We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Hotel in Southern Africa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We spent two months driving around southern Africa and this was our favorite hotel. By far. It was amazing. Reserved a regular room and were upgraded to the club level. That meant access to the club lounge for fantastic breakfasts with views of the bay and Table Mountain. The spread is unbelievable with fruits, cereals, and pastries, or you can order omelets, pancakes, etc. from the kitchen. We made it back each night for happy hour to watch the sunset with complimentary cocktails and hors d'oeuvres. The staff was so gracious and helpful as well. Always had a smile, kind word, and a helpful suggestion when we needed it. Enjoyed dinner one night in the formal restaurant - delicious food with a good wine selection by the glass. We also enjoyed salads and sandwiches in the downstairs bar area. Shuttle ran every hour to the V&A Waterfront for dining and shopping. You can also catch the ferry to Robben Island from there and use the terrific tourist office to book other activities. Oh, and the rooms! We loved them - quiet and perfect temperature control. Comfortable beds with super comfy linens. The bathroom will blow you away - heated floor tiles and rainwater shower. Great, free internet connection (some rooms even have printers) and large work space.
I dream about staying here again. Hope you have a wonderful time in Capetown!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelCuties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,771 - 1,777 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2010

Visited Cape Town for a week and stayed at the Westin. It's nicely appointed, the breakfast buffet was excellent, offering a variety of foods to please most any tastes and dietary need. Loved the top floor workout room, while small it had everything we need and the panoramic city view was magnificent. Spa and pool were nice, too.

No outdoor dining/lounging space, but we left the hotel for beaches and touring anyway. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Great place. Great staff. Clean and spacious room. Great view of the mountain and water. Take me back please! Shuttle operating every 15 min to the Waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getachkaraoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights during our trip to South Africa. We love Westin hotels - they are generally well-maintained, clean, classically decorated, service is friendly and the beds are extremely comfortable. This one definitely fit the bill. The hotel is walking distance from the V&A waterfront, but its about a 15-minute, non-scenic walk. Instead, they provide a free shuttle which runs every 30 minutes to and from the waterfront (about a 5 minute drive), which we found to be really convenient. Even when the shuttle was full and couldn't fit us, the driver would speed off, drop the passengers off, and speed back to pick us up even if it wasn't at a scheduled time. Great service. We also had a massage and a facial at the spa. Prices were relatively affordable (in USD) and the services were top quality. Would highly recommend it. The gym is not huge, but was empty every time I went and they have a good variety of modern machines (treadmills have own tv). The rooms are fairly standard for a Westin - modern and comfortable. And as always, the Westin beds were absolutely Heavenly.

Some negatives - the concierge was a little disorganized at times - we called down and asked them to make restaurant reservations for us twice and they never got back to us. Another time, they made a restaurant recommendation for lunch on a Monday and we went, it ended up being closed on Mondays. In the room - the toilet, which was in a separate space in the bathroom with its own door, consistently had a bit of a smell to it, but it wasn't a huge problem because we could just close the door. But these were minor glitches and didn't ruin our stay.

We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend it as an affordable, yet upscale hotel in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesslin114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My third stay at the Westin Grand Cape Arabella Quays was from the 25th to the 28th of April 2010 at room 721. The hotel has a fantastic decor and is very clean but after a few hours I observed that the staff at the reception were unfriendly only the person who attended to me greeted me. I was further dismayed that staff would walk by you without any acknowledgement whatsoever. I ordered food that was not tasty and laundry was not promptly picked up, my luggage was not picked up for about 30 mins on the date of my departure I also asked for a bottle of water and that took over an hour when I asked why it took so long the staff arrogantly replied that he had gone to the wrong room earlier. He stalked off without any apology. The check out receptionist processed my bill without any greeting nor farewell. It was the worst experience I have had at any 5 star hotel. I have stayed at the Westin hotel Milan and it was a pleasant stay.I often stay at other 5 star hotels round the world I hope hospitality at this particular hotel improves. I won't be going back there!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Maeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Our stay at the Westin Grand was extremely enjoyable. From the moment we arrived we were given outstanding service. Staff on reception were extremely courteous. Staff at breakfast were efficient and always pleased to serve us.
Our room, on the 15th floor, was fantastic, It had a delightful king sized bed, spacious bathroom and an excellent view of the waterfront and Green Point stadium.
Breakfasts were also of an excellent standard and served as a very filling start to each day. There was a reasonably sized swimming pool and jacuzzi on the top floor which was free to use - well recommended. Finally, the complimentary shuttle bus to and from the waterfront was very convenient and ran until after 11 p.m.
In short, a fantastic stay in an unbelievable city. We would recommend visits to District Six museum, Robben Island, the Winelands and Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens. The hop on and off bus tours of the city stop very near the hotel. This was a brilliant way to explore the city and surrounds. You can get off at the foot of Table Mountain and take a cable car to the summit - breathtaking!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wayulooktonige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I was at the Westin for an eight night stay amd cannot say enough nice things about my favorite conceirge (Florence), my favorite wait staff at the 19th floor for breakfast (Yvonne), the assistant manager for the 19th floor lounge (Reginald was amazing, always with a smile on his face) and Marvlin (I think that was his name) who took such good care of us in the lounge for cocktails and tapas. My favorite concierge was Florence, she directed us to a great driver for a private tour aroudn the western cape area. We were going to do several day trips, but she told us that we would be much happier to hire a private driver and not go on a bus with 60 of our "closest friends". She was correct and John was a great driver. He easily picked up our cameras and took pictures of us and the sites. He also kept us safe from the baboons (who were aggressively trying to get into several cars) and we were able to stop at different vantage points to take photos. The spa treatment was fantastic adn I never felt rushed. It was a great experience staying at eh Westin while in Cape Town. The Jazz Festival took place on Satuirday and Sunday nights -- there was nothing like being put to bed by George Benson on Sunday night. What a lovely night..

The embroidery in the 19th floor lounge was beautiful, as was the artwork int eh first floor lounge. Wow.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunachance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,713 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,780 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,760 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,528 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £167 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing