We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid Westin hotel - ideal for business and conferences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“A solid Westin hotel - ideal for business and conferences”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Westin Hotel is on the edge of the central business district of Cape Town - all central sights are in walking distance. The hotel is part of the conference center complex and all is geared towards business and conference visitors - free WIFI that works, business center and ample meeting space with direct access to the conference venue. Views from the upper floors are either toward Table Mountain and parts of the city or toward Victoria Harbor - both are nice. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed - as to be expected for the Westin brand. All in all a good and solid choice in Cape Town, though lacking the local charm of many of the boutique hotels or guest houses.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbdutytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear HBDutytravel

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    694
    163
    55
    45
See reviews for
238
723
142
793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It was my first time in South Africa and Cape Town. The stay in this hotel was just magic. Beautiful very large room, incredible bed and bed-liner. i could have stayed in the bed for hours if I did not have to see everything else as well :-) Needless to say, the room and bathroom were perfectly clean and organized for holiday travellers as well as business travellers. Same feeling for the breakfast on the last floor, I could have stayed for hours with gorgeous views on Cape town, fresh fruits, juices and all you can dream about for breakfast (delicious salmon too). People were very friendly, helpful and incredibly nice everywhere.
I would love to go back there to enjoy all the little details that this hotel offers.
Food was simple and excellent quality like everywhere in Cape Town.
I went to a congress just across the hotel, so convenient, 3 minutes by foot and you are in the conference room.
The only thing I did not try was the pool because it really smells the chemicals but I have the same problem in all places where chloride is used :-(

Room Tip: As usual, a floor as high as possible to enjoy the view even more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelle7312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear isabelle7312

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding your stay at The Westin Cape Town. It is always a special and inspired moment to learn that our guests enjoyed our facilities. Providing our guests with excellent service and creating a positive experience that won’t be forgotten is what we constantly strive towards.

Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here on business. Great hotel and right next to the convention center. Very friendly staff, very clean and cosy room. Security was very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting or at the conference center. Loved the chicken curry on the late night menu!!! Five stars!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W0lves_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear W0lves_Wanderer

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were here for a conference and have no complaints. The room was comfortable and everything worked. The food was fine, if not exceptional, and it was well situated and within easy reach of the main attractions. The staff were will and helpful.

I would have no hesitation staying here again if there was a conference but would maybe try a hotel on the waterfront if I was in Cape Town again for pleasure

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view over Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no1kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear no1kat

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Got an upgrade to a bigger room with massive windows and a great view of the city. Really comfortable big bed, big bathroom with heated floors. Spacious rooms, perfectly equipped for a business traveler. The pool and the cosy restaurant on top both have great views, and breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrin_naude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Kerrin_naude

Thank you for the positve review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Westin and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights for a meeting which was held in hotel. Room was good with good service. Good pool but a bit narrow. Food was good. Located close to waterfront with regular free shuttle bus. Internet access a bit of a problem if you have Apple products.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Brian S

Thank you for the amazing review of The Westin Cape Town. Our innovative programmes and instinctive service transform every aspect of your stay into a revitalizing experience and we are dedicated to provide an experience that leaves you feeling better than when you arrived.

Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests, as each of our signature offerings has been designed with a better you in mind. We hope to welcome you back to our wonderful city soon!

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We were here for 5 nights on a conference trip and we stayed in a twin bed room with my colleague.

We were totally disappointed with the service quality especially in the restaurant. We had breakfast there every morning, the food was ok with a wide selection, but all the waiters in the hotel restaurant need better training. They spilled the coffee or water a couple of times. Some of the waiters were really rude. When we had breakfast buffet one morning, the waiter took us to the table which was obviously occupied by someone already but she insisted it was empty. So when they brought as coffee and tea (which was obviously ordered by the other guest that we 'took' the table from), we said we didn't order that and the waiter was rude again insisting that was the tea we ordered. And when the waiter tried to take away our plate which was not finished, the waiter just rudely said i shouldn't put the cutlery in this position etc.

On the day we checked in, after we entered the room (for like 5 minutes), a hotel staff just opened the door of our room without even knocked! We were shocked and he said he just wanted to check if everything was ok. This was not acceptable. We didn't know how safe it was in the room so we basically took everything (laptop, passport, money) with us wherever we went without leaving any valuables in the room.

Also one day, the electric fuse was blown so the lamp and kettle etc. were not working. We reported that fault in the morning, but when got back in the evening, it was not fixed yet.

The towel provided was of poor quality with dark spot and weird smell. Slippers were not provided in the room (but to be fair we didn't bother to ask at the reception). I highly recommend anyone who wishes to stay in this hotel to bring your own towel and slippers.

It was indeed a ok hotel if it was a 3 star hotel. But a 5 star hotel with the money we paid for? Totally disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Cape_Town, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Jen L

Thank you for taking time to review The Westin Cape Town. We take all comments and reviews seriously and will do everything we can to resolve all issues mentioned. We apologise that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations - we always want you to stay relaxed and refreshed and to leave us feeling better than when you arrived, and will therefore make a concerted effort to ensure this does not happen again.

We sincerely hope that you return for another stay in order for us to reflect a new perspective of outstanding guest hospitality at The Westin Cape Town.

Be well, be Westin

Rob Kucera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,642 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood EMEA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing