hospitality at The Westin Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Everything from the check-in to check-out process was flawed, I am in disbelief that this is a Starwood hotel. Safe was spoilt, hair dryer broke down, billing was problematic, hotel got our check out dates wrong... amongst other things.

Standard, fairly spacious business hotel. Good spread of breakfast, the large range of juices/smoothies made it stand out from standard hotel breakfast buffets.

Westin Cape Town has a whole load of fine tuning to do in relation to its operations.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear thequeeeen

Thank you for taking time to review The Westin Cape Town. We take all comments and reviews seriously and will do everything we can to resolve all issues mentioned. We apologise that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations - we always want you to stay relaxed and refreshed and to leave us feeling better than when you arrived, and will therefore make a concerted effort to ensure this does not happen again.

We sincerely hope that you return for another stay in order for us to reflect a new perspective of outstanding guest hospitality at The Westin Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel in January 2014 for a couple of nights and loved it. When I'm in a new country and don't know what's good, I always try to go for a chain hotel for the first few nights because you can always rely on them and won't let you down. Westin is a great chain and I don't regret booking it. I have to say I used my SPG points this time so I don't know if it's an expensive hotel. But everything is great service, rooms (we got upgraded), breakfast. It's close to the waterfront and the view from the rooms is lovely. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank polinapetrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear polinapetrova

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Near, but not that near, to the Waterfront this is a classy business hotel. Perhaps the best feature s the simply stunning fitness centre with ceiling to floor windows giving you views over the bay, and equipped with the very latest equipment. Likewise the small lap pool. The rooms are bigger than average - sadly my 4th F deluxe room looked directly onto the end of the motorway but beds very comfortable and a large separate shower room. Good for conferences - the ICC is linked to it, but there are better places to stay as a tourist.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear nickcambridge

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay at The Westin Cape Town. It is always a special and inspired moment to learn that our guests enjoyed our facilities. Providing our guests with excellent service and creating a positive experience that won’t be forgotten is what we constantly strive towards.

We appreciate your comments regarding our fitness center. It’s great to know that you enjoyed it. Feedback from our guests allow us to continually improve services offered and is noted. We hope that you will return soon to let us showcase our high standards of service once again!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Westin in Cape Town for one night while I was there on business.
The hotel was great, room was clean and really very comfortable - nice bathrooms with separate bath and shower and everything was in perfect working order. Bed was super comfortable. There wasn't a huge variety for breakfast but it was ok.
My only concern regarding the hotel is that we were charged R100 for parking which I think is outrageous and should be free for guests of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear RobynGB

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Westin Cape Town is adjacent the convention centre and generally very centrally located. the V and A waterfront, Long Street, and much of the business district are in walking distance. The hotel itself is very well-run and generally immaculate. I particularly recommend the executive centre on the top floor - good service, good food, and this being Cape Town, spectacular views. The other hotel food service is merely adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Ocean and Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigJCalhoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear CraigJCalhoun

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.
Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,543 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £148 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing