We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel; Service not so good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #45 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; Service not so good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Peninsula was very nice overall. We booked a super luxury 2 bedroom suit. We had a large master bedroom with jacuzzi in the large bathroom and balcony overlooking the ocean, then a large living area with full kitchen and balcony overlooking the ocean, plus a small second bedroom with its own bath. On booking we were told (both verbally and by email) that the second room had two double beds but this was not true. It was quite small and had two twin beds. This was okay for use but it also had a pull-out sofa in the living area so we could have used that if it has been a problem.

Services were not as good as the rooms. The concierges were extremely weak; the best of them was at a mediocre level. I had to tell one that she could get the address I needed if you looked it up on the computer sitting next to her and then help her use google on the computer. The front desk was also very weak. They failed to do a wake-up call one morning and whenever I asked to schedule the shuttle the majority of the front desk personnel told me it was not available. I finally talked to the front desk manager (and thereafter only to him) and he had no problem arranging any shuttle trips needed. Two other couples we spoke to had the same problem. Basically, if the shuttle had one person on it the primary front desk folks could not figure out that in any given shuttle trip there could be multiple stops. Once on the van all the drivers were great and very helpful. The rooms were very clean and some nights (not all) beds were turned down and towels were changed. Finally, I note to you that they have a casual Friday program whereby the employees donate a little money and then do not have to wear their uniforms--be forewarned, some look like hoodlums and we actually thought they had wandered in off the street.

Breakfast was included with the room (I’m not sure if it is with all rooms) for the first two persons. It is a nice, cooked breakfast with made to order eggs, pancakes or whatever else you may want, plus cereals, fruits, meats, cheeses, breads and other choices, as well as juices and other beverages.

There are no free internet connections, not even on the public computer in the lobby. You must buy vouchers (again the front desk had problems figuring out how to do this), and they are relatively expensive.

Room Tip: Check for 14-day advance purchase rates on various travel websites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Practicality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
We would firstly like to thank you for the comments made and would like to assure you that all comments and concerns raised are taken very seriously.
The Departments with lacking service, all staff have been addressed and training will follow on flexibility and customer service.
The Peninsula Hotel prides itself on charity work done annually - We have implemented a casual Friday where all staff pay a minimal fee to wear casual clothes and this is used to pay for 2 Wendy Houses which the staff built and was donated to the SOS Children's Village in Cape Town - one is used as a library and the other as a counsilling room for the children based there.
We ensure that posters are put up all around the Hotel from a Thursday to advise guests that this is happening.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Peninsula Hotel.

Kind regards,
The Peninsula Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    155
    41
    13
    6
See reviews for
144
125
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

the place was great, and I would have given it 10/10 if it wasn't eventually ruined by our theft experience.
The place has a great location, helpful staff. You can get rooms with great view and some of them have some nice touch like jacuzzi, or even outdoor jacuzzi on the rooftop, with bbq (brei) area. And especially I have to say they are great value for money. The pool is a bit small but still great!
But unfortunately we had money stolen from our safe during our trip. It was stored in there with a code, yet a bunch of it was taken away. The security therefore leaves to desire, also considering that even if you lock your room, staff enters your balcony to clean it, and can enter your room from there. When we reported the theft, we felt they showed very little understanding and did not help much, almost like it was our problem and we were left with it. It is probably common in the area and I cannot blame the entire hotel and I won't forget all the positive people we came across at the Peninsula. But because of this one rotten apple among them, our experience turned out negative. Moral of the story, if you go there, don't leave your valuables in the safe. You are better off putting it in a lockable suitcase - at least if that's broken into, you can call the police and report a burglary.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricci1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
We would like to apologise for the problem you experienced during your stay with us. We have a very strict policy and procedure in place should a theft occur.

Once a theft is reported, the Security Manager is contacted immediately to obtain a statement from the guest. A door and safe lock reading is done and with this information we can ascertain exactly who has entered the room and at what time - the safe reading tells us whether the guests' code was used. With this information we contact the South African Police Services unless the guests' requests for this not to be done. We, The Peninsula Hotel, do a throrough investigation and the findings are either discussed with the guest (if the guest is still staying with us) or the report is sent via e-mail or a telephone discussion takes place (if the guest has departed).
We are requesting more information from the guest as we need to make sure that this policy was adhered to.

Kind regards,
The Peninsula Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Overlooking the sea, spotting the whales, watching the fishing boats and those fabulous sunsets, sets the scene for what to expect at the Peninsula Cape Town.
The location (about 15 minutes drive from the city) is ideal as the hotel supply a well organised, free shuttle service to all locations that a person on holidays would want to visit. We had a 2 bedroom unit which also had two bathrooms - perfect for two couples and serviced daily!! The living area was large enough to cater for us without feeling cramped, especially with the largish balcony available for outdoor meals. The kitchen was all we needed to prepare breakfast and any other meals when we ate in. All needs were catered for by the friendly hotel staff, and if there was a need for a hair dryer or anything else missing from the room it was immediately delivered. The staff suggested a great fish restaurant in the docks area and we had no fear of getting lost as the shuttle bus was immediately offered to transport us there and return. There is also a great cheap same day laundry service on the corner just near the hotel. What more could you want. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justus1_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We spent a week staying at the Peninsula, which is situated about 20 minute drive from the V & A Waterfront & the city centre. The hotel is situated on the sea front affording great views, including whale watching & some fantastic sunsets.
The accommodation is all that we could have asked for & the hotel is currently being renovated.
The staff could not have been more helpful & the free shuttle was fantastic in saving on taxi fares, etc. Guest services were equally helpful booking restaurants, etc.
Whilst in Cape Town we had an action packed week visiting Cape Point, Table Mountain, Robben Island, the Winelands & great restaurants include Mama Africa & Cafe Africa. The Waterfront has a wide choice of bars & restaurants.
We loved Cape Town & would unreservedly recommend the Peninsula.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howlett365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Actually there is no reason for me to grade it more than the Average hotel, though this Hotel offers big sized room, but for this there is nothing great about this Hotel. This Hotel offers many small good things, but not one great or exceptional thing, which should make this Hotel stand out. Complimentary shuttle to the main attractions in the city or great location are few added benefits, but overall it is a average property, though it enjoys high grading from RCI, being the Gold crown property, but honestly, I find it little overrated and ordinary. The food and restaurants is ordinary, as well

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RKIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is set in the perfect location in Sea Point in Cape Town. Everything is very neat and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is even a shuttle service which is available to the guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonb019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

With our dream vacation points, we were able to enjoy a thoroughly enjoyable break at Peninsula Suites. Being a self catering apartment, it felt very homely. Suites are very clean and comfortable and are well equipped for preparing meals of your own. Apartments are serviced daily. One can only enjoy a good restaurant meal at the hotel. Rooms are serviced daily and all necessities are provided. I enjoyed the suite so much that I booked my next break from 5th to 9th August 2011. I would gladly recommend this facility as it is close to all amenities and the beach is across the road.

Room Tip: choose one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niruDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.9 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#34 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel

Property: The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
Address: 313 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula All Hotel Cape Town Central
Peninsula Cape Town
Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Cape Town Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Cape Town
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing