We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Business Stay - try for a higher floor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Cape Town
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for a Business Stay - try for a higher floor”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I stayed at the Westin for two nights, just before the Mining Indaba in Feb 2011. I was fortunate to get a room, since this was super peak time, but being a last minute guest, could only get two nights. The location is as good as they come - right next to the Conference center. There is a half hourly shuttly to the Water Front, which greatly increases dining options. The hotel is very very busy whenever there is a conference in Cape Town, so do plan in advance. The rooms could be better - I found it a bit too spartan for the price. The view from the Executive lounge and the health club on the 19th floor is to kill for. This is possibly the property with the widest panoramic view of the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhijit_BLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear Abhijit_BLR

Thank you for the positive review of the Westin Cape Town.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time with us.

Your comments with regards to the room layout have been noted, however i wish to advise you that our layout is dictated by our parent company Starwood and we do comply to the Westin brand.

We hope to welcome you back to the Westin when next your travels bring you to our beautiful country.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    694
    163
    55
    45
See reviews for
238
723
142
793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We stayed our first night in South Africa at the Westin and it was a wonderful welcome. It was easy to find off the main highway and we were welcomed at the door, swift checkin up to our room and bags close behind. All very slick, especially as we were arriving before midday too!

The room was spacious with all the facilities you would expect from a Westin. Although the view wasn't the best as we looked over the industrial harbour, we did also have a view of table mountain, which was stunning.

A short walk to the waterfront with all its shops and restaurants was very handy, although it was also nice to bet the half hourly shuttle bus back again. The spa and pool area was also very relaxing and a nice way to spend an hour or so before dinner.

The bed was really comfortable, which meant we were ready to drive onto our next stop the following morning feeling fully refreshed. Although this hotel is next to the main highway, you certainly don't hear it! That may be because we were 14 floors up, but even so, I doubt you would really be able to hear anything. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Tripadvice UK

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Westin Cape Town.

Thank you for taking the time and posting your comments.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future when your travels bring you to our local shores.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I recently stayed at the Westin Cape Town and was very impressed with all aspects of this hotel. Check in & check out was fast & efficient, rooms were beautiful, & the service was great. Every Staff member I approached was very helpful and informative. The location was great, near the V & A Waterfront with restaurants & shops. They have a free shuttle that runs back & forth throughout the day which makes it very convenient to get there. Rashaad, one of the drivers, was extremely helpful in making suggestions about things to do and actually made a special trip for our group when the shuttle was full. The Westin management should be very proud of Rashaad who went out of his way to make our stay even more enjoyable! Breakfast was wonderful too, lots of selections, better than most hotels. The Westin truly added to our enjoyment of our week long stay in Cape Town!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Linda015

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are always delighted to receive positive feedback on our staff members and I will share your comments with regards to Rashaad with our Travel Business Partner.

We hope to see you very soon in Cape Town.

with best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I was here for 3 nights at the end of Jan 2011. I was on a Starwood preferred floor and had a great big room overlooking the waterfront. Rooms were very comfortable and the bed was extremely comfortable. Free high speed wifi in the room.

Very nice breakfast and good room service.

The spa on the top of the hotel has a nice lap pool and jacuzzi, both with stunning views over the waterfront.

The hotel is situated next door to the convention centre and is a 10 minute easy walk to the waterfront which has loads of shops and restaurants and is the main tourist area in Cape Town. They also have a free shuttle to and from the waterfront that runs every 30 minutes.

Exceptional hotel in every way.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4workandplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear travel4workand play

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Westin Cape Town and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

with best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pa
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We had two stays over a period of two weeks. We arrived from Jfk after a 20plus hour flight the front desk people though polite informed us that our room was not ready. I assumed that a drink of juice or coffee would be offered. That did not happen.
Our room was located on the 12th floor with a distant view of the waterfront. The room is very typical with a mini bar that actually charges if you store your own water. The bathroom was well thought out even had heated tile floors. The shuttle service to the waterfront is very reliable. Avoid walking to the waterfront in the evenings use the shuttle. Downtown do not bother with nothing there. Breakfast buffet has choices but bland. Service was spotty.

Lots to do hire your own driver/guide see Cape of Good Hope the drive is breathtaking. Visiting the wineries lots of fun, and hiking lions head was an achievement for me. The waterfront has great restaurants and Saturdays is the best to see entertainers and shop.
I suggest you shop your day tours absolutely overpriced at hotel and private tour companies.

We rebooked the hotel when we returned from our Botswana trip. The reason was Expedia offered a decent price which the hotel would not meet. The Westin should cost about $200.00 per night that is what it is worth.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newtown_PaShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Newtown_PaShopper

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.

I have reviewd your comments regarding your stay at the Westin Cape Town and appreciate all the feedback we can get. I do apologize for the service deificiencies you experienced, however the Mini Bar is operated by one of our external business partners. For personal items to be refrigerated, the hotel offers (upon request) a mini fridge.

For our guests personal safety we recommend that they make use of the free shuttle service the Hotel provides to the V&a Waterfront.

Being a 5 Star Hotel, as part of our offering we have an inhouse travel service. They can assist in private tours and transfers to various destinations, the choice to make use of this value added service, is with each individual guest.

We are sorry that you felt our Hotel to be bland. As a management team we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any issues.

Again thank you for the comments, which will help us in our on-going effrots to improve our service.

sincerely
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed for 4 nights - good quality hotel, friendly staff- exactly what I expected

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sexytanyashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear Sexytanyashaw

Thank you for the positive review of our Hotel.

It is always great to hear guest's enjoyed their stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Cape Town.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The Westin combines a great location in relation to the V and A Waterfront, without the cost. It is a 15 minute walk or the hotel runs a twice hourly shuttle service, with exceptional views of the waterfront or Table Mountain. Beautiful hotel and great service. Rooms are nicely appointed with oversized bathrooms. The only negative of our 2 night stay was after returning back to the hotel after a 3 hour hike up Table Mountain, at 430pm, our room had not been made up. Big disappointment as we were hot and extremely fatigued. Aside from that, it was a pleasant stay with very accommodating staff. Oh, and the beautiful lap pool on the 19th floor is about as wide as a bowling alley lane, so cannot accommodate more than 2 swimmers at a time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Westin_Grand, General Manager at The Westin Cape Town, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Dear flyingbiz

Thank you for the positive review of our Hotel.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Cape Town. i do however apologize that your room was not serviced in time on the day of your outing to Table Mountain.

However we hope to welcome you back to our beautiful shoreline in the near future.

With best regards
Friedrich Schaefer
COO/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#22 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,643 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Cape Town

Property: The Westin Cape Town
Address: Lower Long Street | Convention Square, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (Formerly Arabella Sheraton Grand Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#17 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in one of the most popular destinations in the world, at the gateway to the historic V&A Waterfront, The Westin Grand Cape Town Arabella Quays is only minutes away from excellent shopping, vibrant city night life, historical monuments and museums, iconic Table Mountain, and the pristine beaches of Clifton and Camps Bay. The hotel offers unlimited complimentary shuttle transfers to the V&A Waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Westin Cape Town
Cape Town Westin
The Westin Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing