We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
Ranked #53 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We visit the Peninsula every year and love it every time. We stay in one of the small one-room suites but it is perfect for a couple. The view is fantastic, the rooms are extremely comfortable, and the kitchen is more than adequate for anyone's needs. On top of that the staff are very professional and friendly and the hotel offers a regular shuttle service to the Waterfront. The only thing I would prefer is a walk-in shower rather than a shower over the jacuzzi, but that is personal preference. We find the hotel restaurants and bar rather pricey, but with all the restaurants nearby in Sea Point and at the Waterfront this is not an issue at all. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: For a good view, better to be on the third floor or above, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebrill10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    156
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
147
127
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed at the Peninsula for 4 nights a week ago through RCI exchange. I chose The Peninsula as I stayed there before.The previous visit was a memorable one.
Upon check in, I was allocated a different room. When I queried it, I was reminded that I was a RCI member and that rooms allocation could change any time. The room and bathroom was very cramped.
My first night did not go down very well. Woke up at 04h30 with a back ache. After inspection of the bed I found the mattress was worn through and torn on the side. I could see the inside of the mattress.
I called for the night manager and asked him to come to the room.
The mattress protector was an old blanket.
The towels were like sandpaper and in the shower was still a long black hair stuck to the wall from the previous guest. I was offered a complimentary breakfast which was ok.
The mattress was replaced and so were the towels.
I have travelled the world for 26 years and this was the worst bed I have ever slept on.
Will not be back in a hurry.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller7461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed at the Peninsula for a week in the begining of June and was put in Apt 801, through RCI exchange, in a 3BR. Eighth floor ocean view on one side mountain views from all rooms, stairs going up to our pvt open air jacuzzi and brie(barbeque). The dining area and the master bedroom had heaters/air conditioners. The other rooms had only airconditioners, but heaters were promptly provided on request.

Could we ask for more .... yesssss. Every request be it maintanance or anything else was attended to promptly. The shuttle bus was a boon given the fact that transport is expensive and we felt safe in their shuttle. The housekeeping, cleans, freshens towels and does a great job. The kitchen was well equipped. No washer dryer, but there is a launderette right outside and was great with next day delivery. The supermarket is also just a 5 min walk.. SPAR .. for all ur needs.

They had an open day where the GM met all the guests over copmlimentary drinks and snacks. It was a first for us, but when we spoke with the GM we realised that this was one of their several ways to interact directly with each guest and get feedback, helping them to be notch above the rest.


Zulfa at the guest services was extremely helpful and booked us with a great driver guide "Ash" who took us for a wine tour (went to Spiers cheetah farm and pet a cheetah on the way), to Franshoek, Stellenbosch and Paarl. He was knowledgable and extremely helpful and charged us half of what a tour would cost, and that too we did things at our own pace. His no for all you guys Ash :[--]

We research greatly before booking our RCIs, and this time the Peninsula surpassed all our expectations. A big THANK YOU to everyone at the Peninsula.

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms at the corners are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kwancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had a nice stay here. We were given 2 bedrooms as they thought we were more than 2 people (different last names) and it was really like a roomy apartment. The sweeping view of the ocean with the big deck was really nice. You can also do a run along the ocean on a beautiful paved trail. The hotel is around the corner from nice markets, and a good little food court. There's also a cheap laundry just nearby. The hotel provides a free shuttle to take you anywhere you want to go and they do it pretty seamlessly. We found the staff friendly and always helpful. The bed was comfortable, the jacuzzi tub was great, the restaurant was good. The food was actually a lot better than the it appeared on the menu. We only ate there once and it was slow but I carried my leftovers home with me. There was only a counter to eat on in the kitchen and it wasn't eat on the deck weather. So it wasn't inviting to cook and eat at home. We did breakfast and took lunch in a cooler. Still se made a pizza one night and maybe some take out from SPAR (a really nice grocery store) near enough to walk.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom, peaked in the one bedroom and they looked nice but appeared to be more like a la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The Peninsula was very nice overall. We booked a super luxury 2 bedroom suit. We had a large master bedroom with jacuzzi in the large bathroom and balcony overlooking the ocean, then a large living area with full kitchen and balcony overlooking the ocean, plus a small second bedroom with its own bath. On booking we were told (both verbally and by email) that the second room had two double beds but this was not true. It was quite small and had two twin beds. This was okay for use but it also had a pull-out sofa in the living area so we could have used that if it has been a problem.

Services were not as good as the rooms. The concierges were extremely weak; the best of them was at a mediocre level. I had to tell one that she could get the address I needed if you looked it up on the computer sitting next to her and then help her use google on the computer. The front desk was also very weak. They failed to do a wake-up call one morning and whenever I asked to schedule the shuttle the majority of the front desk personnel told me it was not available. I finally talked to the front desk manager (and thereafter only to him) and he had no problem arranging any shuttle trips needed. Two other couples we spoke to had the same problem. Basically, if the shuttle had one person on it the primary front desk folks could not figure out that in any given shuttle trip there could be multiple stops. Once on the van all the drivers were great and very helpful. The rooms were very clean and some nights (not all) beds were turned down and towels were changed. Finally, I note to you that they have a casual Friday program whereby the employees donate a little money and then do not have to wear their uniforms--be forewarned, some look like hoodlums and we actually thought they had wandered in off the street.

Breakfast was included with the room (I’m not sure if it is with all rooms) for the first two persons. It is a nice, cooked breakfast with made to order eggs, pancakes or whatever else you may want, plus cereals, fruits, meats, cheeses, breads and other choices, as well as juices and other beverages.

There are no free internet connections, not even on the public computer in the lobby. You must buy vouchers (again the front desk had problems figuring out how to do this), and they are relatively expensive.

Room Tip: Check for 14-day advance purchase rates on various travel websites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Practicality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
We would firstly like to thank you for the comments made and would like to assure you that all comments and concerns raised are taken very seriously.
The Departments with lacking service, all staff have been addressed and training will follow on flexibility and customer service.
The Peninsula Hotel prides itself on charity work done annually - We have implemented a casual Friday where all staff pay a minimal fee to wear casual clothes and this is used to pay for 2 Wendy Houses which the staff built and was donated to the SOS Children's Village in Cape Town - one is used as a library and the other as a counsilling room for the children based there.
We ensure that posters are put up all around the Hotel from a Thursday to advise guests that this is happening.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Peninsula Hotel.

Kind regards,
The Peninsula Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

the place was great, and I would have given it 10/10 if it wasn't eventually ruined by our theft experience.
The place has a great location, helpful staff. You can get rooms with great view and some of them have some nice touch like jacuzzi, or even outdoor jacuzzi on the rooftop, with bbq (brei) area. And especially I have to say they are great value for money. The pool is a bit small but still great!
But unfortunately we had money stolen from our safe during our trip. It was stored in there with a code, yet a bunch of it was taken away. The security therefore leaves to desire, also considering that even if you lock your room, staff enters your balcony to clean it, and can enter your room from there. When we reported the theft, we felt they showed very little understanding and did not help much, almost like it was our problem and we were left with it. It is probably common in the area and I cannot blame the entire hotel and I won't forget all the positive people we came across at the Peninsula. But because of this one rotten apple among them, our experience turned out negative. Moral of the story, if you go there, don't leave your valuables in the safe. You are better off putting it in a lockable suitcase - at least if that's broken into, you can call the police and report a burglary.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricci1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula-Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
We would like to apologise for the problem you experienced during your stay with us. We have a very strict policy and procedure in place should a theft occur.

Once a theft is reported, the Security Manager is contacted immediately to obtain a statement from the guest. A door and safe lock reading is done and with this information we can ascertain exactly who has entered the room and at what time - the safe reading tells us whether the guests' code was used. With this information we contact the South African Police Services unless the guests' requests for this not to be done. We, The Peninsula Hotel, do a throrough investigation and the findings are either discussed with the guest (if the guest is still staying with us) or the report is sent via e-mail or a telephone discussion takes place (if the guest has departed).
We are requesting more information from the guest as we need to make sure that this policy was adhered to.

Kind regards,
The Peninsula Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Overlooking the sea, spotting the whales, watching the fishing boats and those fabulous sunsets, sets the scene for what to expect at the Peninsula Cape Town.
The location (about 15 minutes drive from the city) is ideal as the hotel supply a well organised, free shuttle service to all locations that a person on holidays would want to visit. We had a 2 bedroom unit which also had two bathrooms - perfect for two couples and serviced daily!! The living area was large enough to cater for us without feeling cramped, especially with the largish balcony available for outdoor meals. The kitchen was all we needed to prepare breakfast and any other meals when we ate in. All needs were catered for by the friendly hotel staff, and if there was a need for a hair dryer or anything else missing from the room it was immediately delivered. The staff suggested a great fish restaurant in the docks area and we had no fear of getting lost as the shuttle bus was immediately offered to transport us there and return. There is also a great cheap same day laundry service on the corner just near the hotel. What more could you want. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justus1_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.9 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cascades on the Promenade
Cascades on the Promenade
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#56 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel

Property: The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
Address: 313 Beach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula All Hotel Cape Town Central
Peninsula Cape Town
Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Cape Town Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Cape Town
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing