We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and fantastic staff!”
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Stayed for three nights in an executive club room. Room was stunning with a gorgeous view of the waterfront. Breakfasts and sundowners in the exec restaurant were wonderful. The staff were friendly and attentive. Highly recommend this hotel as a great value place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Ocassionally forgot to replenish cups and coffee in the room but a quick call to reception rectified this.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    687
    161
    53
    44
See reviews for
236
719
140
780
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

The hotel is well situated with easy access to V&A Waterfront (shuttle bus every half an hour if you don't want to walk) and city centre. Rooms are a very good size and standard and the breakfast was first class. All staff were most helpful and the pick up from the airport was good value for money. Highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. Only minor negative was swimming pool is small.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readheadMonmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Westin Grand is a modern and stylish hotel linked to Cape Town International Convention Centre. Many tourists stay at Westin too.

The hotel is near V&A Waterfront – an area with a lot of excellent restaurants and good shopping. The free shuttle to and from Waterfront is very convenient.

I got early check-in and late check-out. This is superb service after and before a long flight. I was upgraded to an executive room, and enjoyed my access to eat breakfast in the fine top floor-restaurant.

  • Liked — Early check-in and late check-out
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vallyty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArabellaSA, On-Line Executive at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 February 2009
Thank you for the comments and positive feedback it is always nice to recieve this from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

I've lived in Cape Town in the past so knew whereabouts I wanted a decent hotel for the few days I was in town but didn't want to spend a fortune on the Waterfront hotels. The Westin was within my price range but I was a bit apprehensive at the thought of staying at a 'business' hotel... I needn't have worried as it doesn't feel like one at all. The staff were just fantastic from the desk to the porters. There were no problems with an early check in; it was great to be picked up from the airport in a comfy car with the days newspapers and cold, bottled water to hand; the rooms are great - the bathroom especially; and what can I say about the breakfasts... I LOVE breakfast and thought I'd fallen into one of my breakfast dreams.. (I realise this may seem slightly gushing but there was everything I wanted to eat and more - honestly!). Another selling point for me was the spa which I'd read about in Marie Claire and was not disappointed. Fab, fab, fab. I can't rave enough about it. Will absolutely, definitely be back. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank claire_gilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArabellaSA, On-Line Executive at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 2 February 2009
Thank you for the raving comments on our hotel, it always nice to recieve such positive feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

We arrived here quite late, and were very impressed by the lovely check in staff. We had a lovely room with floor to ceiling windows, really comfortable bed, and a fabulous bathroom. We went to the cigar bar for drinks (very nice indeed, and also very cheap!) and had room service in our room which was again very nice.

Next morning we opened the curtains to see a wonderful view close up of table mountain! Fantastic. We spent 2 nights here and it was the best stay ever. Breakfast is divine, a huge buffet of everything you could possibly want, great service and lovely surroundings.

The pool area is to die for - jacuzzi overlooking table mountain, infinity pool overlooking the ocean - just superb. We got the shuttle bus to the V&A waterfront on our 2nd night which was reliable, fast and easy, and we had a great time. I would stay here again like a shot - it was 5* in every respect.

  • Liked — Lovely staff, total luxury, views, pool, everything!
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Stayed here for three nights and could have done another three.
From the minute we arrived and where given early access to our room as we arrived mid morning everything was over and above what we expected.
All staff are motivated and very helpfull.
We got a fantastic deal via Expedia and found staying in the Executive Rooms was definitely worth the extra.
Only gripe would be there is no where to sit outside in the sunshine, but quite honestly you don't travel to Cape Town to sit in the sun all day .

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carol59692001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

We stayed at the Arabella Westin Grand for four nights in Nov '08. We upgraded to an Executive Club room, which was well worth the extra cost. Staying in these rooms means you can have breakfast in a very relaxed atmosphere, no queueing and also enjoy excellent service and wonderful views of table mountain and the waterfront. We didn't try the buffet restaurant downstairs as we were totally satisfied with everything upstairs.
During our stay we also had two evening meals in the panoramic restaurant and the service and food were both outstanding.
We would recommend this hotel to all travellers, not just the business traveller.
This hotel is in an excellent location for the V@A ( free shuttle bus), although it is an easy walk during the day. It has a stop for the Hop-on-off bus just outside, which is a great way to see and get to know the surrounding area.

  • Liked — location,food,rooms,service-in fact everything!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jacSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,619 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,695 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing